We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall a nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This resort is connected to two other higher end Iberostar resorts, The Suites and the Grand. When you check in you are given a wrist band which specifies which areas you are allowed in. If you stay at the Beach, you may only untilize the amenities at the Beach resort (You do have access to the Casino, the Spa and the Dance club at the Suites). The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the pool is large and the beach is well taken care of. It is nearly impossible to get a chair at the pool unless you go out at 7am and put your things on one.

The food at the buffets are mediocre at best. The number of nights you stay determines how many reservations you get at the Resturants. There are 3 at the Beach. We tried to make our 2 allowed reservations for our stay right away and was told that they all were booked except the Cajon. This was the worst food I have ever eaten. I ordered scallops and they were rubbery and the mushroom side dish tasted of Aluminum can. Then to top it off, this resturant which was supposedly booked, had 24 empty tables at the end of service??? We did manage to get a reservation at the Japanese Steak house which was very good and highly recomended.

The drinks at the bars were tasty but watered down and the alcohol content was close to nothing. Stick with beer (another note: They claim they serve Red Stripe but the beer tastes nothing ike Red Stripe)

The room: Our room was nice with a view of the pool and Sea. The down side was it reaked of Cat Urine. If you are a Lady, bring your own hair drier as the one in the room leaves alot to be desired.

Overall the trip was great because of the fact that we were in the Carribean, not because we were at this particular resort. The staff was very nice and accomidating and the Spa was killer. Maybe the more expensive resorts would offer a better experience i.e the Suites or the Grand although, I'm not sue I want to find out. For this kind of money, I expected more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefly222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    1,381
    515
    198
    136
See reviews for
1,496
1,523
110
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We haven't travelled much and were nervous going to Jamaica .. for fear of dissapointment.. cuz yu spend all that money and wanna make sure that yu get the most for yur dollar ... well.. we all feel that this specific hotel was top notch ... we arrived in jamaica about 530 pm and were thru customs and all the lineups and in our hotel by 7 pm .. as the resort is only about 15 mins away.. so huge bonus after being on the plane for 5 1/2 hrs ... the staff at this resort were phenominal .. very friendly and polite and eager to get people having fun .. the entertainment staff specifically .. MJ, Stretch, Kem Styles, Jubba, Bubbles, and all the gang ... they were the highlight of the day .. always entertaining ...
The food was also so commendable .. so much variety and dif foods but always a tasty plate and never left the buffet hungry ...the ala cartes were good as well ...our fav was the jambalaya..
the rooms were amazingly set up and very clean and well kept .. the grounds were also picture perfect and well groomed ..
this resort had actiivities going on all day so for those who cant sit still... there is always something to do ...
the resort also had a night disco which was very cool with the latest hip music to dance to ...
just a lil off the resort is a lil craft market where the locals come and set up to sell their products... these were some of the nicest and sweetest people ive ever met... i think i bought from each and every one of them .. not cuz they pressured me but cuz they were so sweet ...
jamaica is an unreal place to go ... we had a great time .. many family memories ... and are actually considering going back in two months with friends we met there that are also returning ...to this same resort ... which says alot ...
Iberostar rose hall beach .... 5 Stars ... and a huge THUMBS UP !!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My first time to Jamaica and this resort did not disappoint. All was well from check-in to the sad farewell. Room nice,clean and secure. Service at bars, beach and restaurants was good. All staff were friendly. The beach is long and narrow. No need to fight for a lounge chair at pool or beach. I hate those who play the towel game. The water was fine. Seaweed is cleaned up early in the morning. The wines both red and white are weak but what does it really matter? There is always someting wonderful to be had at every restaurant and buffett. The evenings are very quiet in terms of things to do. No dancing and only quiet music in the main bar. All you really need is close at hand at this resort. So enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billye66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My son and I stayed at the iberostar Feb 2-9. The weather was great except for one day. I have been all over Mexico and Cuba and Jamaica was by far the best place I've been to. No Time Share pushers, very polite and laid back people. If you said no thanks to them they wouldn't bother you.
The hotel was very nice, service was very efficient, check in - out was a piece of cake.
The al a carte restaurants were okay. Buffet was great with lots of flavor and choices. If you leave hungry you are way to picky.
My son Just turning 18 had a blast. The entertaining group remembered his name day after day and had him doing all kinds of things to keep him busy. (He'll never forget the Tequila/Rum Volleyball)
We snorkeled in front of the hotel saw lobster, tropical fish of all sorts. Fed them bananas out of our hand. It is a little murky but lots of fun. We took the snorkel trip to the reef, it is much bluer and beautiful. We had our own gear, but they seem to have an abundance at the dive shop.
The mini fridge was stocked every second day with beer, pop, water. The room was very nice, for the amount we were in it. Lots of choice for tv shows at night/morning getting ready. The whole hotel was very clean and expansive. We were told we had a garden view room, which also had a great view of the ocean.
I always said I wouldn't go to the same place twice but I absolutely Loved Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirtidawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

After having been to Punta Cana last year, we deicided to visit another country this year. We made the right decision. The value at the Rose Hall Beach was just what we wanted. Our stay was for four days so we were not interested in any side trips although we will visit Dunn's River Falls the next time. This time we just wanted sun, fun and leisure. This is exactly what we got!, The food was typical "all-inclusive" type food and was for the most part good. I would say the best meals were at the steakhouse and the Japanese restaurants. The drinks were excellent and were not watered down. We chose the Rose Hall Beach because of the proximity to the airport and for the value We were not disappointed and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

i had read almost all the reviews of this hotel and am pretty excited to write my own after visiting this property.Overall,the Iberostar Rose Hall beach is a awesome family resort.Every day we had some activity or the other to do.The biggest advantage of this hotel is that it is 15-20 minutes from the airport.Also it is midway between Negril and Ocho Rios.

First impression when I entered the hotel was that it is not exactly a five star.The corridors and room doesnt look like they have been constructed by a good company.I mean there are patches in the wall etc.But one fact remains that everything is clean and maintained well.We had an awesome ocean and pool view room.Only problem was that it had 2 queen size beds when we wanted king.Apparently the other available king bedrooms didnt have a good view.We didnt mind all these factors as we didnt plan to spend the 5 day holiday in a room:)

The second thing we noticed that the service in the hotel is exceptionally good.Whether you lounge around on the beach,pool,restaurants or bars,there is always a server to make sure you are well taken care of.These are the small things that make a hotel a REAL five star.Not to mention everyone working at the hotel is very friendly and jovial(the real jamaican experience!).

The food at the buffet is awesome!We just tried the japanese restaurant once which was ok..but preferred to stick to buffet all other days.There is only so much you can eat and we had other things to do like : hang out at the disco bar in rose hall suits which opens at 11pm.The DJ is superb and its the perfect place to hang out after a long day in the waters.
The smoke bar has some good cigars,the jammin bar has good music,the lobby bar has a great bartender who shakes up cocktails as in the movies:).We also tried out free kayaking and snorkelling at the beach.

The swim up bar is I guess the most popular hang out for everyone on a sunny afternoon.One can pretty much have every drink on the menu and still not get drunk(they put so much ice in the drinks!!).Every afternoon there is a event organiser near the pool with loud music and some funny competitions.We prefer to hang out at the beach instead which also had bar service.

The beach as such doesnt have rough or high waves.It was pretty calm throughout the day.There is a lot of seaweed in the sea but that's not in anyone's hands.

The nightly entertainment at their theatre was a good time pass.The only one we liked was the "Jamaican Roots" dance which plays on thursdays.The other shows are silly but you can notice that all the dancers are extremely talented!Its a good place to have after dinner drinks.We always ended the day in the lobby after for pre-sleep drinks:)

There are very few downsides to this hotel which you can easily overlook to have a blast!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shivaniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Excellent service, amazing views, really nice staff. totally recommend...

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rahulsatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
25.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,918 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Property: Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Visit Us Inc., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing