We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hopper Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights (23/24th Nov) whilst visiting Harrogate and Skipton. The new owners made us very welcome on arrival as did the very nice log fires throughout the bar area.The accommodation is very clean and tidy with low very comfortable beds. The bathroom ceiling in our room was in need of some redecoration, but apparently this is in hand to be repainted. The food was exceptionally good both in quality and quantity. The lamb "special" was superb as was the starter of a "game breakfast". My partner had their fish supper one night and it was huge with a delicious light batter. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The beds are very low so be aware if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    42
    8
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
92
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Friendly welcome on arrival and smooth checkin. Room wasn't overly large but adequate. The bathroom made good use of the space available with an excellent shower with plenty of hot water. Lots of fluffy towels & toiletories were provided.

We had dinner here which was excellent. I had mussels followed by haddock & chorizo. I recommend these to any fish lover. My partner had king prawns followed by local sausages served with braised red cabbage. Again, these dishes were very tasty and well presented. The bottle of Merlot slipped down well. The service was spot on, always at hand when it was needed.

Whilst there was some road noise early evening this died down later and we were not disturbed during the night. The bed was very low with a thin mattress so may not suit everyone.
Not the most comfortable bed.

Breakfast consisted of high quality ingredients, cooked and presented very well with some lighter options available. The cooked breakfast is of a far higher standard than most. As with dinner the service was just right, always at hand when it was needed.

This hotel provides good food with a friendly and efficient service in an area where there are some excellent walks and wildlife.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel at a great price. The owners and staff are so welcoming and nothing is any trouble to them. The food is good and sitting round the open fire is great on a cold night.
Breakfast is great a full english with everything on or something smaller if you require and real coffee to go with it.
A room on the back is best if you don't like traffic as the hotel is right on the main road.
Already rebooked for March.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back get less noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbug_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I had been bought groupon vouchers to stay here as we have family in Harrogate and Otley. The pub is in equal distance between the two! From arriving to leaving we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We ate in the restaurant both nights (one night just the two of us, second night with the family) and the food is excellent, something on the menu for everyone. I have recommended to our friends down here and I'm sure the rest of our family will be recommending the restaurant! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was yummy, my husband tucked in to a full English both mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with excellent staff and good food. Warm welcome and clean rooms.

The owner was telling us he had only taken the hotel on a week ago but we definitely couldn't tell.

Recommended.

Need a breakfast menu to read from as we were unsure what was available. Low beds so avoid if that would be difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben N, Front of house manager at The Hopper Lane Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Myself and ben would like to thank you for review, and are pleased to let you know we have a new breakfast menu that started this morning. We hope to see you in the future, at The Hopper Lane.

Ben and Danni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the moment we stepped through the door and the manager Martin greeted us we were made to feel welcome and that nothing would be too much trouble! The staff here were excellent, very down to earth and friendly, Martin the manager was so nice but still carried an air of proffesionalism, Hayley the barmaid so lovely and the very enthusiastic new chef who went out of his way to please. Apologies to all other staff whose names we missed who also made our stay so relaxing.
The bedroom was small but had everything we needed and the ensuite was modern and fresh looking, we stayed in the room with single beds and had enough space to move around even with our very large suitcase. Every day the room was cleaned and a special mention for how the towels are layed out, it is sometimes the small things that make a difference.
From the room to the bar takes you approx 30 seconds, where the open fires were lit everyday. As well as your usual bar/restaurant furniture there is two very comfy chesterfields and television to crash on once youve eaten dinner.
The food was amazing, full of flavour, plenty off it and beautifully presented! We enjoyed the menu so much we chose to stay in for dinner both nights and again any extra request was dealt with no trouble.Breakfast is a locally produced large full english that will keep you going till dinner, full of taste and cooked to your request.
All in all i would recommend The Hopper hotel to anyone who wanted a relaxing weekend in a charming setting with staff who make you want to return and see them, where you are waited on hand and foot with delicious food then give Martin the manager a call and ask if he has any deals on...
Speaking of Martin who has just taken over as manager, he did welcome any construtive critisism... well heres my tiny observations. the double beds in the other rooms, i know the reason they are so low but i wouldnt want to sleep on them, id rather have the room look cosy with a normal height bed. Two small things, the cushions and one duvet in our room were spotless but starting to look a little shabby and the ladies loo in the bar quite a few of the bulbs had gone. Like i say small things.
Thankyou to all the staff , we had a lovely stay and hope to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezzy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here in September. Room was ok with tea and coffee making facilities. Beds slightly hard and quite low but bedding lovely and clean. The bathroom was tiny and had bits of mould around the shower base but was ok for the one night.
Hayley the barmaid was great. She was so helpful and friendly. We were even allowed to keep a homemade curry pie in the kitchen fridge! (Long story - no we dont take our own food everywhere with us - we were appearing on a new TV series the following day).
The evening meal was disappointing. My husband ordered the game curry and I ordered a turkey sandwich with stuffing and homemade chips. My meal arrived with turkey and cranberry sauce - no stuffing. I had specifically ordered 'without' cranberry (fruit and meat is a no no), so my meal was taken away and returned 5 minutes later with turkey and ...... nothing :-( To top it all, although the restaurant area is quite large we were sat right next to another table of people. Now I dont mind sitting near to people but you could hear all of their conversations and when someone is talking about how they survived a heart attack and how they would no doubt die when they had their next one, it kind of puts you off your food!
Having said all that the breakfast was great!
People have mentioned the owner and what a great guy he was, sadly it would appear that he is leaving soon and his heart didnt appear to be in it anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
7.4 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Horse & Farrier
#5 of 6 in Otley
16 reviews
9.0 mi away
Willow Cottage B&B
Willow Cottage B&B
#1 of 3 in Yeadon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hopper Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hopper Lane Hotel

Property: The Hopper Lane Hotel
Address: Skipton Road | Blubberhouses, Otley LS21 2NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hopper Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over a vast Hospitality portfolio to include owning his own Michelin Star restaurant for ten years,chef patron Mark Maguire is passionate about food and the reinvention of the traditional dishes using plates derived from the Yorkshire region a area of outstanding beauty and steeped in history incorporated with his love of the provincial french dishes. using local farmers and their fayre Mark creates dishes that celebrate the Yorkshire countryside and the history of this olde coaching inn with classic dishes that are created focusing on taste and flavors taking care with presentation but without over arrogance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hopper Lane Hotel Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing