We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice traditional village pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Half Moon Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Otley B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
887 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Nice traditional village pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Called in for a drink on our way home and received a warm welcome. It looks like there has been an extension at some time or other, the front area of the pub is more traditional with an open fireplace, which I bet is very welcome when burning in the winter months, whilst at the back there is a TV area, some more modern tables and an annex with a pool table, there is also an outside seating area. Beer price reasonable, and the pub has guest bedrooms and also serves food, which I am told is good wholesome food at reasonable prices, worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    9
    12
    18
See reviews for
16
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

on first impressions all looked great friendly staff and locals we were given room 2 which was right above main door to bar the room itself was clean but very dated the mattress was also very soft
we ate our evening in bar we had the specials [ 1/4 burger and Mexican chicken] which were very good but took a very long time to arrive and the bar was not very busy i also had a side order of fries which were well over cooked very hard after our meal we had a short walk a long road to the next pub the white hart which was really a nice place to sit and relax and the meals looked very good [turn left out of main door] on our return to half moon we went to our room about 10.20 pm to watch a little tv before going to sleep knowing the bar would be open until midnight which i was advised by the landlord at time of booking
when we were in bed we could here the music from the bar and the main door slamming shut very often but though it would end at midnight how wrong was i the noise stopped about 1.30 am after the long day we had this was the last thing we needed
after a restless night sleep we when down for breakfast and saw other guests with there's they looked good wrong again first no milk jug just a coffee mug with milk in it our breakfasts arrived after a long wait again when it came the sausages were black crispy on underside looked like the cook tried to hide the fact she had very over cooked them also items missing i.e black pudding hash browns it also seemed half the size we had seen other guests ask the man who gave it to us he said sorry but they had run out of items [ when there are only 5 rooms this is poor kitchen management ] after that just tucked in as we were very hungry by then after we had eat ours we saw 2 more breakfasts coming out of kitchen with extra sausages and fried bread to make up for missing items if ours came like this and not burnt i would not wrote this review but this made me feel like a second class guest !!!!
i told barman when we checked out and he said sorry but the cook [i use the word loosely] was there and she made effort to say sorry
all in all the fundamentals ie bed and breakfast were not here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Otley hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my fiancee and parents recently visited the half moon.we arrived around lunchtime.the gentleman on the bar was very welcoming.they serve beautiful home cooked food at reasonable prices.we were very impressed by this pub and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had often passed The Half Moon going up to Yeadon airport, as it is only 5 mins away, we went for Sunday lunch and it was absolutely delicious , lovely home cooked food, great service, nice friendly staff, really nice village pub, I would definitely recommend a meal at The Half moon.

Room Tip: Really handy for Otley, Harewood, Leeds Bradford Airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having driven past this small (looking) main street, village centre, pub many times we decided to drop in for lunch today. From the front it looks quite small but inside it goes quite a long way back. First impressions were very good. A very warm welcome behind the bar with a genuinely chatty lady. She was very informative about the food. We ordered a plate of antipasti to share as a starter & were asked if we wanted it sizing up for 2. We declined as our mains were promsing to be quite filling.....thank goodness we did. There was plenty for 2. Four lovely chunks of bread with proper mozarella, continental meats & a good sized bowl of stuffed olives - accompanied by a little pea-shoot salad.....yum. The mains were wild boar & chorizo burger for me & steak and ale pie for my dad. WOW.....the burger was tasty, tender & an absolute delight. The pie (served with an extra jug of gravy) was pronounced by my dad as the best he had had for some time. A chat with the landlord revealed his partner did all the cooking & they've been in the pub for around 10 months. On this experience they deserve to succeed. The more obvious pub (roadside presence) is the White Hart up the road but please do try this place. If you want good portions of tasty home-cooked food at reasonable prices in a warm friendly pub then look no further. I'm sure - like us - you will want to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyholsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
2.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
4.8 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#46 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Inn

Property: Half Moon Inn
Address: Main Street | Pool-In-Wharfedale, Otley LS21 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Inn Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing