We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic and interesting tour”

Rose Hall Great House
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Luminous Lagoon and Rose Hall Haunted Night Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The greatest of Jamaican great houses, the Rose Hall Great House has a story with all the elements of an engaging novel. Built in 1770 by John Palmer and his wife, it eventually became the residence of their grandnephew, John Rose Palmer. In 1820, Palmer married Annee, a beautiful but feisty English girl. Little did John know that his young wife possessed “black magic” powers that would eventually lead to his demise. During her reign as mistress of the plantation, Annee did away with two more husbands and countless lovers. “The White Witch of Rose Hall” has fascinated generations, and even today, there are those who claim to see Annee passing through the Great House. A candle-lit evening tour of the Rose Hall Great House is a must for visitors to Montego Bay. Your guided exploration of the former home of Jamaica’s White Witch, Annee Palmer, includes captivating and chilling stories of love, murder and mystery skillfully told by knowledgeable guides. You’re sure to feel goose bumps as these eerie tales come to life in this grand estate, where ghost sightings have been reported over the years. Tours also give historic insight into this grandest of Jamaican great houses, now beautifully restored with 18th-century decor and antiques. To conclude this fascinating adventure, you can visit the dungeon, now transformed into a tavern called Annee’s Pub. Many visitors find that the famous rum cocktail, known as “Witches Brew” helps banish the spirits of ghosts or black magic they sense still lingering in the mansion.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A historic and interesting tour”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We toured to the great house in October 2012.

Our guide met us as soon as we were dropped off. Upon entering the great house, we felt a mix of emotion. The mansion and grounds are very beautiful and historic, with an incredible view of the sea. It is also place where so many horrible things happened in the past. It was very humbling to hear the stories of the 2,000 slaves that once were forced to work there.

Seeing a large bear trap (not used for bears as there are no bears in Jamaica) is just an example of one of the disturbing things you will see here - still a very important piece of history that we feel needs to be shared with people today.

We do not believe in the supernatural, but this place did feel creepy. Walking into Annie's bedroom gave me goosebumps. It also felt uneasy walking onto the balcony where Annie would have stood when she was overlooking her slaves working on the plantation.

The guide told many interesting stories about Annie, the slaves, and her lovers. The tour lasted and hour, and we enjoyed it very much. While we waited for our driver we took some pictures on the property, and had a drink in the tavern downstairs.

Just before we left, my teenage daughter wanted a picture taken beside Annie's grave. As soon as I was about to take the photo, the batteries feel out of the camera onto the ground! We all smiled and thought maybe Annie didn't want her photo taken!

This tour exceeded our expectations. We would highly reccomend this tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum_number1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    676
    231
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Annie's House”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I like history and Annie Palmer's house is full of it. So great that it was restored and the tour was great. Good value for the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love the ghost stories”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restoration under progress is very well done and you feel like you are back in history. The stories about Annie and her husbands and lovers would make a great movie. The furnishings and decor were awesome. The guide very knowledgeable and a good story teller.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Great”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to this place but noone liked it and only stayed an hour. It was filled with way to many jewlery shops. Also prices there are expensive when we could walk across street from resort and get the same things at a better price because you were able to barter with them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We visited this attraction whilst visiting Jamaica and staying ŵin Sandals Montego Bay. The house is approximately a 15 minute drive from Sandals Montego Bay and cost a negotiated 48 dollars for myself and my wife with a taxi driver at the hotel. This was a good deal for us as he actually waited whilst we visited the house. Entrance fees were a modest 20 dollars each giving a total outlay of 88 dollars against a tour company price of 110 dollars. A reasonable saving.

The tour of the house itself lasts about 45 minutes and is carried out with a local guide who is very informative and even sings a johnny cash song at the end (don't worry , it makes sense when you are there). There are ample photo opportunities to take snaps of both inside and outside of the house and the gardens and views are spectacular. The guide was pleasant , easy to understand and certainly knew her stuff.

There is also a nice bar area in the dungeon serving witches brew cocktails and a well stocked souvenir shop.

Overall , a nice and informative way to spend a couple of hours away from your hotel also catch some of the scenery on the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hall Great House also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Rose Hall Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing