We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Iberostar Beach - yeh man!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent our Christmas holiday from 12/21-12/28. This was our second stay here this year [never repeated anywhere else in 35 years Caribbean] Our adult children had foolishly declined coming with us. I felt guilty only for a few hours, until Santa Clause para-sailed by the beach.
We sent them photos of us in front of the Christmas tree, with Santa, and by the live Nativity scene. Instead of hosting dinner for 30 guests on Christmas, we were treated royally at the Gala buffet which was better than some we've attended on cruise ships. We did not regret leaving home for the holiday at all!

We were greeted at the front desk with frozen drinks and efficiently checked in at 2:30. No problem making reservation for Jambalaya and the staff reminded us to book a seating for Christmas eve.

We were not able to get a beachfront suite as in February. Our room was on the first floor with a pool/beach view & convenient to everything. Our room was immaculate, air conditioner cold, beds firm but got good nite's sleep and the maid left cute towel decorations. There were many children & families due to the holiday. Beach was clean, chairs were plentiful poolside even after lunch. Seemed like there was better beverage service by the beach and pool this stay. We mostly have iced tea or coffee - no problem. It was Christmas and we tipped, but it wasn't expected.

The staff outdid themselves with attention to everyone,The dining room helpers are very professional. Smiley, Lava Child and Bootie girl remembered us from February. This was one of the reasons for our return. They worked tirelessly from 9:00am by the pool, on the beach, and organizing entertainment in then theatre at night. Most of these Star friends were not able to be with their own families or children and didn't complain.

Another reason we returned is the variety of the buffets. My husband has dietary issues, and although tempted by the pasta bar & morning donuts, there are hundreds of vegetables, fruits, meats, fish & salads to choose from.

The only reason for not giving 5 stars is to not mislead potential guests looking for a "Ritz or Half-Moon" resort. We love Rose hall Beach and are thinking about returning next vacation. [hopefully our family will join us!]

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DebG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you and your husband for returning for another wonderful vacation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas Holiday with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the especial Christmas activities, like Santa beach arrival and the live nativity, among others. We do our utmost each day to ensure our valued guests are enjoying their vacation with us and we are grateful you took the time to share your experience; thank you! We will commend our dedicated staff, especially those mentioned by name, for the exceptional job they have done. We are happy to hear that you are planning on returning again and we hope your children will join in on your next visit. Thanks to you again and we look forward to welcome you very soon. Happy New Year!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,143 - 2,149 of 4,493 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wonderful vacation. Hotel staff so welcoming. Food above average. Jerk Chicken makes your mouth water and chocolate truffles to die for!! Housekeeping staff very efficient and everyone is always singing - wonderful. Would recommend this hotel anytime and we are seasoned travellers. Sun, sand, lots of food and drink. Entertainment staff definitely try to include everyone in the activities & make sure you are having a good time. Easy Breezey & Tootsie Roll -great entertainers guys!! Thanks Iberostar Rose Hall Beach!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank NWhite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. Our gratitude is also express to you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thankful and happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. Thank you for your recommendation, it is highly appreciated. We hope you will be back to enjoy more of the excellent services offered by our efficient staff, including the most enjoyed buffets and restaurants. We will applaud Easy Breezey, Tootsie Roll, housekeeping staffs and the rest of the team for the excellent services offered. Thanks to you and Happy New Year!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Rose Hall Beach is booking fast and can't wait to book our annual girls getaway. We have never been disappointed on our many stays at Rose Hall Beach! The staff there makes it so much more enjoyable and I'm wondering if some of the same staff members are still at the resort. Is Kevin and Christopher from the bar staff still there?? How about Lava Child? Hope to hear back soon....can't wait to come visit again soon. Kim :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimbo1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort would like to thank you for continually choosing our hotel. We are happy to hear that you will be returning and we look forward to welcome you again. Regrettably Christopher is no longer with us however I am pleased to confirm that Kevin and Lava Child are still part of our team. Thanks to you once more, we can’t wait to welcome you once more! Happy New Year!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The good, the bad and the ugly…based on our experience:

POOL/BEACH: Both were great – clean and enjoyable. Never a problem getting loungers at the beach or pool no matter what time you showed up. Lots of shade for those who want it.

RESTAURANTS/FOOD: Never had dinner at the buffet so can’t comment but did enjoy breakfast there every morning. The singing chef at the omelet station was very entertaining. Lunch at Tony’s on the beach was really good – outdoor dining and good selection (love the nachos and homemade salsa!). Enjoyed dinners at the a la cartes with the exception of one experience at the Japanese (guest issue not food/service issue). Our favourite was the Cajun which we visited 3 times – the food was great as was the service. Florelle greeted us each time - she was such a delight and makes everyone feel special. She is just so sweet and genuine - a real gem. Each time we had a different waiter/waitress (Adrian, Yanique, Natalie) and each time we had exceptional service that kept bringing us back. The only negative dining experience we had was at the Japanese and it was a guest issue not a food/service issue. When that happened, Sergio was very quick to help us so that we could still enjoy our evening. We regularly saw Sergio and Donville pop up at the various dining areas making sure everyone was taken care of and all was running smoothly and their hard work shows. Little did guests know that sometimes the GM of the property was right in the middle of things - i.e. we saw him quietly holding the door and greeting guests at the Cajun Restaurant one night.

BARS: The bartenders are great at creating concoctions and most even have their own “signature drink” (try The Sedric). We looked forward to seeing Sedric and Rayon at the pool bar every day. Sedric greeted us by name and made us feel like old friends. He takes real pride in his job and in making sure the guests are looked after. Rayon kept everyone entertained. I just couldn't believe all of the bees behind the bar (drawn by the sweet drink mix - a hazardous work environment for these guys but they just wave it off and keep smiling without a single complaint. You never have to wait for drinks – lots of staff and very attentive; even servers walking around the pool and the beach were always checking in on guests. At night, the lobby bar is really good – often with live entertainment and again great service. Ricardo the bartender is very engaging and good at what he does (just call him "President") and if you found Delbert or Julius behind the bar, you were pretty lucky too. They were all good at entertaining their guests while making drinks.

ROOMS: We were upgraded to an oceanfront junior suite on the 4th floor. It was great - lots of space, quiet, AC worked well, water always hot & good water pressure, and an awesome view.

ENTERTAINMENT: Raphael and his Entertainment Staff were always around interacting with guests but not in an annoying way. Very engaging and genuine. Great day time show poolside and nightly shows were very well done. Tutsirol and Easy Breezy were so much fun - smiling, laughing, having fun as they walked around talking to guests making them feel like friends and Maria (Lava Child) kept busy on the mic drawing participants for the activities.

STAFF/SERVICE: The only place we found the staff weren’t as friendly or helpful, surprisingly, was the front desk. For the most part, the ladies at the desk didn’t smile and always gave rehearsed answers to questions. Other than that, I can’t say enough about the amazing staff at this resort. We have travelled a lot and the level of service at this resort is top notch.

GENERAL: This is a great resort with excellent food, facilities, and service as you can tell from my comments above. From my viewpoint, the GM, Luis, leads a well run establishment that truly puts the guest experience first. My only complaint…it is a little too “family friendly” – I have 2 specific examples: (1) We specifically made the latest dinner reservations we could thinking most young kids would be in bed by then but had an experience at the Japanese Restaurant at the 8:30 seating where a family of 10 with 4 kids under the age of 10 proceeded to stand on their stools and use the chopsticks to play drums on the water glasses. When we discreetly asked Sergio if we could get into the Cajun instead, he was very quick to accommodate us and even personally escorted us over and found us a table (exceptional service!). We did find there that there was on family with a child under 2 who was sitting in his stroller screaming at one point, but they were not beside us so we were able to block it out. (2) We were looking forward to the weekly Beach Party and dance, however, it was completely catered to kids…even at 10:30PM, the “dance floor” was all kids being led in a group dance. Several adults around us were complaining as they had all hoped for some adult dance time on the beach. We gave up and went to the lobby bar. These are not "knocks" against the resort...but if you are travelling as a couple looking for an adult vacation and prefer not to be knee deep in kids, this may not be the place for you. I visited this resort in early November last year and there were few kids, so maybe it depends on the time you go...just be aware that you could find yourself surrounded by kids.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MVS_TORONTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for choosing our resort. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience; it is highly appreciated. We are overjoyed to hear that everyone assisted you so well and we will pass on commendations to all for the exceptional job they have done. Kindly accept our humble apologies for any inconvenience you experience with the kids in the restaurant, we are grateful Sergio assisted efficiently. Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Resort is committed to provide excellent services thereby ensuring our guests are happy, hence we are grateful you were able to have a wonderful time. Thanks to you again for sharing your review and our apologies are also extended for any inconvenience you encountered with the amount of children in the Hotel. Please note that we will host more children during Christmas time, Spring Break and summer time; so for the next visit you could maybe try another time of the year in order to find the atmosphere desired. Happy New Year to you and your family and we wish you all the best!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have been to Jamaica several times but never stayed in Montego Bay....... I had the best room with an ocean view ...... I can't wait to go back !!! I tried most of the restaurants and they were all really good ..... The infinity pool is everything . You can't beat this hotel at this price point . The lobby bar is great too .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnt49209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel. We are delighted that your time spent with us was wonderful and we thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you will be coming back, we look forward to welcome you again. Happy New Year!


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach from April 15th through April 19th. It was my second stay at this hotel and I was provided with a bottle of Appleton Rum as a returning Iberostar guest.
When I made the reservation, I mentioned that this trip was for a friend's birthday and we were provided with a mini cake in our room upon arrival. This gesture was very courteous and it was nice of the staff to provide. The hotel room was nice and the house keeping staff did a great job cleaning the room and providing us with towels and bottled water. The infinity pools are great and the beach was nice. One of my favorite bartenders and waitresses at the hotel pool bar is Cordelia. We had met her during our first stay in October 2010 and it was wonderful to see her again in April 2013. She and the rest of the hotel pool bar staff were very attentive and provided great customer service. Regarding food, the breakfast buffet was fine, but I wasn't fond of the buffet selections for lunch. The restaurants for dinner were good and the steakhouse restaurant was better than the others. The coffee provided at the hotel was blue mountain coffee and it was delicious. I ended up buying bags of blue mountain coffee as gifts for family members back home. Upon request, we were provided a tour of the other sister hotels: Iberostar Rose Hall Suites and Iberostar Rose Hall Grand. We plan to go back again and we'll probably stay at Rose Hall Suites or the Grand to try out the other restaurants and amenities provided at those sister hotels. Overall we had a great experience and I enjoy staying at Iberostar hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnonKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort wishes to express our gratitude to you for choosing our hotel. We also thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful that the great customer service offered by our valued staff was enjoyed and you had a memorable vacation. We are honored that you returned and we hope you will continue to visit Iberostar Resorts. We will commend Cordelia and the rest of our wonderful staff for the excellent job they have done. Thanks to you once more and all the best for the New Year.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 sons, 24, 22 and 18, we typically do not repeat vacation destinations, but this is our second visit to Iberostar Beach in Jamaica, both over Christmas. We always look for a place that is all inclusive because of the 3 kids who like to eat and drink; there needs to be some nightlife for the boys; beach and water sports for my wife and I; the weather must be predictable; and it can't be over-the-top expensive. iberostar beach was the clear choice. The boys like the nightclub, and the bars, including the typical pool bar. The weather is great, and the place is reasonably priced. The food is plentiful and for all inclusive really not bad. eggs, omletes and fresh juices each morning, lunches have nice variety and dinners are great. The buffet is the default location but the beach restaurant is a nice venue with less but similar buffet selections. There are 3 restaurants you can make reservations for when you arrive (you need to wait in line between certain hours and they fill up) The best restaurant, to our surprise was Jambalaya. It was really good. I had the ribeye which was the best meal I had I.n Jamaica and as good a steak as I have eaten outside a major US steakhouse.( maybe a little exaggeration but not much). Natalee was our server and she was terrific as well. Skipped the Japanese restaurant this time bc it is the typical crappy Benihana hibachi fare. The steakhouse was ok, steaks are pan fried and just ok but nice to get away from the buffet. We loved the service. EVERYONE tripped over themselves to take care of you. The front desk was upbeat and helpful, the servers in the restaurants were attentive and pleasant, the bartenders were GREAT. On service we made a point of tipping everyone. Bartenders a few bucks, $5 to 10 at dinner, etc. We spent maybe 100 in types which paid huge dividends on service since well appreciated. There is no pressure to tip, no cups on cocktail waitress try's or bartenders but it is very much appreciated. The beach was perfect, plenty of chairs and very little early morning "cruise ship--put your towels down early gaming" to reserve, which I hate. We took a hobo out every morning. Just sign in and go. Was great entertainment watching the folks who say "sure we can sail" and end up in the rocks or get beached in the swimming areas. " It's Jamaica man" My wife ventured down the beach to the shack village just past the property and went shopping. Very safe. They are all stoned and sell everything even some Gonja which will send you to a Jamaican prison. But the jewelry was nice. Now for BEACH VS SUITES VS GRANDE. 3 property sit adjacent on beach. Grande is first, most expensive and you can use any of the facilities or restaurants of the other 2. 2 people per room and looks very nice. But not for my family. Suites is nice if you have young kids who can't stay in separate room alone. Rooms are bigger pools have more slides and things for kids but also $2,000 more for family of 5. Can use beach as well but didn't see many suite people (different color bracelets). Beach is least expensive, but also seemed most none family action. Lots of 20s and late teens, competitive volley ball on beach all day. Our rooms were both at the end of the building, facing the ocean, which was terrific and convenient but there really isn't a bad room since the property is not large by any standard. Rooms were nice, if not a little small, but what do you need on vacation? Beds were comfortable, baths tiled nicely. Also, on a positive note, beach is the only property of the 3 that has lots of trees on the beach so lots of shade. The other properties rely on shade huts which we niticed did have beach chair reserving in the morning. Wi-if in rooms now, just started- and although you have to pay, it was a nice upgrade from last visit. I really can't think of any reason why I would pay more with my family. It is really the perfect place...but certainly, if it was just my wife and I, we would definitely go to Grande over beach or suites, but again, if it was just the two of us, this is not where we would go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The management and staff of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. The time taken to share your experience is also highly appreciated therefore our gratitude is extended once more. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the amenities and exceptional services that we offer. We are thankful that you felt taken care of by our staff in order to ensure that your time spent with us was enjoyed to the fullest. Our staff is very dedicated and we are honored to have them working with us; we will applaud them for the excellent team work performed. We do not recommend to visit the shack to the side of the hotel as it is not part of the property of Iberostar Rose Hall Beach & Spa Resort. We hope we will have the privilege to welcome you and your family again as it was our pleasure to serve you. Thanks to you again and Happy New Year to you and your family.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,275 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $248 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing