We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dowgill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dowgill House
Ranked #2 of 5 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for one night only and had a perfect night's sleep. A very comfortable bed, which is all-important to us and lovely thick duvets. All was catered for - even a furry blanket in the wardrobe in case we were cold (we weren't!). Breakfast was delicious. A fantastic find in a lovely little town.
Thank you.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are good - ours was comfortable, warm and very clean. It was at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
53
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a lovely suprise Dowgill House is. My wife and I needed a B&B for a Saturday night in Otley and dicide on Dowgill House as a last minute thing. But what a find, the room was the smallest available (our fault due to late booking) but did not disapoint in any way, beautifully prepared an absolutely spotless and this wasn't just the room. The attention to cleanliness and detail was a feature carried through out the whole house. And what lovely host's, its very refreshing to be welcomed by such genuine people, who really want to make your stay a pleasurable one no matter how short it is. I cannot speak highly enough about our whole visit,will deinetly be returning.

Room Tip: Just book all rooms are exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at Dowgill House in Spring 2012. It wasn't until I emailed the owners recently that I remembered I hadn't written a well deserved review! I am getting to know this part of Yorkshire quite well and I can categorically say that Helen and Tim offer true Yorkshire hospitality at its best with lovely accommodation and an excellent breakfast. They really care about their B & B and it shows. I would recommend Dowgill House as somewhere to stay overnight or just as an excuse to visit this beautiful part of England for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at this beautiful B and B last weekend. Lovely hosts and beautiful room. The breakfast should win awards! (I am often disappointed by B and B breakfasts). Would definitely recommend on all levels. Thanks!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Dowgil for a week whilst visiting the area. Having lived in the area previously we knew it would be a good base for walking and seeing Yorkshire with lots of places to visit within short drives or bus trips. Otley itself doesn't have a tremondos amount of accommodation and having stayed at other B&B and hotels near which werent very good we noticed that Dowgil had a good reputation on trip advisor and locally.
Your hosts at Dowgil are Helen and Tim a lovely couple who have taken well to hospitality life.
Or room was large and well laid out with every need covered. The bathroom had a shower only but this suited us both. The Bed was very comfortable. Dowgil allows you use of a lounge downstairs for relaxing in and we used this a few times given the length of our stay.
Breakfast at Dowgil is excellent with Tim being very efficient with orders and Helen cooking the wonderful selection of breakfasts. The bacon was excellent with every day consistent cooking.
If I had to pick one negative it would be that if you are a light sleeper don't ask for a front room as the Main traffic route goes past the B&B, with regular buses till late and early in the morning although with windows shut not a sound can be heard but on hot nights you need the window open so it was a little noisy.
Well priced lovely run B&B with warmth and character, a home from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room in the summer if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lotsofbumper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Dowgill House – what can we say ?!
Perfect location; fantastic welcome from Helen (and equally welcoming from Tim when he met us!). our room was at the back of the house and was really spacious, clean and very comfortable; parking was on the cobbled driveway/pavement in front of the building; breakfast freshly cooked to order and lots of it! A file in the room was filled with the history of the house, information on the local area and various pubs/restaurants to visit. We ate at the Horse and Farrier ;The Royal Saffron (Indian) and The Fleece all three served great food and really good value for money with the bonus of being within walking distance of Dowgill House.

Otley is a really good base for visiting the surrounding area and our Sat Nav took us to places we would never have found – think we were on the scenic route setting ! A bonus was that we were at Almescliff Crag at sunset and it was a spectacular view.

Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMxRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

great Bnb in Otley, Yorkshire
the house was built in 1573 and has been restored with some great antique features
the Family room was huge, the beds comfy and duvet really lush
nice breakfast too and a guest lounge which is really handy as you dont have to sit in your bedroom when you come back to the Bnb after a day out

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
6.2 mi away
Weetwood Hall
Weetwood Hall
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#44 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowgill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowgill House

Property: Dowgill House
Address: 5-7 Bondgate, Otley LS21 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dowgill House welcomes recreational visitors to Wharfedale and business travelers alike. Our Georgian Grade II town house, dating back to 1753, is situated in the heart of the market town of Otley. Sympathetically renovated between March and November 2008 and retaining many of the original features and charm of its long history, Dowgill House offers quality individually designed and furnished en-suite accommodation.Our comfortable guest lounge is located on the ground floor for you to relax in. Free Wifi internet connection available on request. We have four car parking spaces, allocated on a first come first served basis, and there is plenty of public parking nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dowgill House Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing