We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at this resort from March 18th to the 25th. We were looking for a relaxing family vacation that catered to the kids as much as the adults. My two kids 6 and 10 had a great time and were never bored. My wife and I relaxed on the beach for 7 days and did not leave the resort. Exactly what we needed.
Food was great, people were great. We will definitely return next year.

A small travel tip, if you have kids spend the money on the Club MoBay VIP pass at the airport in Jamaica. $30pp and $15pp for kids if you purchase at the resort. You bypass the immigration lineup and have your own all inclusive lounge to wait in before your flight. There is also a play room for the kids to keep them occupied.

We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank JackieChiles72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your family vacation. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay here at the Rose Hall Suites property. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and the online community as this motivates us to continue maintaining the excellence in our hospitality that we provide to our valued guest. We will also share your review with our staff and congratulate them on their input in ensuring that you had an enjoyable vacation. Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,067 - 2,073 of 4,487 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was my first trip to Iberostar in Jamaica, me and my husband have been to Iberostar in Mexico and most of the Sandals Resorts in Jamaica. The advantage this resort has over Sandals is definitely the cleanliness of the rooms/resort and the food! It's definitely a very family friendly, relaxed atmosphere so don't expect to find a lot of couples with no children - if you are looking for the partying adults only crowd I recommend Sandals or the Iberostar Grand next door. It didn't bother me or my husband one bit to have a lot of children around but it just made us kinda feel guilty for leaving our 2 yr old back at home - it's definitely a place I'd feel comfortable taking him next time though. The food was extremely good - by far the best is the jerk chicken, rice and beans at the Aunt Ruby Beach Buffet, second best was the French Gourmet (Calabash) steak, asparagus soup and pineapple dessert were delicious, third the steak house - filet was good and the apple pie dessert was amazing, mediterranean was ok but the lobster tasted funny to me, mexican and japanese were good. On the plus side if you end up not liking the restaurant you made reservations for you can always find something on one of the Buffet's afterwards, i did find that the desserts on the buffets weren't really worth the calories though. As for drinks regardless of calories you have to try the dirty banana, hummingbird and the crazy coconut - those are the best! For the beach itself it's beautiful and fairly clear but the rocks are terrible, I saw several people get cuts on their feet so beware. I found that if you walk to the right a little ways towards the Iberostar Beach Resort there are no rocks and the beach is way nicer plus there is awesome snorkeling there. Bring your own snorkel gear if you have it or they will let you borrow some there. Lots of things to see and an artificial reef, no need to travel off the resort for a snorkeling excursion anything you want to see is right there, the fish are extremely friendly b/c they are used to people feeding them so don't be surprised if they nibble at your fingers and get really close! The only drawback is that I know that in some other spots of montego bay the water is a little more clear and blue. Overall a wonderfull resort that I'd highly recommend for families and those that like to snorkel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank LoveTheBeach143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and the online community your experience where at the Rose Hall Suites property here in Jamaica. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time here on your vacation. We will congratulate the staff on their efforts that was put in place to ensure that you had a great time with us. I’ve also realized that you mentioned about the cleanliness of our property – Thank you for highlighting such details to our online viewers of trip advisor as we continue to maintain a very clean and safe environment to our guest while vacating with us. Once again thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR and the next time you decide to return your little son would also be more than welcome as we have so much in store for that age group to enjoy.

Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids ages 16, 14 and 10) just returned after spending the March Break (7th-14th) at this great resort. We had requested connecting rooms via email prior to our arrival and they were ready and waiting for us. The hotel was terrific, as was the staff. Evening shows was actually very good. The daily entertainment staff were also top notch. Cupid, Momo and VIP were always mixing it up with everyone. My kids enjoyed the daily sports and activities and although the snorkelling was not outstanding, there was enough to keep you interested around the rocks (lion fish, rays, puffer fish). One problem at the resort would be the lazy river which was a little too lazy. The current was not really strong enough to push you around, but we made out okay with a little paddling. If the hotel management reads this, they could also use some new cue tips at the pools tables as well.

The downside of our week started on our second day when my wife injured her foot during one of the fun family soccer games on the beach. We went to the nursing office and rented crutches for the rest of the week. The nursing staff were very professional. Other staff at the hotel were equally accommodating for my wife. We made the best of it though and enjoyed ourselves as much as we could. The only problem occurred when our Sunwing flight was delayed for 4 hours which meant we would have to wait at the hotel for another 4 hours before leaving (that was okay with us since the place was great). Unfortunately, we had already turned in our crutches so when I asked the front desk, they said that the bellboys/security would be able to get us a wheelchair for our 4 hours. When security found the chair it was not in good condition so they said that they did not feel comfortable in turning it over to us. When I asked about the other hotels (the Beach and Grand) she said that it was the hotel policy not to loan the wheelchairs to the other sides of the hotel. Are you kidding me? They are all part of the same hotel. After asking again to check, she confirmed this. Eventually they brought out some crutches which we gratefully used for the remainder of our time. Not a good way to end our fabulous week.

At the airport, however, the staff there were amazing. They brought a wheelchair without our even asking, escorted us through the VIP line at the airline check in, through customs, security and onto the plane. Services in Toronto were equally as good.

If anyone has any questions from a family perspective, I would be more than happy to answer them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveo-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites for your vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community the great experience you had while vacating at our property. It pleases us to know that you had a great time as this motivates us to continue providing our guest with the excellent hospitality they deserve.

We are sorry to hear that you had received an injury while on your vacation especially knowing it was just your second day. We are however pleased to know that the situation was dealt with by our staff every professionally. Regarding the retrieval of wheelchair we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that was caused and we will certainly have the issue forwarded to the management. Once again thank you for your choice of vacation here at the IBEROSTAR Rose Hall Suites in Jamaica; we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We just got back and cannot say enough about this property! There are very few places I would return to, but this is one of them. It could be the wonderful staff - especially Lennox who seemed to take care of us at the restaurants every morning and every afternoon. The cleanliness of the property - truly spotless including the lounge chair cushions which we saw being scrubbed in the evening. The ease of ordering drinks, as well as the variety. The delicious variety of food especially having a salad bar with every meal! The size of the suite including the huge bathroom. The beach and pool areas were spotless with staff coming by often to clean up empty glasses and trash. So much to do that we did not make it to everything the hotel offered and therefore never took any excursions! It is also very close to the airport so as soon as we cleared customs we were eating lunch at the hotel! Even though we arrived 4 hours before check in, the woman at the front desk told us check back in an hour and our room would most likely be clean. It was!
The small downsides are the hours the pool and gym are opened - they close very early. The limited TV channels. No clocks anywhere on the property - only the lobby and one in our room. The speakers by the pool area were a little too loud for those of us trying to rest or read.
All in all, the place was great and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank creativetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - IBEROSTAR Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us and the online community as this motivates us to continue improving our excellence in our hospitality. It pleases us to know that you had a great time while staying her at the Rose Hall Suites Property in Jamaica.

We will share your review with our staff and congratulate them on their effort that ensure that you had a great time, in particular Lennox who took care of you at your restaurants. We have also noted a few is dissatisfactions that you had mentioned; we will forward this to the property management for them to analyze and readjust if necessary. Once again we appreciate you choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed March 16-March 22, 2014. 2 adults and 15 yr old daughter. Very clean. Excellent service. Outstanding pool area with multiple, ongoing activities. Restaurants better than expected. Wish the Suites had television in bar, but sports bar at next door Iberostar property fit the bill for watching NCAA men's basketball tournament. We would definitely go back. Most all employees were especially hospitable and accommodating, although front desk staff a bit apathetical at times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank SteveIA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and the online community about the great experience that you had here at the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Property. Indeed it motivates to continue providing our excellent service to our valued guest. Thank you for choosing Iberostar and we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What can I say but "Awesome" - Travelled with our eight year old and would go back in a heartbeat.

Before I tell you about everything – make sure you buy MOBAY VIP service with your travel package. We did and it was worth every penny. ( I think about $30 each person). You are met when you land and taken to the VIP lineup for immigration. Everyone else has to wait in the long line. Your agent helps check over your forms so you whiz through. They help you get your bags and take you to the MOBAY arrivals lounge with free drinks and food while you wait for your shuttle to the resort.
Leaving the airport MOBAY VIP service was even better. After you check in with your airline, your agent whisks you past the VERY long line to the security scan area. We saved about 1.5 hours in line just here. Then you go to a luxury VIP lounge – free drinks, food, tvs, wifi, comfy chairs, showers. You can even pay for mini-spa services while you are waiting. DO NOT FORGET TO GET THIS – you will be upset when you see people skipping all the lines and getting through in about ten minutes versus 1.5 hours.

Room - Best room we've had for cleanliness, general décor, roominess and VIEW - oceanview was truly amazing from our balcony on the 4th floor. A 40oz bottle of rum and a fruit plate greeted us, and the fridge was stocked daily with beer, soft drinks and water.

Food Buffet - Average only because the buffet did not have any variety over the eight days we were there - they could try some theme nights like other places we've been in Mexico just to mix it up.

Food Restaurants – You get to book four – recommend you book them right away when you get in. Average but good. Nice for a change from the buffet but really nothing special IMO. Cajun Restaurant was at the Beach resort next door, also went to the Steak House, Mexican, and Mediterranean Restaurants.

Beach – I noticed people comment about rocks, they obviously haven’t been to Mexico where there are ROCKs in many places and you have to wear shoes. There are some rocks and pebbles along the beach right in front of the resort’s main pool. But as you walk over to where the Steak House and buffet restaurant is, to the easy of the main pool, there are no rocks, just sand all the way in. The water is warm and no deeper than about 7 feet at the most, by the man-made reef. Best time is in the morning, as the wind picked up after lunch making it more wavy. At no time was there a red flag.

Snorkeling – just a moment’s swim off the beach was the man-made reef which added a nice touch for snorkeling. We saw lots of interesting fish, schools of fish, a crab, sea anemones, and a small light-coloured spotted ray.

Pools – infinity pool with swim up bar – very nice, with a great view of the ocean. Lazy River – fund for kids, no current but still great fun. Water park for kids – very nicely done and lots of fun. At first I thought there weren't enough pools but with the ocean so swimmable more pools weren't needed.

Pool Chairs - Always competition for chairs in the shade – we ended up getting up at 6:30- 7 am to go and stake out a couple in the shade. As the sun is SO hot, this was crucial. The other chairs in the full sun always were available.

Staff – SUPER friendly, and in just the right way – not overpowering. Love kids and families, as you could see by their interactions. Very professional, social, and fun loving.
Activities – Every day from about 11 – 3 there were planned activities by the pool for everyone to participate in (darts, ping pong, water aerobics, yoga, stretching, water polo, water volleyball, beach volleyball, soccer, dance lessons, etc). One thing I wasn’t crazy about was the volume of the ENT team members announcing over the sound system. Well meaning, just way to loud to enjoy when sitting by the pool. Plan to sit far away from the speakers. On Friday they had a quiet day and we enjoyed the change. You could also get soccer balls, volley balls and footballs from the towel hut.

Spa – Very nice spa area. We had our daughter’s hair braided – just ask for them to be gentle – our person pulled the braids a little too tight and we had pain resulting in tears during our experience.

Gym – Fully equipped and wonderful. Plan to work out while you are here. There is also tennis available.

Theater – They have a large, well laid out theater for nightly entertainment. We couldn’t stay up that late, but everyone we spoke to really enjoyed the shows. They have a kid’s show at 8 and an adult show at 9:30 every night.

Cleanliness – The hotel prides itself on being VERY clean. There was always someone cleaning something, scrubbing and mopping the pool deck, grooming the lawns, keeping the halls shiny. Really appreciated all the extra effort staff made to keep this clean.

Kidz Club – Very great staff, so friendly our daughter fell in love with them all. They don’t just stay in the clubhouse, but go to play horseshoes, darts, minigolf, shuffleboard near the main pool so you can see your kids throughout the day. The clubhouse has a large area, with two pools (one very shallow, the other about 3 feet deep) and is right next to the water park, so they end up the days swimming in there. We hadn’t planned on using this service but our daughter loved it so much and had so much fun, we couldn’t help but let her do her own thing. It gave us couple time at the pool on several days. They have an evening program 7-9 pm so we go to have dinner on our own one night too.

Luminous Lagoon – What a great experience. You can book this through Dressel Divers and go by boat rather than by bus. VERY ROUGH boat ride out though, so don’t do it if you’re likely to get seasick. Wear a swimsuit you don’t need again on the trip, because the water from the lagoon is very hard to get out even with multiple washings. Bring two towels, one for the way there during which some of the passengers got totally soaked by the spray over the side of the boat. Don’t bring a camera unless you can do night photography, it’s took dark to shoot good pictures and things on board get wet on the trip.

Tips - Don't miss these little extras
Free use of snorkels and masks for 1 hour per day - grab a life jacket for little ones as it's easier for them

Free use of Hobie cats and wind surfers. It's $50 USD for a rescue and $45 for a lesson - if you think you can remember now to do these activities, you should give it a try first and save yourself some money

Try the free SCUBA diving in the pool - nice staff and will let you go multiple times if they are not busy. Kids eight an up can try.

Lobby bar has iced coffees all day long.

Ice cream served at the pool from 11 am for the kids

You can book a family photo shoot with a photographer for as little as $110 USD - includes some prints and a cd. Better value than buying photos from the daily shots they take around the resort - we're going to take advantage of this next time

Oh and go MOBAY VIP – the only way to go!

If I could change anything it would only be these items:
More variety of food at the buffets
Varied music - less reggae rap at the main pool
Thicker more plush towels
No eggshells in the pancakes at the buffet

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JNoProblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar for you family vacation. It pleases us to know that you were satisfied with your stay here in Jamaica at the Rose Hall Suites Property and we appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review with us and the online community as this would be of help to our travelers who use Trip Advisor to make their vacation spot decision.

We will share your review with our staff and congratulate them on the effort that they put into ensuring that you had an awesome vacation. We also noted that you have mentioned a few things that you would have changed. This information will be forwarded to the management to consider. Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I can't believe we haven't traveled to Jamaica before--what a pity. My wife and two girls, 9 and 12, stayed at the IB Rose Hall Suites March 13-20th and we loved it. My wife had said NO MORE Mexico, at least for awhile so I had to come up with another vacation spot that would satisfy everyone. Bingo. Got a nice deal on this place through itravel2000.com a couple of months ago after researching it thoroughly and it was better than we thought it would be. Here's how:

- Resort was a short 20-30 minute bus ride (with two stops along the way) from the Montego Bay airport....very convenient
- Room was great, AC was perfect and quiet and lots of room for the four of us. Only complaint was my snoring.
- Food was good at the buffets, not outstanding, but that's okay with us. All of the a la cartes we hit--Mexican, Japanese, Steak house and Gourmet, were excellent with no clear winner.
- Service was terrific across the board--better than we've had at any other all inclusive and we've gone to two of the Iberostar Grand's....the Iberostar Bavaro would be a close 2nd
- The size of the resort is nice....not too big, not too small....we weren't interested in going to another of those giant properties where regardless of your fitness level, you want/need to take one of their trolleys
- The beach in front of the Suites is a bit rocky, fine once you get in but it's better to just wander down to the beach in front of the Rose hall Beach, no rocks there
- My wife and I each celebrated our birthday while in Jamaica and the IB staff made sure to take care of us, very classy
- Lots of activities, included and cha-ching--the Star Friends are great, always around to try and drum up activity but not too aggressively
- Clean as a whistle....we've come to expect this from Iberostars and this was no exception
- Just a great looking place to vacation at


An awesome vacation, everyone had a great time and it just sucked to arrive back in Toronto to more snow and subzero temperatures. We can't wait to go back.

By the way, if you can afford to travel to this hotel or any of these resorts in these poorer countries, take some tip money and tip for good service. Maybe not a buck a drink or anything like that but a buck here and there makes a huge difference to these folks.

A big shout out to my buddies at the swim-up bar, Chris and Jules....a great pair of bartenders and a couple of interesting characters....take care of them!

Room Tip: Top floor.....best views and know one will be moving furniture above your head! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Rose Hall Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would first of all like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacation on such a special occasion as your birthday. It pleases us to know that you had an awesome vacation and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the online community the great experience you had here at the Rose Hall Suites Property.

Thank you for also highlighting both the cleanliness of our property and the friendliness of our staff. We will certainly share your review with the team congratulating them on their efforts in ensuring that you had a great time – in particular we will highlight both Jules and Christopher from the Pool Bar. Once again thank you for choosing Iberostar and we look forward to seeing you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
12.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Rose Hall Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Address: Main Rd, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $337 - $879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Rose Hall Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Iberostar Rose Hall Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing