We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Experience in Jamaica”

Rose Hall Great House
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Luminous Lagoon and Rose Hall Haunted Night Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The greatest of Jamaican great houses, the Rose Hall Great House has a story with all the elements of an engaging novel. Built in 1770 by John Palmer and his wife, it eventually became the residence of their grandnephew, John Rose Palmer. In 1820, Palmer married Annee, a beautiful but feisty English girl. Little did John know that his young wife possessed “black magic” powers that would eventually lead to his demise. During her reign as mistress of the plantation, Annee did away with two more husbands and countless lovers. “The White Witch of Rose Hall” has fascinated generations, and even today, there are those who claim to see Annee passing through the Great House. A candle-lit evening tour of the Rose Hall Great House is a must for visitors to Montego Bay. Your guided exploration of the former home of Jamaica’s White Witch, Annee Palmer, includes captivating and chilling stories of love, murder and mystery skillfully told by knowledgeable guides. You’re sure to feel goose bumps as these eerie tales come to life in this grand estate, where ghost sightings have been reported over the years. Tours also give historic insight into this grandest of Jamaican great houses, now beautifully restored with 18th-century decor and antiques. To conclude this fascinating adventure, you can visit the dungeon, now transformed into a tavern called Annee’s Pub. Many visitors find that the famous rum cocktail, known as “Witches Brew” helps banish the spirits of ghosts or black magic they sense still lingering in the mansion.
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience in Jamaica”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friend and I had the good fortune to visit Jamaica to attend a wedding.. We stayed in Falmouth...One of our trips was the Rose Hall Great House it was very interesting and the lady who was dressed as a maid gave a good account of the history of the house..

I look forward to visiting Jamaica again before I leave this earth.. Our visit was in June 2005

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    647
    222
    38
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely house, if you like ghost trains etc you will love this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I personally do not like haunted house/ghost trains etc. I don't like to have things jumping out at me but if you do this would be an awesome experience. The house I beautiful, the guides are very good at their job, not for everyone but could be entertaining

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank littleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty neat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have done limited reading about plantations but it isn't hard to see that atmosphere when visiting the site. The house is very well restored and quite beautiful in a spooky way. You can imagine what it might have been at the time, and the culture that existed then. Worth checking out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janey_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“interesting walk through time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

At one point, this plantation had 2000 slaves. Now it's stocked with antiquities and stories and still inhabited by the same owners who bought it 40 years ago. Great bar area filled with memorabilia.

Very interested stop for one hour

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DShafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“White Witch. The night tour......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We left the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort at exactly 6:15 as advertised. We arrived in approximately 8 minutes (jamaica time. :) ). It was already dark. Our party of eight was soon joined by a additional party of four. We opted to have the photo taken in front of the great house which along with turning in our prepaid tour voucher caused some confusion and 15 -25 minute delay in starting the tour. By the time we all had turned in our voucher a additional eight folks had arrived and thrown in with our tour.... The group of twenty proved way too big to enjoy the tour and to see and ask everything in the house. Even though the tour guide carried on like a trooper, the experience was really diminished by not breaking the groups into two. The tour turned from being intimate and personal into hurried and rushed. The tour guide sped through the prepared text and surprises, as the group of twenty were herded thru and unable to view the rooms as they were presented. Nice house and interesting history........ Might be best in daylight and certainly with smaller group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeweyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing