We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bewitched Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Hall Great House

Rose Hall Great House
Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
876-953-2323
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$110*
and up
Luminous Lagoon and Rose Hall Haunted Night Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former English-style sugar plantation is now open to the public.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bewitched Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We enjoyed the Bewitched Tour at the Rose Hall Great House. Our tour guide was alot of fun while giving us the history of the property. I did feel we were rushed through and as the group was large we did not all fit in each room so it was difficult to see everything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rgodfrey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    537
    181
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice half day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Took the shopping bus to the Rose Hall shopping centre from our hotel (Iberostar Suites). The shopping centre is directly in front of Rose Hall. Walked the long (very long in the heat) driveway past Mango trees and the golf course. The house looks very imposing on top of the hill. The tour was great, reasonably priced and there were only eight people taking the tour (it was mid afternoon). The history of the place was fascinating and the true tale of Annie Parker very interesting. Kids thought is was great although those that don't like hearing about the grisly demise of countless people should perhaps avoid! Our guide was excellent and finished the tour with a song at the grave of Annie herself. Would definitely recommend this as a short trip out, if you can try and make it when it is quiet all the better, best to avoid if the cruise ships are in town!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerbear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

You need to keep a sense of humor when you're traveling and this is one of those places. I was here in May for a large evening event. The grounds are lovely at night; the house is just a little spooky by itself. We had docents all over to answer questions while we wandered through, so I didn't see anyone jumping out scaring folks. But, if you like to tour interesting old homes and hear stories (maybe the truth is stretched a bit??) of the owners and inhabitants, you'll enjoy this. I'd recommend going at night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deapackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband remembered visiting it when we was a child so on our honeymoon (may 2012) I thought it would be great to visit again as I've never been prior. Our tour guide was so wonderful and informative and the tour itself lent great history and interesting photos. I wasn't aware there was an option for a night tour and would be interested in seeing that now that we've seen it in the day time!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank insertclevername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would highly recommend the night trip of the Rose Hall Great House. Our guide was very good, and the actors inside the Hall gave us a few frights. We learned about the sad and violent history of the house regarding the treatment of the Slaves and The White Witch who resided there. A must see!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing