We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality B&B in a lovely old market town”
Review of Dowgill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dowgill House
Ranked #2 of 6 Otley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High quality B&B in a lovely old market town”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Tim and Helen have a fabulous old house in the centre of Otley. Walking through the front door is like taking a step back in time but with all the modern day comforts. We spent one night in the family room which over looks the back of the house. It is a spacious and comfortable room. Just like the rest of the house, it is clean and tidy with good attention to detail. The room has a shower room which is small but perfectly functional. Tim and Helen are friendly and helpful hosts, working to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a guest lounge and separate dining room with a lovely victorian tiled floor. We had a tasty cooked breakfast to set us up for the day! If you are looking for somewhere to stay is this interesting old market town I would recommend you call Tim and Helen. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
60
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a smart b and b in a characterful building. Our room was a good size with a small but well-equipped en-suite shower room (by the way, soap and shampoo are provided but not shower gel). There is a good variety of places to eat in Otley, we chose an Indian restaurant, the Red Pepper which is only 40 yards away which was great as it was pouring with rain, and we were very pleased with this choice. Our bed was very comfortable and the breakfast excellent, including lovely fruit, yogurt and jams as well as all the traditional cooked items.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmtYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Lovely comfortable bed and breakfast house.We stayed two nights and were sorry we didnt book another night as by then it was fully booked.Still we will be back,the breakfasts were the best we ever tasted.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent one night at Dowgill House. It was a very enjoyable experience. Helen and Tim gave us a warm welcome. This eighteeenth century house is full of character and interest. Our en-suite room (at the back) was spacious, clean,and well equipped and the bed comfortable and warm. (I would probably have brightened up the walls with more pictures and the grate with flowers, but that's a matter of personal preference.) Although we were in the centre of Otley, our room was very quiet. Breakfast offered plenty of choice of starters and the cooked English was beautifully prepared. Parking was very convenient. We had a good, reasonably priced pub meal at the Rose and Crown. Altogether, very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for a room a the back if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

could not have been more pleased with our choice of accomodation. a beautiful building and good hosts , friendly but not in your face. breakfast was superb cooked beautifully and delicous. very clean throughout and rooms are a good size.we had two rooms and both were of the same high standard with very comfy beds. right in the middle of otley town centre but although we were facing the main road were not disturbed during the night. all in all very good value for money and i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coobzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

In the words of our proud host, Dowgill House predates recorded history - i.e. it was in existence before the printing press was invented! The house successfully combines authentic period decor and memorabilia with modern facilities. Spotlessly clean, our room (no.2) was beautifully appointed and the modern bathroom had piping hot water and a towel rail that warmed the room through on a cold February night.

Our host didn't take much encouraging to furnish us with a detailed recollection of the history of the building which boast an authentic mosaic floor across most of the ground level. The breakfast room was bright and cheerful with original cupboards built into the wall. Breakfast was outstanding the ingredients locally sourced.

Our hosts were courteous, accommodating and happy to assist with any queries and the personal recommendation for an "upmarket" bar meal at the Horse and Farrier made a very enjoyable evening a special one.

We were also pleased to discover that there was WiFi available which was needed for a communications emergency (sad yes, taking a laptop with us - but it came in handy) and our room has an interesting street view overlooking the church and main road. Parking on the cobbled area immediately in front of the property could not have been more convenient, as was access to Otley's town centre shopping areas, market, bars and restaurants.

We will definitely return and brought back an interesting leaflet which itemised several events that were of potential interest throughout the year, although our requirement to get away for the night, have a romantic walk by the river and take in a decent meal was more than fulfilled. A brisk walk along the Chevin - the famous hill that overlooks the town is a must as the views are spectacular.

Our room had tea and coffee facilities, Freeview TV, WiFi, a beautiful huge bed with a leather look head rest/back support and tasteful furniture.

I would happily recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a day or two away from it all or for a business trip accommodation (should you find yourself in Otley on business!). There are only four rooms but that is part of the appeal of the place, small, private, comfortable and homely but professionally run. We didn't use the lounge but would do so without hesitation.

Room Tip: I fully expect each room be be as good as ours although there is one room which was slightly cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScawsbyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

All rooms very clean and tidy, owner extremely helpful. Super breakast.
Well placed in Otley (its very close to Sainsbury's car park). All recently renovated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otley
1.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
5.1 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Horse & Farrier
#5 of 6 in Otley
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowgill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowgill House

Property: Dowgill House
Address: 5-7 Bondgate, Otley LS21 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Otley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Otley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dowgill House welcomes recreational visitors to Wharfedale and business travelers alike. Our Georgian Grade II town house, dating back to 1753, is situated in the heart of the market town of Otley. Sympathetically renovated between March and November 2008 and retaining many of the original features and charm of its long history, Dowgill House offers quality individually designed and furnished en-suite accommodation.Our comfortable guest lounge is located on the ground floor for you to relax in. Free Wifi internet connection available on request. We have four car parking spaces, allocated on a first come first served basis, and there is plenty of public parking nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dowgill House Otley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing