We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveler rating
1,734
362
118
65
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,734
362
118
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar millhibiscus suiteseagrape terraceil giardinoall inclusive planwest cottagesfern tree spameal plansea grapeprivate poolbedroom villagolf cartcedar barsunset beachhorseback ridingpepper potvilla staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,679 - 1,684 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This year August 2012 we stayed at Half Moon for the third year in succession. We've been to some of the most highly regarded hotels from The One and Only Royal Mirage on Jumeirah Beach, Dubai, to some of the best on the Caribbean's ivory coast - but none quite matches up to Half Moon.

....The ambience, the staff, the attention to detail and the way they make you feel so special, makes it impossible for us to chose anywhere else to stay. Undoubtedly Half Moon also knows how to tantalise your tastebuds with world class Caribbean cuisine from dusk till dawn, never allowing your cocktail glass to go empty...

When you book in at Half Moon you certainly know you'll be taken care of. Our son loves it too because he gets to ride around the property with his new friends and he loves the freedom that the sprawling acres of beautiful gardens offer up as well as all the water sport activities to keep them busy.

This year my wife and I took it a bit easier and spent a bit more time at Half Moon's infamous Fern Tree Spa - amazing! Don't leave without trying it!

We're going to be back next year with some good friends who we know just don't want to keep missing out on the Half Moon experience.

Mr & Mrs Earl Walcott, London, England

Room Tip: They're all good but if you have unlimited budget and want to do something extra special - The Great House Villas are perfect. They come fully loaded with butler, chef and house keeper!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

The Half Moon, A RockResort family is delighted that you enjoyed another experience with us; we thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, It was a pleasure serving you; as always, we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best Regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Let me begin by saying that this property is impressive - 400 acres of beauty. The beach, water and grounds are picturesque and well maintained. The architecture throughout the property is beautiful. The staff at reception is courteous and all other employees were friendly and helpful. My room was large, by any measure, and it over looked the water.

What caught me off guard was the general lack of service and poor quality of the food. Our first dinner on the terrace took over two hours to be served and the wait staff virtually ingnored our table. Once the food arrived, it was very disappointing. Even having a sandwich at lunch would take 45 mins to an hour. The breakfast buffet was limited to breads, fruit, cereal and yogurts which were not replenished on a regular basis leaving those who opted for it with limited options.

The gym is large and well equipped, but is well broken in and in need of an update. On the bright side, the numerous trails along the property made for excellent jogging paths. I would highly recommend biking through the property as well.

In general I felt that the property itself was very nice, but the service and food after one checked in was not resort quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank withoutborders78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

The candid feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort is appreciated. Objective feedback from our guests is an integral part of our strategy to continuously improve our guest experience.

While we regret the areas which did not exceed your expectations, we are happy that overall you had a good time.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your comments; we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love Half Moon, the food the staff the atmosphere. Their spa is the finest on the island. The beach was great we had such a good time. Friends were able to join us for dinner and that was really special. They treated us royally. We will certainly come back again and again.

Room Tip: A room with a view!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjcushnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from 5 days at Half Moon and it was absolutely perfect. The resort is well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. Our group was in a royal villa - amazing accomodations, attentive but unobtrusive staff, delicious drinks and meals. Fun to drive around in the golf carts provided. We also took advantage of many of the resorts amenities: golf, spa, swimming with horses in the ocean, dolphin experience, Hobie cat ride - all handled by very professional and friendly staff. In fact, everyone at the resort was friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Beach was beautiful and clean with plenty of water toys (paddle boats, kayaks, floats). We also went off the resort to Dunn River Falls. This is clearly a big tourist destination and so you get what comes with that (vendors pressuring you to buy souvenirs, etc) but it was still good fun for the whole group.

All in all a wonderful trip. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCNJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back home in the not-so-distant future.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Half Moon is by far one of the best if not the best hotel in Jamaica. Looking for relaxation with your partner or with the family this is the perfect place to go. Excellent staff at the perfect place!!
Have to take this opportunity to thank Merricka, Juliet and the Villa staff ( Beverly the best cook ever! Paulette and Colvin!!! One love

See u all next year God's will! Half moon here I come!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good! If u r going with the family the villas are perfect......can't beat that!
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated. We have shared your comments with the team members you highlighted and commended them for providing outstanding service.

We look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future.

The Half Moon Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews