We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to North American standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village
Ranked #52 of 226 Hotels in Fenghuang County
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not up to North American standards”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rooms are not clean and are VERY small. Internet did not work. Breakfast was in another building a block away - and poor at that. Staff did not speak English (thankfully we had a private guide with us). There is little competition in the area so the hotel can do what it wants.

Room Tip: Not in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night only (thank goodness) while on a guided tour of Hunan Province. There really is no reason to drive out of the way to come to Feng Huang, the city - and this hotel is no better.
We were in Building 3, room 2313 - the toilet leaks, the bathmat is disgusting (filthy), the shampoo and bath gel dispensers are almost empty, there is NO tissue nor any toileteries. And you are charged $20RMB if you opened a package of slippers.
All this could be overlooked if the city was worth a visit. But it is NOT - we had to carry our own luggage from a filthy parking lot about 750m to the hotel because tour buses cannot enter the area. The city is basically a giant tourist trap.
Tour guides give repeated warnings about pickpockets and scams on the streets. And for good reason because wthin an hour, our group experienced both - a boy of about 7-8 years of age bumped into one of us and tried to pick his pocket. It was ony foiled because the gentleman swatted his hand away. And then a family agreed to have their picture taken but was forced to buy 4 cpies because they printed them without consent and then insisted on being paid.
All in all - this was a wasted day of our tour.

Room Tip: building 3 is in the back and likely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fenghuang County hotels

Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms are cramped, dirty and cold. Two people in a room could not have a shower one after another. Had to wait at least an hour between as lacked hot water. Bathrooms we dirty and moldy. Rooms lack heat. Definitely not a hotel. Asked for not smoking but room smelled terrible with lingering smoke. All night noise in corridors in the hotel and outside of the hotel. Hotel was arranged by a Travel Agent in Ontario.

Room Tip: Check your travel agenda - this is less than a 1-star hotel but is touted as 4 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationAccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's not posh, but it's a room over your head, clean, and well-located. Rooms aren't big, there's the lingering smell of previous guests and smoking, furnishings are tired, but you can tell that owners have been trying to update the facilities. Flat-screen albeit small TV, rainshower faucets in the shower stall. Good wifi in the lobby. Be aware that washrooms facilities in the lobby are squat toilets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights.
I was located in a "business room” 3rd floor of the main building. My room overlooked the main car park courtyard.
It would be very easy to let the emotion of what I consider to be one of the most beautiful locations in China skew my memory of this hotel. What remains it greatest strength is its location. If you want to be in the middle of the town and close to everything..then this is the place.
Because of building regulations within Phoenix (Fenghuang) the hotel is spread across 3- 4 different and detached buildings offering a variety of accommodation styles.
The hotel is a clean and very well functioning Chinese 4 star hotel. Service in all areas of the hotel I could not fault, housekeeping was especially efficient and everyone was so cheerful.
The only negatives.. I think the breakfast (upstairs at a local restaurant) was very average and limited in choice. The only other thing was that my room had a odour within the bathroom that was not always evident but when it was ..my time in the bathroom was as fast as I could make it.
However, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fenghuang County hotels
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Melody Inn
Phoenix Melody Inn
#28 of 226 in Fenghuang County
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phoenix Grand Hotel
Phoenix Grand Hotel
#8 of 226 in Fenghuang County
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenghuang Border Town International Youth Hostel
Fenghuang Border Town Internatio...
#59 of 226 in Fenghuang County
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
More Inn
More Inn
#10 of 226 in Fenghuang County
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Yuan Xin Jiao Hostel
#26 of 514 in Fenghuang County
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
7 Days Inn Fenghuang Ancient Cit...
#17 of 226 in Fenghuang County
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village

Property: Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village
Address: No.2 Hongqiao Road, Fenghuang County 416200, China
Location: China > Hunan > Fenghuang County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 226 Hotels in Fenghuang County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phoenix Jiangtian Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing