We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferrari fun in Lerma”
Review of Parador de Lerma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Lerma
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lerma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the first of the Paradors our group stayed in on a 10 day driving holiday in Northern Spain. The first view of the building is impressive as it dominates the Plaza Mayor as you drive into it.

Reception was friendly and helpful and our room large and well appointed on the first floor, overlooking the countryside. We parked our car out the front as we tried the carpark but it is quite a tight fit in a large vehicle.

The main atrium is huge, at least 3 floors high, and has plenty of seating which was needed as we met there for pre dinner drinks - well, we would have had a drink but the bar service was quite slow (not sure where the waitress had to go for the orders but she was gone a long time!) so we went earlier the next night!

As we were part of a large group (24 in all) meals were ordered in advance and service was efficient. The food was good but not impressive. We'd done a deal for wine so glasses were kept topped up (though I think we ran out!).

The room was a bit chilly with the a/c on as it was quite windy that evening and our windows seemed to let the draught in but was otherwise comfortable with a good sized bathroom and nice big towels (always a plus as so many hotels give you ones that barely cover you!). I think the rooms to the front might be lighter but this was a small thing overall.

It's a good base for visiting Burgos to the north and overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magrithea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The parador is in a handsome and impressive building in the central plaza of the sleepy town of Lerma. Reception was cordial yet aloof. They were attentive enough to place us in a room facing the countryside due to the fact that the central plaza was hosting their summer festivities, so things could get loud. The view is quite beautiful, very serene. The large room is decorated in a classical style, a little dusty and the bed has seen better days. The bathroom is large but a little outdated. I highly recommend an updating of the room and its furnishings, which were a little drab and worn. Wifi worked well. Due to the festivities we ended up having sandwiches for dinner in the central enclosed courtyard of the hotel, a very beautiful space with comfortable seating. Service was precarious and inattentive, but I cannot blame the server, she was overwhelmed attending to too many tables in this enormous space. But all in all we enjoyed our Parador de Lerma experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed one night on a trip to the north. would have liked to stay more. beautifully restored. a massive Antrim housing comfy seating and bar facilities. Our room was spacious and very well appointed on the top floor in a little garret with a little window overlooking the square be warned though open the window and the A/C stops working! staff were polite and friendly.
The village itself is well worth a visit.lovely place will go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Paradors of Spain usually located in the most beautiful spots of the country and Lerma is a good example. The Parador retain its old charm and the conversion to a hotel appear to be sensitive to the past but with the comfort of modern days. The view from our window was breath taking, looking at the old Palaza Mayor and the church with a beautiful backdrop of the fields.....The staff were friendly and helpful, Unfortunately when we visited (late June), the town was dead and most bars did not bother to open, so it is worth eating and drinking in the Parador....Great experience in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the square give you a fantastic view, especially looking at sunrise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is one of the good Paradores. A beautiful old palace, in a wonderful environment. I recomend this place if you are doing a tour of spain. Go through the Ribera del Duero wine reagion on your way and enjoy some excelent wines.

The service was very good and the restaurant did a marvellous roast lamb, washed down, of course, with a Ribera del Duero Tinto.

Room Tip: Get the duplex in the tower if you have a couple of children. They will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This palace dominates the town of Lerma on the main north south motorway to Madrid from Burgos. We stopped overnight on way south and were instantly impressed by the huge and pleasant central atrium (possibly in earlier times a central courtyard) and the warm and efficent welcome of the staff. Our rooms were under the eaves but huge and comfortable and excellent value with spacious and well-equipped bathrooms.

Bar service in the hotel lounge (the atrium areas) was slow and appeared to have some odd arrangement for sitting at certain tables and pressing a button (we discovered later) or otherwise being ignored - but we got round this and it is undoubtedly a great place for a pre-dinner drink. Dinner in the hotel restaurant saw us as usual well-ahead of the crowd in Spain - we went there at 20.30 and were the first - but the food was good quality authentic Spanish cuisine and the service was efficient and pleasant. Breakfast a good buffet well managed, and with decent coffee (so important in the morning!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We frequently stay at paradors when we travel, and I can safely say that this is one of the best. We were at this one only one night and were sorry that we could not stay longer. The staff was very friendly. When we were checking in, we were invited to a free drink and given two free invitations to a walking tour of the city, which is well worth seeing. Our room, which was comfortable and quiet, was in one of the towers, where we had a glorious view of the surrounding landscape. The location of the parador made it easy to access and absorb the rich history of the town. Breakfast was also delicious. As soon as we can, we are going to find an excuse to return for a longer stay. I recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerma
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Ceres
Hotel Spa Ceres
#4 of 5 in Lerma
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de Eufrasio
Posada de Eufrasio
#2 of 5 in Lerma
261 reviews
21.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Landa
Landa
#8 of 50 in Burgos
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Hacienda de Mi Senor
0.5 mi away
Alisa Hotel
Alisa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lerma
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Lerma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Lerma

Address: Plaza Mayor 1, 09340 Lerma, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Lerma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lerma
Price Range: $88 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Lerma 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The amazing ducal palace at Lerma, now a Parador, is located in the upper part of the city. The hotel features a central courtyard surrounded by lovely columned galleries. The elegant majesty of this palace from the era of the Hapsburgs and its lovely interiors, with beautifully designed lighting and decor, will make your stay an unforgettable experience. The Plaza Mayor (Main Square) is opposite the main facade of the palace. At night, the lights of the Parador make it look even more magnificent and stately. The medieval quarter, Arch, Carcel Bridge, San Blas Convent, Santo Domingo Monastery, Pasadizo del Duque (Duke's Passage) and former collegiate church of San Pedro are just some of the treasures you won't want to miss. The area around Lerma is well worth a visit. 22 Kilometers away is Covarrubias, a lovely village where San Cosme y San Damian Collegiate Church and Dona Sancha and Dona Urraca squares invite travelers to enjoy a leisurely visit, imagining that time has stood still in the Middle Ages and that little has changed since the year 987, when Count Fernan Gonzalez founded the town. About half an hour away by car is another treasure: the Monastery of Santo Domingo de Silos, a Romanesque jewel which has become a place of spiritual and artistic pilgrimage. It is also not far to beautiful Aranda de Duero, city of wine, monuments, history and culinary expertise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Lerma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Lerma Hotel Lerma
Parador De Hotel Lerma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing