We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Ghost Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hall Great House

Rose Hall Great House
Book In Advance
$79*
and up
Jamaica Super Saver: Montego Bay and Rose Hall Tour plus Luminous Lagoon Night...
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This former English-style sugar plantation is now open to the public.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Ghost Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love ghost tours, and this is probably one of the best ghost tours I have been on. The plantation has been beautifully restored. The guides were great, and the characters dressed in period costume were effectively spooky without being cheesy. Put this on your list of things that you "must do" in Jamaica.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stargazer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    547
    185
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cool and Quirky Night Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Take the night tour to experience the full story of the house and get an occasional fright. It's all good fun and the staff does an excellent job. The restoration of the house is amazing and it is a true bit of Jamacian history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SAHDenver-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
438 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The visit at Rose Hall is worth every single moment and every single penny! Of course the house is not a English Heritage one but is very interesting to see, the grounds are beautiful, the view (if you forget about the highway!) is great. Our guide was very helpful and skilled and lovely and we did have a great day out. Looking at the house and the grounds and listening at the history you also get a very good insight at what slavery was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelaround59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“When sugar was king.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rose Hall great house is a few miles east of Montego Bay. It was built out of the great wealth amassed out of the labour of the slaves who were the ancestors of most of the Jamaican people. The owners of the estates were fabulously rich and built mansions all over the island and also back in their homeland, England. Jamaica was one of the richest outposts of the mighty British Empire. Rose Hall has a dark legend of witchcraft and Annie Palmer, the mistress of the house, is said to have killed several husbands and is believed to still haunt the house. Take a trip to the great house. Perhaps Annie herself may greet you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingman1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“crazy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A very cool story of the area that all the locals say is true! The feeling is pretty eery in the house but I can't say I saw anything crazy. The house is lovely but I think I enjoyed hearing the story more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing