We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tons of fun at iberostar rose hall suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Our group of six had a fantastic time at this resort and would definitely visit the resort again! We traveled with two adults and four young adults ages 19 to 26. We were fortunate that one of our two rooms was ready when we arrived at the resort at 11:00 am. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and with the exception of the towel service, everything was perfect.

The food was great, expecially the filet at the Gourmet restaurant, and the lunch buffet was fantastic. We left a few dollars for tip at breakfast and lunch, and a little more at dinner.. We gave extra to the trainees and the tips were greatly appreciated.

We visited a nearby school while we were there and brought supplies that were greatly appreciated. We used Reggae Tours (cab service) to get there, and also used them to and from the airport which saved us a lot of time. After visiting the school, our driver took us to a restaurant to get Jamaican patties and we stopped at a roadside coconut stand to try coconut water.. It was a great experience and a fun day. Gregg, the owner of the company, was very nice, reliable, and a very safe driver. His e-mail address is [--]. You can call or e-mail him in advance to set up transportation.

We made lots of friends at the pool and had great fun with people from Georgia and Maryland. The pool bartenders, especially Wailen, Oreth, and Kevin were very friendly and gave excellent service.

The Star Friends were very talented dancers and entertainers and made every day and night a lot of fun for us, especially our new friends Lashayna, Georgia, and Shane. We participated in many of the daily games, from water polo, to archery, to bocce ball and shuffleboard, which made each day even more fun. We went to several shows at night which were good for the most part. Make sure to go to the Tutti Fruiti Comedy show and the Beach Party. The disco was great, it starts off slow, and gets better as the night goes on. It is even more fun when the star friends are there as well. The male star friends, Carlos, Blanka, Noodle, Marvin, Monkey and Kenny, made an effort to visit the guests throughout the day and night and include everyone in all activities. They were very personable and fun to be around.

Our family had a nice time relaxing at the lounge bar before dinner, but it would be nice if there was another bar besides that one to go to at that time of night. The other bar, the jazz bar, did not open until 10:30.

This was our second trip to the Iberostar in Montego Bay and we love it there. Last summer we went to the Beach resort which was also very nice, but we preferred the Suites to the Beach. We intend to return next summer!! If you are looking for an upbeat and active resort, yet beautiful and relaxing at the same time, you can find it here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWNEWJERSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,079 - 4,085 of 4,487 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this resort for our honeymoon. We were originally booked in for Mexico but had to change our plans last minute due to swine flu. I am so glad that we did!!!! Rose Hall Suites was so excellent, we can't wait to return next year for our one year anniversary!!

Check in went smoothly, and we were greeted with cold beers/fruity drinks upon arrival. We had a beautiful oceanview suite, with a bottle of champagne and fruit plate waiting for us. The rooms are incredibly clean and modern. We spent a lot of time sitting on our large balcony relaxing.

The food here was AMAZING!! Mind you, we are not picky eaters...but we absolutely loved the selection and quality of food available. The omelets at breakfast are so yummy!! We ate lunch at Ruby's everyday because it is open air seating...lots of selection and variety there as well!! The beach BBQ is also a must!! Staff at all restaurants were so friendly and our drinks were constantly being refilled. We ate at the Mexican, Gourmet, Steakhouse and Mediterranean restaurants but really enjoyed the buffet the best because of the variety!!

The cleanliness of this resort amazed us. There are always so many groundskeepers working everywhere. Our room was always clean, and we received turndown service most nights.

The disco was fun, if you like to dance the night away, definitely try it!! And head over to the Mexican restaurant for late night snacks!!

Star Friends were awesome...definitely a HUGE plus of this resort!! We played bingo by the pool almost everyday, and my husband played beach volleyball, and beach soccer with everyone. Also, visit the tennis courts as the tennis pro is a great guy :) Check out the spa wellness pool as it is free, and couples can go in together. Great for a rainy afternoon!

Bring lots of tip money in American Dollars...not required, but always appreciated.

Anyway, we absolutely LOVED our stay and I could go on and on about the fabulous things at this resort. Don't listen to any picky reviewers...you will have a great time if you book this resort!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BecDoug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family and I (a group of 10) just returned from Iberostar Rose Hall Suites. This was by far the best vacation we've ever been on. The rooms were big and beautiful, with an amazing view of the beach, comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, and glamorous bathrooms (the showers were awesome!). The restaurants and food were very good too (especially the shrimp which was good no matter where you order it). Although, some labels for the food would have been helpful so you know what your about to eat, it sort of made venturing to the Jamaica corner an adventure. There is a spa section of the hotel with a decent workout room where staff was happy to help with the machines and give out towels/water. Walking through the hotel, the staff was polite and friendly. The swim up bar and pool area was great. The lifeguards were great conversationalists and the bartenders were nice(especially Omar, a trainee who delivered drinks to the beach with a great, big smile and speed). There's a great disco club at night and that's where they party's at! However, the best part of the vacation by far was the Star friends. This is the group of talent entertainers (including Monkey, Noodle, Carlos, Marvin, and Blanka) who worked extremely hard the entire time. They really made a connection with all of our family, from the games they ran to the conversations when they stopped to talk to us at the beach. They're all extremely talented performers and have great personalities. They work hard all the time while still remaining upbeat; while there were no little kids in our family, all the kids around us loved them (especially Monkey!). I can't imagine this place without them; they really made all the difference in making this the happiest place on Earth. We were extremely sad to leave but we're counting down the days until we return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family (husband and two daughters, ages 5 and 2) stayed at this hotel from June 13-20. We had a fantastic time and I would agree with most of the positive reviewers here.

The hotel is sort of horse shoe shaped and the pool area is in the middle. This is a relatively new resort and everything is super clean and well maintained. My husband, who hates bugs, was very excited that the hallways have were enclosed so really we never had problems with insects flying in the room when the door was open. I sort of missed open hall for more tropical feeling but there are always trade-offs.

Our room (described by Apple Vacations as "ocean view" ) overlooked the pool and ocean. We had a large balcony with furniture and drying rack. Lots of room. We spend a lot of time sitting out on it, especially late in the day when you could see the sunset. The room itself clean and a nice size. There is a tv with nickalodeon and disney and a dvd player. Both handy with small children! Bathroom included both tub and shower and both worked well (water temperature/pressure).

We spent a lot of time at the pool because the kids prefered it to the ocean. The main pool was shallow enough for a our 2-year old in parts and it was clean and warm. We also tried the lazy river & the activities pool for a change of pace. Only negative was that the hot tub was closed during our stay. Never had any trouble getting towels or finding a shady palapas to sit under. We also checked out the pool at the Beach hotel for a change of pace (nice). The beach is beautiful. We walked the length going past the Beach hotel each morning. We have been to many outstanding beaches (Vieques PR, Tulum Mexico) and this beach, though man-made, is very nice. Clear water and there is even a reef where you can try snorkeling right beyond the swimming area. My husband and I both did, though neither of us are experienced divers we had fun and saw lots of fish.

We ate most meals at the buffet since it was easier with the kids. We do eat out a lot and have fairly high food expectation but we liked the buffet. They change it up enough that we never got tired of it. I loved the coconut bread, banana bread and smoothies at breakfast. We all liked the Jamaican corner, which they had at most meals. I ate a lot of jerk chicken, plaintains, fresh fish and it was all wonderful. My kids always found something they wanted to eat.. They tried some new things and there were always the old standbys (chicken, hamburger) Aunt Ruby's was nice for outdoor lunch and we loved the beach barbeque. All in all the food was pretty good for an all-inclusive. Local foods were the best and attempts at italian and asian a little off.

Enjoyed many good drinks during our stay. Yummy rum punch at the pool bar. Thought the lobby bar made the best mojitos and caipirinhas. Try a frozen rum cream. The only complaint I would have was the wine. The "red" and "white" were pretty terrible. Everything else is so nice why not have at least a few decent selections of wine?

My husband and I each got massages at the spa. the massage was ok but the spa was beautiful! Lots of soaking pools, whirl pools, sauna, steam room etc. Definintely worth a visit.

The entertainment staff works very hard to always have something going on. However, its easy to opt out and just relax. My husband did ping pong, volley balland visited the gym, which he said was decent. I did ocean water areobics, bingo. Our older daughter went to the kids club several times and enjoyed it. Our kids loved the nightly shows, both the kid show and the real one after. It's not broadway, but it was entertaining and some of dancers were very talented.

Outstanding service was what really set this hotel apart from others where we have stayed in the past. All the employees we met were so helpful, worked hard and did a great job. Our room was always cleaned early and well. Never had to wait for drinks and the staff in the restaurant was fantastic. We did bring lots of one $s to tip and found that was appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We just returned from staying at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites in Montego Bay, Jamaica. The hotel was beautiful and clean, had courteous staff, large rooms and a magnificent view of the Caribbean Sea. The food was excellent. The beach was clean with plenty of chairs for everyone. The hotel provided entertainment for all age groups. Their swim-up pool bar was awesome.
We booked with a travel club and the price was ridiculously low for all of the amenities that were offered throughout our stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel and it's sister hotels to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This was my first stay as we had traveled for a vacation with my Parents and teenage daughter and nephew. I have to say how impecable the facility is along with the friendliness. My only complaint will be the Excursion/travel consultant desk, whom did not hold the Jamaican way or the Iberostar way and was less than friendly and almost seemed troubled to have to help you. Don't let that stop you, the rest of the facility makes up for their rudeness. The rocks you encounter as you enter the ocean are a little rough and careful how you step,but once in the water, it's all good. Check out is hectic and demading, so be prepared as they are not with the friendly smile and they are not flexible on any needs. Overall, it is a great place and knowing what I know now, I would adapt to those needs and learn from this visit. The spa was exceptional and even went above and beyond with helping me cope with sun poisioning, they couldn't have been more wonderful.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank flytotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This resort was beautiful! The food was excellent, the beach was gorgeous, and the pool was exquisite! What made this resort oustanding was the entertainment! The staff were incredible and made everyone in my family feel welcome. Marvin, Carlos, Monkey, Blanka, and Noodle are just of few of the talented entertainers that made our stay memorable. We are all looking foward to returning next summer! One Love!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky63081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
12.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Main Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $337 - $879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing