We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a fan - very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a fan - very disappointed”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I came to this resort for a family reunion. The resort was not kept up well, paint chipping, wallpaper falling off the walls etc. it also had this weird smell in the lobby (something similar to Lysol). The initial room I was placed in the a/c didn't work, the shower didn't work and the shower had mold on it, needless to say I wasn't happy. I was moved to a second room and they issued someone else a key to my room. In the middle of the day another guest entered my room as I was getting dressed!!!! I complained of course and heard nothing but excuses from the management staff. They appeared they couldn't care less.

My family started out at the Hilton in Montego Bay and transferred here for the weekend but we should have stayed there. Although the room weren't as up to date as this property, they had better service and more kids activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walkaboutUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,709
    1,051
    274
    82
    56
See reviews for
2,114
1,131
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This resort is very lovely. The rooms were very clean and spacious although the restroom was dim. Other than that it was a great room. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The pools and beach were absolutely wonderful. It feels like paradise when you're there. The food was some of the best all inclusive resort food I've EVER had. Would definitely love to come back someday....all the staff was super friendly too :) My husband, 2 yr old and myself LOVED it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommymadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to stay at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Property here in Jamaica.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the facility and features of the Rose Hall Suites resort as this motivates us to continue aiming towards excellence in our hospitality to our valued guest.

Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The food here is excellent! This is coming from a foodie that hates buffets. We ate at gourmet restaurant and we also wowed. The room, bathroom and balcony were clean and spacious but I would have preferred more AC control. The lobby décor had no theme and appeared to be mismatched. No real style to it. The bars both inside and out were small so they were always packed. The bartenders are great but we actually preferred the lobby bar next door. The premix for the rum punch is too sweet (bug juice). They don't skimp on alcohol like most all inclusives so if you get a fresh fruit drink they are strong and delicious. They wine selection is small but drinkable. The coffee was a disappointment. Typically island coffee is full bodied. The staff was fabulous! Could not be nicer or more accommodating. I also enjoyed a massage and facial. They were very expensive, the facial was ok but the hot stone massage was dreamy! I would prefer more activities both day and night. We love a lively hotel. Most of the day time entertainment revolved around shaking your butt or watching the staff shake theirs. While that is funny, It's not what I want to see daily. Areas of the beach were rocky, it is not that true turquoise water surrounding other hotels and there is not much activity on the beach. If you go take the zipline adventure it is wonderful!!! I would return maybe staying at the Grand next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view. The sunrise and sunset are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Property here in Jamaica for your vacation. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience here at the resort.

We are glad to know that you were pleased with the buffet and Gourmet restaurants and also that you found the staff to be fabulous. We will definitely share your comments with them.

We regret to hear that you found the coffee and entertainment here to be a disappointment. These along with the other issues you had mentioned we will look into and forwarded to the necessary department head to improve anywhere necessary.

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and we look forward to your return at our resort.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just returned from this resort. We were there from June 7th - June 14th.

Been to this resort 3 years in a row. This year we were coming with our 5 year old and our 10 month old. I contacted the hotel, in advance of our trip, to request a room on a higher floor as the year prior we were on the ground floor and were attacked by mosquitos. The hotel was able to accommodate our request.

We love this resort for the following reasons:
- the beach
- the pool
- the entertainment....I can't say enough good things about ROXY...she is the supervisor at the Kids Club and is soo amazing. My 5 year old can't stop talking about her. LOVE HER!
- the FOOD (amazing)
- the location (only 25 min away from airport)
- the resort is well maintained and not too large so you can get from one end to the other in no time

The only bad I can say about this resort is:
- they should have Jamaican food every day..not just on Jamaica night....
- the maids clean the room a little too late in the day for us as our 10 month old needs to take naps
- the serving spoons at the back in the buffet get really hot and can be hard to handle....LOL...that's it! :)


HANDS DOWN....Amazing resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for selecting the IBEROSTAR Suites Property here in Jamaica again. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your vacation experience at this resort.

It is great to know that our front desk was able to accommodate your room request. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beach, pool, entertainment, food and the kids club. We will definitely share and congratulate the staff on their hard work and in particular Roxy from the Kids Club that left a good impact on your 5 year old. We are elated to know that as a team we were once again able to meet and exceed your expectations; your comment will do amazing things for our staff morale.

We will definitely take note of the negative comments which you have mentioned as we continue to improve in order to meet our guests’ expectations.

Thank you for returning to our hotel another year and we do look forward to your next visit.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I have a slogan we use when service is bad "never again". One of the must haves with taking our family vacation at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites was that the rooms had to adjoin for us & and our two young boys, Ages 9 & 7. We arrived on Sat. 6/14. The front desk told us there were no adjoining rooms, the hotel was sold out, so there were no adjoining rooms available. Unacceptable!! Adjoining rooms was a non-negotiable with our travel agent. After calling the agent, she called the hotel & spoke with the Manager. We were eventually upgraded to the Presidential Ste. after a long wait. Orlando at the front desk took care of us. He was very accommodating. The room was great compared to where we were. However the Jacuzzi tub leaked water into the room below, my 7 year old slipped on the wet floor & hit his head on the marble floor. Etc, etc.

For this reason & lax service, like room service sending our meal to the wrong room & delivering the food two hours later we give this resort the never again.

Room Tip: Look around for a better result.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adowneyxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing the IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel here in Jamaica. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share with us how your vacation went.

We would like to use this opportunity to send you our sincerest apologies regarding the issues you encountered while staying with us. For clarification regarding the request made through your travel agent for adjoining rooms regrettably, room requests are not confirmed prior to arrival, as rooms are assigned based on availability on the day of. As such we do not confirm a request made for a specific type of room or bedding, neither do facilitate bookings of rooms. We do regret that this was not communicated to you, which resulted in you having an unfavorable experience upon check in and further apologize for the maintenance issue which you further experienced with your new room.

Once again we appreciate you choosing IBEROSTAR and even though you have rated us, we do hope you will reconsider giving us the opportunity to host you and your family.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very clean. Great csv! Great Entertainment, You don't really need to leave the hotel. Book restaurants early as the get booked fast. Food is amazing. The bar in the main lobby has the best bartenders. Went on this trip as part as our yearly girls trip to a different country. This is the best trip thus far. My friends had cakes waiting for them on the day of their birthdays!

***Currently deciding to book this hotel for our Wedding.

Room Tip: We were in the back of the kids pool area. We were barely in our room so it doesnt matter. Rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airplanemode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for choosing the IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites Hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the online community your feedback on the vacation experience you had here at this resort.

We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel clean with great entertainment and great customer service. We will definitely share your comments with the lobby bar bartenders that you consider to be the best.

Thank you for choosing IBEOROSTAR and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We first stayed in Aug 2013 for 2 weeks with our 6 year old little boy. We have been to Jamaica 5 times before but never been back to the same hotel (so many wonderful ones to choose from). We were recommended this hotel via our travel agents (first choice) and so pleased we took their advice. From the moment we set foot on Jamaica soil we felt at home, (we married 13 years ago at the Holiday Inn sunspree Montego bay). We were greeted at the hotel reception with the famous friendly Jamaican smile, all my little boy wanted to do was hit the pool, the reception staff were friendly and soon processed us. We were escorted to our room which was amazing, we over looked the pool and had a slightly restricted view of the ocean but it was still breath taking.

The hotel never seemed full to bursting throughout the whole 2 weeks even with all the wedding parties that arrived. We made bookings for the speciality restaurants and enjoyed every one, (my hubby prefers to eat at these than the main buffet although he did have a lot of good things to say about the main buffet here at the suites, Great choice, clean, friendly service high praise from him). Our favourite was the gourmet it was just that little bit special. My little boy never ate so much food as previous holiday he was into trying everything. The only thing I would say would have been nice would be a little snack hut for lunch time when you don’t really want a main meal, there was a tendency to over eat once you seen all that was on offer.

The pool amazing and spotless, we spent most of the day there, never struggled to find a chair even when we had a lay in. we went to the beach a couple of days and again amazing although rocky to enter the water.

Kids club, out of this world, I was nervous about leaving him as this would be our first holiday of doing so but he was so excited about going. ALL the staff were friendly remembered his name and called out for him through the day/night which he loved. It became part of his routine, morning’s with us then lunch then off to kids club, we had to struggle to get him to spend time with us on some days, he even went to movie night and joined in all the kids games at night time. He is looking forward to returning.

As I say we have never returned to the same hotel before but after an amazing 2 weeks last year it was the first thing we done when we returned home, booked for this year, we arrive 13th Aug for 2 fun filled weeks and cannot wait, an amazing, clean, friendly hotel with superb staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community such a great review on the vacation experience you’ve encountered here at the Rose Hall Suites Property in Jamaica.

We are indeed pleased to know that both you and your family had a great time and loved the friendly hospitality that was extended to you and your family. We are also delighted to know that you've found our al la Carte restaurants to be great and your son that enjoyed the pool and kids club activities throughout the day and night.

We will share your comments with the staff and congratulate them on their efforts towards ensuring that you and your family had a great time on the property. We look forward to seeing you and your family once again on the 13th of Aug and be sure that you will have another amazing and memorable vacation.

Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR your loyalty is much appreciated.


Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,915 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Property: Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Address: Rose Hall Main Rd | Rose Hall, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Us Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing