We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were flying out from Leeds Bradford to go on our honeymoon and decided to stay here the night before. The hotel was a bit more expensive than others closer to the airport but thought it would be a bit more special and a nice start to our honeymoon. Arrived at the hotel to be 'welcomed' by a grumpy receptionist. I asked where the restaurant was and the receptionist snapped that it was full. I had already made a reservation. The room we were shown to was a huge disappointment. Really small, dark and smelt of damp. The decor was beyond tired, bathroom suite a 'grey' colour, hairs in bath and on towels, toilet didn't flush, door handle to bathroom kept falling off locking one of us in. There was no hairdryer in the room, despite it saying there would be on the website and in the hotel information book in the room. Ended up having to ask for one three times. Food in restaurant was nice but a little over priced. Service in bar non-existent. Made to feel like we were a hassle. Really glad it was just for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suite4D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    492
    319
    173
    106
See reviews for
317
882
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very good attentive staff could not complain about any of them (Well done)
Evening meal included in deal was very good but not a lot of choice on main menu and a lot of fish(Which we do not like)also all red meat still pink which again we could not eat.(ourpreference) you could add from a la carte menu but this would add quite a bit, to your bill.We asked on our third evening if we could just have the lounge bar meal and they said it was no problem, the waiter even came through and arranged it with the bar staff.The menu there was excellant and I can recomend the chicken and peppers with noodles.
The slight downside was the rooms could do with a bit of TLC like painting and the shower tiles were black with mould.I can never understand why hotels put in Beige coloured carpets as they show all the stains.We also noticed that the cleaners left the windows open after they had cleaned the room I felt this was a bit of a security issue.I would recomd this hotel and I would use it again.

Room Tip: Very quiet in evening you cannot walk to anywhere you will always need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarcz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments, this was much appreciated

With thanks
Jurgen Kruijt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just enjoyed a fantastic 3 night stay here with in-laws and 2 small children. In terms of service and value for money this hotel was brilliant.
We got a great half board offer (dinner, bed and breakfast) from classicbritain.com and the children stayed free of charge although I did need to pay for their evening meal as ours was included in the price... still a great deal. I booked a family room and we were put in a beautiful woodland lodge with double bedroom, separate room for the children with bunk beds, and a fabulous lounge area, comfy sofas and TV .. been great this week for putting babes to bed and watching the Olympics with a glass of wine!
Breakfast was very good, plenty to eat and good choices. The evening meal included in our deal was a 3 course taster menu with 2 choices for each course. Most of the clientele were couples/ladies enjoying a spa break and the food was perfect for these customers. The food was good but not really suited to fussy toddlers however the restaurant staff were very accommodating of this and allowed me to feed this kids before we went into the restaurant and we ordered chips for the children to share while we ate. They didn't even charge us any extra for this.
The reception staff and restaurant manager were exceptionally helpful when one evening I explained that my daughter had been unwell and had eaten nothing all day and requested to buy some Weetabix from the kitchen at tea time! Not only did they find me Weetabix for both kids, bowls, spoon and a huge jug of cold milk all on a tray and at no cost .. what wonderful service. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
We used the swimming pool once, it was all very clean and very quiet and the kids had a great time.
This is a great hotel to use as a base to explore the beautiful Yorkshire Dales and for families with children we would highly recommend this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. We are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireykav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments.

With thanks

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break upgraded to a suite which was probably a good idea listening to some other guests.Some negatives were the bar area was very dirty noticed food dropped on the floor had not been cleaned or cleared away for the length of our stay also generally cleaning seemed a problem throughout the hotel.Not enough bar staff on duty so long waits at the bar.
Positives the Therapists in the SPA were excellent and our second meal from the A-La Carte menu was first class.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for extra comfort at little cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Joan,

Many thanks for your comments and appreciate the kind feedback.
We will continue to work hard to keep our standards and have already made some positive changes to certain areas.
Thank you for the comments regarding the spa and your restaurant meal.

With thanks,
Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here with groupon. Stayed in many hotels just recently and I have to say, this could be one of the best! I strongly recommend it. Our arrival was treated very welcoming and although the staff were very busy, There was a wedding, They had time to welcome us. The room overlooked the rear lawn and the hot tub area, our patio door was broken which was a shame cos we couldn't sit out. The bar was full but staff friendly.
The swimming pool jacuzzi and hot tub was clean, as we're the dressing rooms. The hot tub- outside, was marvellous. Very relaxing. As too the steam room and sauna.
We had a 7 course taster menu, although the portions were very small (taster) size. I did have ample to eat and it was extremely tasty!
The breakfast was extremely good. I had kippers. Mmmmm.
Over all our stay was excellent!!! The spa and pool are are excellent. I would definitely go again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Walker,

Thank you for your comments, these are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Id like to say thankyou to the GM for a great room picked No 3, lovely room and fantastic Morning visitors from (Ducks & Ducklings) kept my daughter highly amused feeding them and trying to keep them from getting into the room. The staff where very accomadating from reception to breakfast and Spa. Would i recommend this hotel absoultly Ideal for family get aways very central for exploring Yorkshire. : )

Room Tip: Room 3 very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S3xyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guerst,

You are more then welcome and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The wildlife is rather amazing and Ms duck and her children make a regular appearance.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This could be a decent Hotel if service issues were sorted out. We were told that there were only two water jugs to serve the whole restaurant - absurd. Sounds like an excuse to sell bottled water. Staff members were not that friendly, but were constantly under pressure. Despite assurances from the Hotel manager in response to previous comments on TripAdvisor, it would appear that nothing has been done to address the lack of staff deployed on days when the Hotel has a wedding. We waited 40 minutes between dessert and cheese courses - unacceptable. Food is of good quality, but a little more of it would be welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Derek,

Thank you for your comments and was dissapointed to read some of these. I have discussed these with our operations team to resolve emmediatly.
I have also check the water issue and can inform you that this is fully resolved.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing