We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favourite chippy”
Review of Maypole Fisheries

Maypole Fisheries
Ranked #11 of 76 Restaurants in Otley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fish and Chip Shop with restaurant
Vizzolo Predabissi, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New favourite chippy”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We needed to change from the one with the seaside themed name, as my very careful portion control study (including use of scales!) showed we needed to find an alternative. Anyhow the fish was crisp and fresh, and chips plentiful and we had a great nosh sat outside in the rain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DumontsInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourite fish and chip shops!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My parents used to run a fish and chip shop so I consider myself something of an expert! This is one of my favourites and I've always enjoyed my fish, chips and mushy peas from here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fish and chip heaven”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This must be one of the very best fish and chips restaurant anywhere . The standard - always excellent - never varies and the staff are friendly and helpful , just perfect .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great all round”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spotlessly clean and very cosy, the staff are very friendly and accommodating (even finding a plaster for my dad when he cut his finger!). The fish was beautifully cooked, moist and a good size. The chips were crisp and golden with a soft centre. The food is all cooked fresh to order, so there was a bit of a wait but nothing to moan about. Good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I0it2DrBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“ALWAYS VERY GOOD”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

One of the best in the area and the standards never drop. sometimes service can be a bit slow - but that's due to the all the customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KP5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maypole Fisheries also viewed

 
Otley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Maypole Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing