We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our second visit so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly. There was a wide choice of breakfast foods and we both thoroughly enjoyed our evening meals - couldn't fault the restaurant! There are many lovely country walks in the area and Otley is handy for shopping and if your'e looking for a good tea room try 'Victoria Plum' which at one time was the home of Thomas Chippendale

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    512
    327
    179
    108
See reviews for
333
916
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

we stayed here for a long weekend romantic break. we were not happy with the room we were first given as it was not part f the main hotel, but after checking with management we were moved without problem. We ate here every night of our stay and the food is exceptional. lovely grounds and very secluded. I did not use the spa facilities as you had to book in advance and arrange for the spa staff to come to the hotel for treatments, which I find a bit inconvenient. However the pool facilities were nice despite having to leave the pool room to walk back to the hotel outdoors which was a bit strange and a bit cold. I would stay here again but do check your bill before leaving, we were nearly charged for a bottle of wine we did not have!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
As am pleased that my team resolved your preference for a room in the main building.
Our spa is often very busy and we would always advice guests to book in advance to avoid dissapointment. Due to the business levels, we have now employed an additional therapist to our team.

Due to the hotel being such a unique structure our spa is in a seperate building from the main hotel and would indeed require a small crossing of the lawns.

I also noticed your comment regarding the error posting to your room and am sorry that this occured, however was pleased that my team swiftly resolved this.

Again my thanks and look forward to welcoming you back.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a short stay here in December, staying with our dog in one of the few lodges here in which they are allowed.
The lodges are fairly close together, most of them being semi detached so not too much privacy but lovely all the same. The lodges in which pets are allowed are not quite as nice as the other lodges here but very adequate all the same. The hotel rooms are comfortable and quaint, with the same log cabin feel to them.
We ate in the restaurant with no complaints. Food was lovely and the chef and waiter were more than accomadating for our vegetarian requirements. The restaurant looks out over the lake which would have been lovely had it not been mid winter and pitch black.
Breakfast was a choice of self serve cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc or something cooked from the menu.
Great for walks and close to the airport.
Also a special thank you to the receptionist who went out of her way to be helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarem2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel, your feedback is much appreciated. I will also ensure that your comments are shared with the hotel reception team and the chef.
Again our thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year, or sooner.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Well worth the money for a 3 night package. Excellent cuisine. Good location. Friendly staff. Good sized bedrooms. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Clare,

Many thanks indeed for your feedback and it is always great to hear that guests enjoy thei rstay with us.

Again our thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed last year for the Xmas package but we both enjoyed it so much that we decided to make a week of it this year. We were not to be disappointed - as I think it even surpassed last year!
Jurgen and his staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much bother for any of them. They even sorted me and my laptop out!
The staff on reception even found room to fit in my daughter and her family (a last minute change of plan) and also had a present for my Grandson - as well as the obligatory mince pie for him to leave out for Santa!! A present and card awaited us also in our room. A lovely and quite unexpected surprise.
The Christmas Eve meal was made special by the beautiful singing of Jill Ryder – I’d forgotten how wonderful a singer she is and such a lovely person with plenty of time for everyone.
Christmas Day lunch was fantastic - how the kitchen staff get everything cooked just right and served hot is nothing less than a miracle - given the number for which they have to cater! This was followed in the evening by a sumptuous hot/cold buffet with plenty to suit everyone. We went along fairly late (too replete from lunch! Lol) and the tables were still groaning!
We stayed in room 1 as my husband is disabled – it is near to Reception, the bar and the Dining room – but in fact most of the rooms are very accessible - as many are on ground level. Our room had patio doors and a lovely seating area overlooking the Lake. Disabled parking is just outside the Main reception door and this was much appreciated.
Boxing Day saw us over to Haworth for the Worth valley steam railway mince pie excursion and this was truly memorable. This is where they filmed the ‘The Railway Children’. We followed this with a trip to the Bronte parsonage and then down the old cobbled street. Back to Chevin for afternoon tea and more first class dining in the evening.
There are so many places to visit - such as Skipton castle and canal barges –Holmfirth (Last of the Summer Wine fame) all within easy travelling distance.
If you don’t feel like going off the premises then the Spa and treatment facilities is a must. Very relaxing and detoxing. The pool .although not big, is more than adequate along with the hot tub and Jacuzzi.
I was also pleased to see that dogs were welcome and came across some very well- behaved , much loved companions.
We really hope to return next year especially if they the wonderful singer and excellent service that we had this year awaits us.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collielover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much indeed for this indepth review of the hotel and the Christmas package you enjoyed with us. I was delighted that we where able to help you to fit the rest of the family in the hotel making Christmas even more special. If there was one let down is might have been the lack of snow but then again thats is something for next year.

Again our thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year, or sooner.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

family of three stayed 14th november . Top class spotless clean stayed in room 5 bridal suite, plenty of space, very comfy bed, view of lake excellent, used all spa and found it probably one of the best I have been in. Food was the 7 course taster menu and it exceeded expectations, what a lovely place, we will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Susan,

Many thanks indeed, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments on to our head chef.

Again our thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have just returned home after a spur of the moment booking for the 4 day Christmas package, it turned out to be excellent value for money and we didn't want to leave. The hotel is set in lovely surroundings, the food was excellent but the best thing of all was the friendliness of the staff, mindful that we were away from our home and family for the entire break, they made us most welcome, nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a good time.
The gymnasium, pool and other facilities were all part of the package and all were maintained to a high standard with no problems using any of the equipment whenever we wanted.
Please ensure that our thanks are conveyed to all the staff including the chef who produced excellent meals throughout with particular emphasis on the spectacular buffet on Christmas night.
We have no complaints whatsoever and are seriously considering booking nearer the time for next years Christmas package on the condition that Jurgen is the bingo caller again, I have never witnessed anything quite like it before...great fun.
Happy New Year to all the staff and thanks for giving us such a good time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevingm, General Manager at Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Chris,

Many thanks indeed, however I'm still not sure if I should become a bingo caller.....then again.
I was delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed yourself so much. I recall that the log fire was a prefered haven for the two of you.

Again our thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year, or sooner.

Jurgen Kruijt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
13.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,557 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
3.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Yorkgate, Otley LS21 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin Country Park Hotel And Spa
Chevin Country Park Hotel Otley
Chevin Country Park Leeds
Chevin Hotel Lodge
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing