We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Parador in Sleepy Town”
Review of Parador de Lerma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Lerma
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lerma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Lerma Parador is a great hotel, in a genuine Spanish Alcazar. My standard room (on the 3rd floor) was very comfortable and well appointed, but a bit noisy on a Saturday evening owing to the live music in the atrium. Good place for a stop-over, although there is not much to do downtown...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

First let me say that I am a great fan of the Parador chain and am an Amigo. In fact the cost of the superior room on this, my third stay at this particular Parador, was "free" as it was paid for from the points I have accumulated over the last year or so staying at numerous other Paradors.

Even coming for the third time you cannot but be impressed with the situation and elegant style of this old Palace building. A nice touch was that they had allocated me the same room (No. 307) I had stayed in before - a corner room with amazing views over the surrounding countryside. The room had been re-decorated and freshened up since my last visit so I was, at that time, really pleased.

After our complimentary drinks courtesy of my being an Amigo we then went into the dining room. My full account of that is set out in my separate review of the restaurant but suffice to say both myself and my wife were violently ill during the night and the only cause can have been the one dish we shared all that day which we ate that evening.

In the morning we seriously considered whether we were strong enough to proceed on with our journey but decided we would prefer to keep moving and risk the state of our stomachs. When I went to checkout we explained our problems and said they must let their kitchen know to prevent any similar trouble for other diners.

The reaction of the reception staff was to go into complete denial mode; say it couldn't possibly have been their food etc. etc. After some discussion they decided the furthest they would go was to remove the cost of the one course that we had shared from our bill. Being weak through the illness we hadn't got the strength to argue more.

Great shame that the reluctance of the reception staff to take our illness as seriously as they should and to show greater customer awareness and sympathy has left both my wife and I with a bitter taste in our mouths - no pun intended!!

Room Tip: Room 307 is a large superior room at the corner of the parador with amazing views over the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 791David_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great position in the Plaza Major, easy to get to and park. This is what Paradors are about, sympathetic restoration leaves you feeling that you are in a special place, large comfortable lounge area in what was the courtyard, pillars and arches on all sides. A bonus was the live jazz entertainment .Good food included local cuisine choices, the breakfast was excellent. An old style bedroom with period furniture, very comfortable. A pleasant small town on your doorstep with local produce and usual Spanish hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 352PeterE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This must be the best hotel we have ever stayed in. A marvellous old monastery and home re modelled in 1928 and completely up to date now. All rooms are well proportioned. Stay here and feel pampered.
The restaurant was excellent too. We had the 40 euro regional menu for dinner (3 starters, main course and 3 desserts, bottle of wine, water and coffee.) inclusive breakfast was a great spread.
The views from our two balconied bedroom was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 415 - extra large - two balconies. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tippy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a blast! This place is so elegent I expected the king to make an appearance! The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. Since we qualified for the "Golden Days" rate, I found it to be very affordable and wish we could have stayed more than one night. The breakfast buffet was really nice. Don't miss this one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roradsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. Large room with huge bathroom. Comfortable beds and sheets. Nice shower and towels. Adequate breakfast. But, the parador was magical. I loved the feel of this. It was pricey, but after having driven for about 10 hours, it provided the rest and relaxation we needed

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesoroSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This parador was only a 1-night stay for my wife and I but made an immediate impression, especially upon entering the central lounge area. Fantastic! Our room was also wonderful...a very spacious corner room with double-doors opening to Juliet balconies on both external walls. Nothing individually spectacular to look at but the fact that we could see the horizon through 180 degrees was spectacular enough. Our 3rd Parador to date and the service was of a high standard...which now seems to be typical. The staff are always friendly and efficient...and extremely tolerant of our language shortcomings.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerma
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Ceres
Hotel Spa Ceres
#4 of 5 in Lerma
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de Eufrasio
Posada de Eufrasio
#1 of 5 in Lerma
252 reviews
21.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Hacienda de Mi Senor
0.5 mi away
Alisa Hotel
Alisa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lerma
124 reviews
19.9 mi away
Landa
Landa
#8 of 50 in Burgos
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Lerma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Lerma

Address: Plaza Mayor 1, 09340 Lerma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Lerma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lerma
Price Range: $88 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Lerma 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The amazing ducal palace at Lerma, now a Parador, is located in the upper part of the city. The hotel features a central courtyard surrounded by lovely columned galleries. The elegant majesty of this palace from the era of the Hapsburgs and its lovely interiors, with beautifully designed lighting and decor, will make your stay an unforgettable experience. The Plaza Mayor (Main Square) is opposite the main facade of the palace. At night, the lights of the Parador make it look even more magnificent and stately. The medieval quarter, Arch, Carcel Bridge, San Blas Convent, Santo Domingo Monastery, Pasadizo del Duque (Duke's Passage) and former collegiate church of San Pedro are just some of the treasures you won't want to miss. The area around Lerma is well worth a visit. 22 Kilometers away is Covarrubias, a lovely village where San Cosme y San Damian Collegiate Church and Dona Sancha and Dona Urraca squares invite travelers to enjoy a leisurely visit, imagining that time has stood still in the Middle Ages and that little has changed since the year 987, when Count Fernan Gonzalez founded the town. About half an hour away by car is another treasure: the Monastery of Santo Domingo de Silos, a Romanesque jewel which has become a place of spiritual and artistic pilgrimage. It is also not far to beautiful Aranda de Duero, city of wine, monuments, history and culinary expertise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Lerma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Lerma Hotel Lerma
Parador De Hotel Lerma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing