We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Sol Vida travel & tour took us here”

Rose Hall Great House
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Luminous Lagoon and Rose Hall Haunted Night Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The greatest of Jamaican great houses, the Rose Hall Great House has a story with all the elements of an engaging novel. Built in 1770 by John Palmer and his wife, it eventually became the residence of their grandnephew, John Rose Palmer. In 1820, Palmer married Annee, a beautiful but feisty English girl. Little did John know that his young wife possessed “black magic” powers that would eventually lead to his demise. During her reign as mistress of the plantation, Annee did away with two more husbands and countless lovers. “The White Witch of Rose Hall” has fascinated generations, and even today, there are those who claim to see Annee passing through the Great House. A candle-lit evening tour of the Rose Hall Great House is a must for visitors to Montego Bay. Your guided exploration of the former home of Jamaica’s White Witch, Annee Palmer, includes captivating and chilling stories of love, murder and mystery skillfully told by knowledgeable guides. You’re sure to feel goose bumps as these eerie tales come to life in this grand estate, where ghost sightings have been reported over the years. Tours also give historic insight into this grandest of Jamaican great houses, now beautifully restored with 18th-century decor and antiques. To conclude this fascinating adventure, you can visit the dungeon, now transformed into a tavern called Annee’s Pub. Many visitors find that the famous rum cocktail, known as “Witches Brew” helps banish the spirits of ghosts or black magic they sense still lingering in the mansion.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“El Sol Vida travel & tour took us here”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visted the haunted great house at the most perfect time. It was raining and dark. This set the ambiance for a spooky experience. Our tour guide was super as she brought us back in time and we felt as if there was a spirit around us all the time during the tour. We took lots of pictures in the witches bedroom and to our surprise when we left and was reviewing the pictures we saw an image of the witch in a mirror that was in her room which we photographed. We freaked out!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    665
    229
    39
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating site, intriguing history and legends”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of being accompanied by our own tour guide, who offered quite a bit of information about the history of the house, the hardships and horrors of slavery, as well as the legend or history of Annie Palmer (depending on what you believe concerning her), the White Witch, and Johnny Cash's association with the site. Downstairs there is an inviting bar where White Witch cocktails can be imbibed. If you look her up online, there are conflicting reports as to whether an Ann Palmer associated with Rose Hall even existed! Mrs. Palmer's room upstairs features a gorgeous view onto the sea, and at the large palm trees under which she supposedly had her murdered husbands buried. Nonetheless, I found the tour and the house quite fascinating, with all its period furnishings and Mrs. Palmer's eerie looking grave site, where the tour ended with a "The Ballad of Annie Palmer", written by Johnny Cash, and sung by our tour guide. The only thing that was disruptive to the mood was the noise from a dying smoke alarm battery. A grandfather clock (donated by Mr. Cash) was also in obvious need of service. Supposedly, the site is haunted; however, neither my husband nor I experienced anything paranormal. While I wonder what it's like at night, I'm glad we went there during the day, as we would not have been able to get as good a view of the grounds at night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank justmy2cents4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rose Hall Tour”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The young lady who showed us around was very interesting to listen to. The house was incredible. The grounds were beautiful and the view of the ocean was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ask a lot of questions”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The tour in the origional form is average. I think because the average attendee is half drunk, they don't pack a ton of info into the tour... BUT I asked a lot of questions, and it was SO interesting. It was def a highlight on my trip to Jamaica

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CentralPaEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go see this!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The building is beautifully restored. If you are interested in architecture and interior design, go see it! The tour guides are a LITTLE hokey in playing up the white witch angle, but if you ask them about plantation life in the 18th century they can talk about that fairly intelligently. They are refreshingly honest and open in discussing the role of slavery in plantation life. On similar tours in the US, slavery often seems like a dirty secret that is not discussed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing