We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesway Hotel(Ilkley)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Highfield(Bradford)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,014)
Filter reviews
2,014 results
Traveler rating
717
569
385
215
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
717
569
385
215
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubtaster menulog cabinmain buildingoutdoor jacuzzigroupon dealrelaxing breakoverlooking the lakelakeside restaurantleisure facilitiesnight breakcrerar hotelsleeds bradford airportbed and breakfastshort breakblack puddingwedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
1,679 - 1,684 of 2,014 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very disappointed as have stayed in Crerar properties before and had high expectations.
Chose as liked being in the hotel ............but was in cabin which continually had folk walking passed our window.
Food was excellent both nights but took one hour and one hour ten for a seven course meal .Speed to get us in and out incredible.
First night not offered wine/drink list ................had to ask as main course served as obvious not coming.
First night were given paper napkins.................corrected on second night.
Walk through hotel and grounds gave very mixed messages................really run down looking but delivering high quality food.Staff very pleasant but appeared quite inexperienced. Sunday night not obvious there was anyone actually in charge of restuarant.

Room Tip: rooms in another crerar hotel!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments and am sorry that we missed a great oppertunity.
We will continue to strive for an improved service and will discuss your comments with the restaurant manager.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I recently stayed here for a friends hen do on a spa break deal. We stayed in the lodges and one of them (The Dales) had a hot tub. The rooms themselves are really nice and clean and you can't really fault them. The spa likewise is excellent and we really enjoyed the treatments we had there. There are just a few things that stop this place being really great. The service is one. Its just a little slow. In the restaurant, for example, we had to ask to order and repeatedly ask for water and it took a long time for the food to come. You couldn't help feeling you'd been forgotten about. Some parts of the hotel do look a little tired too especially the exteriors of the lodges and the wooded areas don't look like they're managed well. Overall its not a bad place to stay, but we came away feeling that with a few changes they really could make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Suzanne

Many thanks for your great comments and will share these with the team.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel is really nice. Myself and my wife wanted somewhere that was relaxing, a bit different than the usual big chain hotels and good value for money.

It certainly ticked all the boxes above and the quality of the food was a massive added bonus. We had the groupon deal with the taster menu included, which was outstanding. The breakfast in the morning was also excellent and i could not fault the quality of all the food served.

People have complained about the aircraft noise, which didnt really bother us. Yes you can hear the planes as it is not far from the airport, but they were not as frequent as at other major airports.

We had a lodge style room which was just like a mix between a hotel room and the type of wooden lodge you get when going to Center parcs in Cumbria. Different and really nice.

The spa and gym were very good, small but fine for the number of people in there.

My only complaint was that they did not serve cask ale behind the bar. Considering the location of the hotel, my expectation was that I could enjoy a nice pint of local ale. However if this is my biggest complaint then the Hotel is doing lots of things right.

I can only comment on our room and our experiences but found everywhere well presented and didnt experience any of the issues raised within complaining reviews on this thread. The potential reasons for this are either; The hotel has had a "freshen up" since these posts, people just want to compain for the sake of it ............... or we are just easier to please than the creators of these reviews (which i doubt).

We will definatley return to the Chevin and probably try other Crerar hotels if we choose to go to Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBooth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Mr Booth,

Thank you for your kind comments and can inform you that we have some great local Ale served in the hotel.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I got married at Chevin Country Park on 21st May 2010. Many of my friends and family have commented that it was one of the best weddings they have attended. The food was wonderful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and they made our wedding day a real day to remember. We have since been back to celebrate our wedding anniversary and again had a brilliant time and plan to go again this year.
Really worth the money we spent on the wedding !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Kate,

Many thanks for yor great comments and will share these with the team.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed here twice and had the evening meal and breakfast. If you want a lovely romantic break its fab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Loved it thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmdCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for yor great comments and will share these with the team.

With thanks,

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews