We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff is overall great but I have been to so many other great places that this place just didn't cut it for me. We spent our first week at the Hilton Rose Hall and I guess we were spoiled there with the amazing service and beautiful scenery. The Iberostar entertainment team lit the place up for a couple of hours in the afternoon at the pool with typical drinking games and on the beach in the mornings for dance classes as well as in the evenings before the 'main shows' but other than that the night time entertainment was boring. They had the same singers for every show at night. The female singer was fantastic but the male singers did not connect with the audience. Good dancers. The 3 ala carte restaurants were great. Japanese was amazing food and fun, the Louisiana was great and the Steakhouse was average. The pool bar was okay. It looks a bit run down. The pool chairs were old and saggy, the beach was rocky. Some of the front desk staff were not overly friendly. There were some servers that stood out like Omar and Shawna in the buffet for breakfast and lunch. I would not go back here or recommend this place to friends. More of a young, party resort not really a kid friendly place. Their kids club was under renovation and the girls were still operating the kids club out of a hotel room but they were not at all interested in looking after the kids, that was very obvious. Nice girls though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanita71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your opinion of your stay on “Trip Advisor” for us and the online community as well as choosing “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” as the destination for your vacation. In response to the comment where you’ve stated in regards to the nightly show, 4 nights a week our “Iberostar Dancers” perform and all the other nights are either a play, crowd participation (contests like Mr. & Mrs. Iberostar) or a concert by the “Reggae Band”. I will be sure to forward you suggestions and concerns such as the pool chairs and kid’s club to the appropriate department so that improvements may be made to improve the quality of our service.

We are thrilled that you did take advantage and make reservations at our a-la-carte restaurants and enjoyed your meal.Omar and Shawna as well as their managers will receive a copy of your comments so that they know their hard work was noticed and appreciated. Once again I would like to thank you for sharing you comments and suggestions with us; we hope for the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again here at “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach”,

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,723 - 2,729 of 4,470 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Leaving on November 29, 2012 (for 1 week) to go to this resort... my daughter will be getting married next year so a girlfriend and I will be checking this resort out as she plans on getting married somewhere in Jamaica... Let you know my reviews after my trip... but so far everything is sounding good.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” as the destination for your vacation as we know that you have a wide variety of choices. I would like to ensure you in advance that you will have a wonderful vacation with us and that you will have all positives comments to give to your daughter in regards to our resort. We look forward to offering your our hospitality and hope that the “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” will be perfect place for your daughters wedding. See you soon,

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After planning a trip to another resort, a last minute deal came up on this one so we decided to give it a try (and didn’t regret it!) Iberostar Rose Hall Beach was a great resort with amazing staff and service.

Some of the highlights:

-Service was the best I’ve ever had at any resort (including the Hilton where I stayed last year) – there were an abundance of servers always around to bring drinks/coffee and clean up plates in the dining room. By the pool and beach they were constantly walking around taking drink orders – would even walk along the beach and ask people who were wading in the water if they wanted a drink – amazing service!

-Food selection and taste was really good – of course it gets old after a week (I think any AI buffet would), but I can’t imagine a greater selection of food at the buffet – soooooo many different choices at each meal you could easily go a whole week without ever having the same thing twice

-Sit down restaurants were good – Japanese was a great experience (they cook right in front of you) and Cajun and Steak were amazing as well (great steak dinners!)

-Staff was very friendly and helpful – warm and welcoming from the moment we got there

-Rooms were nice – always cleaned promptly and thoroughly and nice bathrooms

-Grounds were kept clean

-Lobby was large and lobby bar offered freshly made popcorn every afternoon (a nice treat!)

-Bar service was great – drinks were not watered down and cappuccino available at the lobby bar

-Premium alcohol included

-In room fridge restocked daily with water, beer, pop (you can make requests)

-Room safe was included (and a good size)

-Beach was a nice walking distance (sand was nicest in front of Beach resort, rocky further down)

-Never felt pressured to tip

-Well-equipped fitness centre

-Beach BBQ lunch, as well as beach party one night were nice, as was nightly entertainment/ singers/musicians in lobby

-Lots of areas to spend time in the evening (sports lounge, cigar lounge, large lobby, etc.)

-Tons of chairs to choose from at the pool and beach, also little huts on the beach (never a problem finding either and they do not allow the 'towel game')


Some minor concerns:

-Nightly entertainment main show was not the greatest – only went to 2 or 3 shows and they left a lot to be desired – the staff were definitely trying, but the shows were often random songs/acts that didn’t fit with anything else and were not entertaining

-Since it is a Spanish chain, sometimes I felt that it had more of a Spanish feel to it than a Jamaican feel


Overall, the staff, service and food selection made this a great resort that I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone. Staff that stood out were Bevon (dining room trainee), Megatron (entertainment crew), Gregory (lobby bartender who gave us a great orientation when we arrived), Sergio (new manager who was constantly on the prowl making sure everything was taken care of) and all staff at the lobby bar (provided us with drinks and popcorn daily).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DreamingMoBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest.

First I would like to thank you for choosing the “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” as the destination for your vacation and are thrilled that you were not disappointed with your decision. Your kind comments towards the aforementioned staff, Megatron, Gregory, Sergio and Trainee Bevon will receive a copy of your review so that know that their service played a special role in making your vacation an enjoyable one. The fact that you’ve stated that you would recommend our resort to other fills us with pride and strengthens our determination to continue to provide service that is in tune with the “Iberostar” standards.

As for the concerns that you’ve noted, they will be forwarded to the appropriate department so that any improvements that we can make to improve customer service and satisfaction will be taken under advisement by the Managers.

We look forward to seeing you again here at “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” to offer you the hospitality and service that you’ve come to expect from us,

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been to jamaica 5 of the last 6 years at good resorts but Rose hall was by far the best! The food was great at the buffet and even better at the specialty restraurants. The activity crew at the pool were super. All of the staff at the entire resort wanted to make you stay great. Dollar for dollar the best resort in Jamaica. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind comments about your experience with us at the “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” in your review posted on “Trip Advisor”. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services provided by the staff. I will be sure to forward you comments to the entertainment department so that they know that they were a special part of making you vacation enjoyable. We look forward to having you as a guest again where the staff and services that you’ve come to expect from us will be waiting!

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I only stayed one night, so I don't know it would be like for a full week. The Iberostar hotel is part of 3 different Iberostar hotels all beside each other in the same complex. The Grand is the top end and allows you access to all three, the suites is in the middle and family oriented and then you have the plain Iberostar at the low end. I stayed at the low end and the hotel is about 3.5 at the low end for rooms. However, the property feels like a 4 star and the beach and morning view was a 5 star. Because you can walk the properties, the beach is fairly long for an early morning walk and you can watch the glorious sunrise. Wait until breakfast is ready and eat some delicious breakfast. The pool is very beautiful and drinks flow naturally. All in all, you won't be disappointed at Iberostar if you choose the right hotel for you--Grand for 4 star and up, Suites for family and The plain for good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and the online community your opinion of your experience of your stay with us at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach as some future guests searching for their next vacation destination may take your review under advisement.

We are glad that you enjoyed some of the natural amenities such as the beach and the sunrise as well as the hotel’s selection of food, drinks and infinity pool and that you stated that you think the “Rose Hall Beach” or “The plain” as you referred to it as is a good value. We look forward to having you as a guest in any of the many “Iberostar” resorts again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I will be returning to the IBRHB in Feb 2013, however, this time we will be bringing our two teenage daughters, my parents and my sister and two young boys for a weeks stay. A nice family getaway. We recommended this to my parents and sister since my husband and i had an amazing time and the resort food, grounds, beach and pool were first rate. the only downfall of this resort is the internet access. Does the IBRHB have plans to upgrade the internet service to include resort wide (it's really not that big) wireless for a reasonable weekly charge? we have been to Beaches and Palace resorts where the access was wireless for a small fee or even free in some cases. I'm looking forward to our return, i just hope i don't regret it by having to listen to my teenage daughters whine about the internet or lack there of on their devices or worse, rack up a cell phone bill due to text messages!

thank you Iberostar... can't wait to see you in Feb!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank sunseekerinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing to return to the “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” for your vacation this time as repeat guests.

In response to the question that you posed about the internet; currently there aren’t plans to modify the internet access that we presently have that as you know is available in the lobby area. I will send your comments to the appropriate departments so that they are aware of your concerns. We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am 28 year old woman and I went with my best friend (also 28) we went to have a girls 4 day away fun trip and were disapointed. The resort had a lot of couples and older people (late 40's +)

If you want to have fun with your girl friends this is not the place to go.

It's very beautiful, clean and has friendly staff just nothing for young people to do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Trisha985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing “Iberostar Rose Hall Beach” and for sharing your opinion of your stay with us and the online community. As for as the on compound entertainment such as the daytime activities (ping pong, beach soccer, beach volley ball, tennis for beginners and advanced, patois class, step class darts etc.) and a different 9:30 pm show every night and the complimentary shuttle that takes guest from the resort to Margarita ville (Hip Strip) every night at 11:00 pm and returns at 2:00 am we try to keep guests’ of all ages and genders entertained.

Your kind comments towards the staff are very much appreciated as they do work hard to keep in step with “Iberostar standards”. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us,

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,933 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel

Address: Rose Hall Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $250 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new 5-star- hotel is located in beautiful Montego Bay, Jamaica. Directly on the beach. Elegant colonial design. Water sports galore. Scuba diving. 3 specialty restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Montego Bay
Montego Bay Iberostar
Iberostar Rose Hall Jamaica
Iberostar Jamaica
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing