We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$582
$511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$988
$445
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$386
$309
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Villas at Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$1,270
$445
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Hall Deluxe(Rose Hall)
$90
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$508
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
$570
$515
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
$271
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveler rating
1,690
354
116
64
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,690
354
116
64
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millhibiscus suiteil giardinoseagrape terraceall inclusive planwest cottagesmeal planfern tree spasea grapebedroom villaprivate poolsunset beachgolf cartcedar barhorseback ridingvilla staffpepper pot
Filter
Updating list...
1,384 - 1,389 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fell in love with Jamaica this trip. We stayed in the villas and were pampered, pampered, pampered by Anthony, Janice and Janet. Anthony aka yeah mon' - made sure we lacked for nothing at all. Janice smh - it needs to be illegal to cook like that. I couldn't stop eating. She even took the time to show me how to make my favorite 'aki and salt fish' and my new favorite 'the run down'. She even took us to the market - the real market. I am officially Jamaican. Janet made sure we departed with clean laundry which was extremely beneficial since I was traveling for an additional week. I'm still glowing!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are happy that you were pampered by our villa team of Anthony, Janice and Janet, we will certainly share your compliments with them. We are also happy that you are now officially Jamaican and look forward to welcoming you back home and creating another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cannot fault this venue in any way the whole experience has been amazing and look forward to visiting this hotel again if we return to Jamaica. Everything is good and their website is a true reflection to the hotel, rooms, beach, restaurant
The pool bar is brilliant as well and so child friendly my kids had a ball on their bikes and playing in the grounds of the hotel

Room Tip: If I went next time request in advance a room on the beach front, it's not as though they are short of a few room on the beach front
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiefy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found our facilities outstanding and that you had an amazing experience with the Half Moon family. Biking around the property is indeed a favourite activity for many of our treasured families, we are happy that the children’s experience was memorable. We look forward to creating another amazing experience in the not so distant future for you and your family.

Sincerely

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We THOUGHT the ' half moon hotel' was some sort of low budget / SUPER 8-type of establishment in montego bay ~ You can imagine our astonishment when we rolled up to this "RESORT"

The grounds are immaculate and the rooms very very nicely appointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are happy that we surpassed your expectations and that your stay was amazing. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the not so distant future…creating another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Half Moon has long been on our bucket list – ten years ago we stayed at the Ritz next door and found ourselves wondering if we should have stayed at Half Moon instead. One reason for our return this year was so my husband could play golf again on the White Witch. Unfortunately, about a month before our trip we found out the White Witch had closed. This was a big disappointment. This trip was five nights at Half Moon and five nights at Jamaica Inn in Ocho Rios, another of our bucket list resorts. The surprise for us was that Half Moon exceeded our expectations and Jamaica Inn did not quite live up to them (check out our review on Jamaica Inn).

We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites which rate right up there with the nicest hotels rooms we have every stayed in. Particularly the huge bathroom and lovely patio overlooking the green lawn to the water beyond. We had requested to be in a quiet location and so we were quite a ways down from the main lobby area (past both the main pool and the adult lap pool) but we enjoyed the walk and the peaceful ambience. One important thing to note about this location is that the rooms really aren’t “beachfront” per se, as there is not one long stretch of beach here that you can walk out to, it is little rocky coves and there is an expanse of lawn between the rooms and the water. We spent most of our beach time on the main beach and if you really want to be located where you can walk out to one long stretch of beach, consider the West Cottages instead.

We did the all-inclusive plan and got a great summer sale rate. We found it to be well worth it. You still have to sign a bill for everything which is a bit of an inconvenience but it certainly gave us an idea regarding the prices, which are high (but not as high as the Jamaica Inn). We kept all our receipts to see if we made the right choice going AI and for five nights our food and beverage bill was more than $2,400 (and that did not include everything we drank out of the in-room mini-bar which is also included). Yes, we did drink and eat a bit more since we were on AI, but to give you an idea of the prices, the breakfast and lunch buffet (soft drinks or iced tea not included) is about $27 plus 25% tax and service charge so our lunch bill was regularly about $70 – 80 as was breakfast. Drinks, including glasses of wine, are around $10 – 11 each plus the 25%, beer is about $6 – 7, a diet coke $4. So, if you are going to have more than a few drinks a day, definitely consider the AI.

We found the food to be some of the best we have had in the Caribbean. Honestly did not have a bad meal and service was really attentive and efficient. Loved the lunch buffets – every day they would have a selection of soups and salads in addition to entrees, the soups and salads were real stand-outs as were the cookies! I don’t want to think about how many cookies I ate in five days – they would have two or three types of cookies every lunch along with lots of other desserts. We loved the ambience of the Sugar Mill Restaurant and the atmosphere of the Italian restaurant with its twinkly lights on the patio overlooking the sea was really romantic. The only criticism we have is that in the summer there is only one location for breakfast and lunch (the main restaurant) unless you want to take the shuttle to the shopping village which has an English Pub and Indian Restaurant (included in the AI). We didn’t want to leave the beach for that long. You can also have room service but we enjoyed the buffets so much we never did use it.

We really enjoyed hanging at the bar before and after dinner and chatting with other guests and the staff who suggested drinks to us and were just all around great guys. One of the complaints we have had about other beach resorts we have visited is that many of them don’t seem to have a good outdoor bar that stays open in the evening – the set-up of the main bar at Half Moon was ideal – it is part of the main building/open air lobby and restaurants but located right against the beach and the water and was open from 11 a.m. until late at night.
We enjoyed the sense of history throughout the Half Moon and featured in photos and mementos, it really is a Grand Dame (but laid-back) Jamaican Resort that has been kept updated and enhanced but has not lost its Caribbean charm. One of the top full-service resorts we have visited with facilities and amenities galore, we could have easily stayed much longer. We prefer adults-only AIs (some favorites include Galley Bay in Antigua and Sandals Emerald Bay in Great Exuma) so were a bit leery that the resort would be overrun by children – yes, this is a family resort and there were quite a few families but not quite as many children as we thought (it was 4th of July week, but perhaps they spent more time at the villas which had their own pools) and the resort is so spread out it was easy to find a peaceful location on the beach. Honestly, we have been more overrun by children at the Ritz or Four Seasons Resorts. The end result was a more romantic, couple-oriented resort than we expected and that’s one of the reasons Half Moon exceeded our expectations.

We would definitely return to Half Moon, but hopefully the White Witch will re-open so that next time my husband can play that spectacular course once again! That being said, he enjoyed the Half Moon golf course, which is a nice resort course but not up to the caliber of the White Witch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to pen your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and thank you for confirming the Caribbean charm for which Half Moon is renowned. Recognizing our Sugar Mill and Il Giardino Restaurants as Romantic concurs with similar comments from many of our treasured guests. We are also happy that our all-inclusive options add value to our guests’ experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just got home from a awesome trip to Half Moon. We had a 5 bedroom villa with a private pool. Roal our butler, Beverly are cook, and Olive are maid more than exceeded our expectations and made the trip special. Roal took care of our every need. We ate breakfast and dinner in the room every night and Beverly cooked us authentic Jamaican meals that were out of this world !!!! Plus she did it by buying groceries onsite for a fraction of the cost of eating at restaurants on the resort or at near by Montego Bay. Olive also get our place spotless. I was an great vacation and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure hosting you as our treasured guests; we thank you for so beautifully detailing your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort; your review is highly appreciated.

We are happy your stay was all you anticipated and the family thoroughly enjoyed their Royal Villa experience. We truly appreciate your recognizing the team in particular the villa team of Roal, Beverly and Olive. The staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back to your “home away from home” soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews