We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay. A Few Hiccups.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I (both early 30's) spent our wedding anniversary at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. It was a relaxing, fun, and luxurious getaway where, for the most part, service excelled. We had a few minor quibbles that were enough to warrant our giving a 4 instead of 5 star rating. However, we’d recommend this resort to any couple or possibly even families with college-aged or older children.

ARRIVAL:
A quick check-in and a welcome Welcome Mimosa. We were initially put into the first room next to the lobby and asked to be switched because (1) it was too noisy/close to the action, and (2) our ocean view was partially impeded by the landscaping. We were switched right away and without issue.

ROOM:
That being said, there's probably not a single room on the property that has a "bad" view, but if you really want to enjoy the ocean, higher is better (no pun intended.) The room itself was large and modern, with a separate door to the hallway/bathroom area as well as a separate sitting area leading to the balcony. Every room has a DVD player, and there's a decent collection of DVDs you can borrow, so don't rent a bunch of Redbox movies like we did... :/

BUTLER:
Our butler was mediocre. I had to go downstairs to get him for our initial resort orientation. He couldn't find our pre-booked dinner reservations and we ended up being booked for the same restaurant two nights in a row since our pre-booked reservations DID exist. Our personalized mini-bar wasn't restocked with our choices, but we did get restocked with Dorito's every afternoon; excellent for late night snacking while watching This is the End. For us, the butler was more or less non-existent.

ALCOHOL:
Flowing, with random top shelf choices available. No complaints.

FOOD:
Average food at the a la carte restaurants, with excellent service at the Surf 'n Turf (special thanks to Jeffrey) and indifferent service at the Italian restaurant. Buffet food was good, with an unbelievable beachside location (unfortunately not open for dinner.) Room service breakfast was excellent. We did a room service dinner on the night of our duplicate reservation, and it was okay. Try to get your reservations taken care of AND confirmed ahead of time.

POOL:
Loved the pool, which had a little something for everyone: a quiet section, a middle section with basketball/volleyball, and a pool bar section. The poolside lounge "chairs" were basically full size beds that easily fit two people, and between those and the standard one person long chairs there was always something available. And we never had to wait long for a waitress to come by to take an order.

BEACH:
No problem with beach chair availability, either. Waitresses also came out to the beach regularly. There was beautiful blue-green water one day; seaweed filled water a couple of the other days. Either way, it was better than anything I'm used to...

ENTERTAINMENT:
Entertainment was provided by a group called the "Star Friends." The names I remember are Mr. Fresh, Thunder, Bubbles, Stella, and Kiki. They all seemed to work at least 12 hours a day (all day at the pool or beach followed by nighttime shows or activities) and were 100% pedal to the metal whenever we saw them. They did a helluva job making sure people were having a good time. There were lots of activities throughout the day for varying ages, interests, and degrees of sobriety. We didn’t see any of the night shows.

MISC:
-I never felt like tipping was expected. I had to catch a few of the folks I wanted to tip while they were hurrying away to their next task (maybe I look poor.)

-We booked through TripGuy, and they took care of airport transfers through Reggae Tours; painless both ways, with the added bonus of a couple of Red Stripes while the shuttle from the airport to resort was being prepared. TripGuy also got us a $50 spa credit, round of golf (which we didn’t use,) and a bottle of rum and fruit plate on arrival. I usually don’t use agencies but from a price and convenience standpoint, I’d use them again. If you book everything on your own, I’d arrange for airport transfers ahead of time.

-The gift shops on site have a good selection of souvenirs, with similar prices to the airport gift shops.

-Good WiFi coverage throughout the resort.

Room Tip: All room layouts are the same. The hotel is U shaped: |_|. The garden and pool are in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to review our hotel. We were grateful to have been given the chance to host you on the occasion of your wedding anniversary. Our Management and staff pay a great deal of attention to the comments of our guests. By evaluating such comments, we can make necessary changes and also know what aspects of our service, our guests are happy with. It was rewarding to learn that you were generally pleased with your check-in, scenic room views, alcohol, entertainment shows and food at the Buffet and Surf and Turf Restaurants.

We were greatly disappointed to learn that your Butler service had been mediocre. It was unfortunate that you did not report your dissatisfaction with your Butler prior to your check-out, as we would have been anxious to ensure your needs were met. Our Butlers report to our Public Relations Manager, so a message left for your Butler with that Manager or with our Concierge would have been of great assistance. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused due to the inconsistent service of your Butler. Without your room number it will be hard to know which Butler was assigned to you, but we will certainly speak with our Butlers.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back, as we would endeavor to exceed your expectations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,449 - 3,455 of 6,605 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from Iberostar Grand, nice hotel but I would not consider it a 5 star. The shuttle from the hotel was a bit annoying right off the bat, we had to wait 20 min in a parked bus before it left only to find out we had to stop at 4 hotels on the way to drop people off at other hotels ugh! the last thing you want to do when you land in your final destination!!!! Very close to the airport (15 min) and we didn't hear one airplane land the entire time we were at the resort. The immediate reception at the hotel was fantastic with a hot towel to wipe your hands and a glass of champagne. Front desk and bus boys were great! Get a room on the fourth floor if you can- it's the only floor you can actually see the ocean from an ocean view room (Ocean front rooms have spectacular views). The Intense smell in the hotel of sewer/musty was trying to be masked by INTENSE air-freshners and candles everywhere you turn. If you are sensitive to perfume or smells DO NOT STAY HERE, you will be holding your breath the entire trip. It was our first time experiencing butler service and it was AMAZING!!!! He hooked us up with anything we wanted (private dinner on the beach, ordering pillows from the "pillow menu", massages at night, bubble bath and rose petals…) I regret not bringing more small bills in U.S currency because EVERYONE is looking for a tip everywhere you turn…It was kind of annoying. The pools were nice but have to get out early to get a good seat. Lots of covered areas so that was good to block you from the sun when you needed a break. The restaurants were good Japanese and Surf and turf were our favorite (Italian and indoor buffet were not so great) Make reservations ahead of time if you can because reservations book up fast. The Maria Rosa restaurant outside on the beach had the best buffet pretty much all day long (you have to wear a top/bottom and shoes to be served). daytime BBQ's on the beach for lunch were great - food was so good. Room service for breakfast was a really nice way to start our day, and I found room service food quality better. Fill out your breakfast menu at night and hang it outside on your door knob and they will deliver it at the time you request (takes 35-45 min for delivery!!!) As for the entertainment staff….AMAZING!!!!!!!! The list of daily activities were endless and the staff really does a good job of working the crowd. Kiki, Stella, bubbles, diamonds, blue eyes just to name a few were like family making everyone feel so welcome and getting people involved in activities. I can't say enough about them, they were amazing! Nightly shows and club were worth checking out too. Staff is extremely nice and always looking to see if you are ok for dinner reservations, drinks, sunscreen, towels, etc……The spa staff also comes around the pool daily to see if you would like to book services. Our spa experience was interesting…massages were very good but although the facilities were clean, some parts were under construction and some parts did not function…I'd rate it as a 3. Gym was a good size with a large variety of free weights and machines although 2/4 treadmills and elliptical machines were actually in working order. Spinning class was good. Shops at the Rose Hall were ok?, they are mostly all closed on Sunday when we went. Overall our experience was very nice but I would not rate it a 5, its more like a 4-41/2 with really good service. Everyone we spoke to off of the resort said we were staying at the BEST hotel in Montego Bay - A1 hotel for the area, so you are definitely in good hands here.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the best view of the beach for ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 407Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review which you have shared. It was an honor to have been able to accommodate you at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. However, we regret that your stay was not as hassle-free as we would have hoped. We have noted that you had an issue with the scent at the different areas of the hotel. Please be assured that we will be looking into this situation with great urgency.

We wanted to stress though that we do not expect guests to tip for every service they are given. We apologize if you felt pressured to tip our staff. For all prospective guests thinking of visiting, we would like to reiterate that tipping is always optional. It was unfortunate that your Spa experience was not as flawless as is usually typical of our Spa. Please pardon us, as it would appear that you visited us while we were engaged in carrying out much needed repairs to the Spa. All effort is being made to ensure that all our gym equipment is restored to full working order. To this end, our Management was grateful to hear that you enjoyed the professional services of our Spa staff whom, despite these challenges continue to offer their usual first-class service.

We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Iberostar Grand gets an A+ rating. Private, elegant, relaxing place to spend a few days. The Staff: Barrington, Theresha, housekeeping, butler, Kerri, all provided service with a warm smile and seem to really enjoy pampering the guests. Evening lobby entertainment very classy and relaxing. Theatre: live entertainment, shows all very appropriate for family viewing and definitely entertaining. Restaurants offer a variety of eating preferences, from healthy choice options, Jamaican cuisine, and regular tasty eat-whatever-you-want-to-eat-foods. Love the restaurants! Beach is the best of the Caribbean! The Spa is amazing! Tracy is the best! Planning to make another stop at this resort some time in the future for sure! Oh, and the view from the 4th floor balcony was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to review our property on this website. We were grateful for the opportunity of serving you. Your special recommendation of our staff, entertainment options, restaurants and cuisine was also very to our hardworking team. It was also rewarding to learn that you had been satisfied with your spa treatment. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent the day at this resort while on a Western Caribbean cruise. We really enjoyed our day. It was a 20 minute taxi ride to the resort from Falmouth. They have a beautiful beach and pool. They have a room that you can take a shower/change clothes in before going back to the ship. They have a beautiful buffet restaurant that looks out over the water. The food was GREAT. They were also having a barbecue on the beach (I guess they have a different theme everyday). When we first arrived, they seemed hesitant to give us day passes (I had called the resort ahead of time and they said that day passes were available and were on a first come, first served basis). Not sure what the hesitation was, but ultimately they said that they had room. It was a very relaxing day and we were glad that we spent it at the Iberostar!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pair-of-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to visit our hotel on your brief stopover in Jamaica. We were grateful to have been able to accommodate you for the day. It was especially encouraging to hear that you enjoyed our beach/pool ambience and delicious food. Please be assured that we have no reservation in welcoming Cruise Ship passengers on day passes, but such requests are always subject to our occupancy. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will consider returning to our hotel.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thank you Iberostar Hotel Team for a tremendous, relaxing vacation experience. This resort has moved to my top Caribbean resort for all around service, quality, food, entertainment, INCREDIBLE staff, and beautiful surroundings that are so well maintained.
Special thank you's to Sonia, Kimalley, Darrio, Randy, and Stanley for all that they do!!!
I will be back!!!
Sue

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Smurray319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for the pleasant feedback of your stay. Your comments about our service, food, entertainment and staff were most inspirational. We are honored that you chose our hotel for your recent Caribbean getaway and hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we were married in August , but with work and a surgery, there was really NO time to just relax. Firstly being picked up at the Airport was something we didn't expect. upon check-in we were greeted by Theresha, who did her outmost to make sure we were happy throughout our stay. Duran our Butler.....what can we say...He is why EVERYONE should go there. First class guy, and gets you anything you need and more, and always has a smile ! Sharon our maid, Dwayne our other Butler, and Jason, Butler -in-Training, ALL do a fine job. Shantelle at the Towel Hut, who is so sweet, remembered me from our last visit. The Guard at the Shoppes at Rose hall did too. Of all the a la carte restaurants, go to the steak house...AWESOME ! and ask for Barrington to serve you. This is our 2nd time staying there, 1st was in the suites part of the hotel, this time we went for the adults only side, wanted a more quiet time. It's our 6th trip to Jamaica, and it's like coming home every time, ya mon. The weather was GREAT ! Can't wait for our next visit already !

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and the rooms closer to the "suites side" are more closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the customer service offered by our staff. Your comments will serve to encourage our team who work tirelessly to meet the needs of all our guests. It was also rewarding to hear that you had enjoyed the cuisine at the Steak House restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property for a third time – and therefore hope that you will think of us as your destination of choice when planning your anniversary trip.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went here for my daughter's spring break. It was my husband, my son (age 25) , daughter (age 23) and myself. Was told that even though it was adults only it was not a couple's resort. Don't really agree with that. Would definitely say almost everyone there was a couple except my kids.
The food was very good. Liked the poolside grill each day for lunch.
The employees were very friendly. We had fun playing beach volleyball and participating in some of the other activities. Would like to mention Thunda, Shortcake and I believe, Peter. They were wonderful. Very friendly and fun. Thunda and Peter played soccer and billiards in addition to beach volleyball.
The shows were not so great and the wifi was only good in certain spots.
Was hard to get a chair by the pool as people would put towels on them before 9:00am. Also hard to get a chair by the beach if you were not there early enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer_traveler7013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your hearty recommendation of our property. Your kind comments about our food, poolside grill, and activities was also very motivating. Our hotel caters to all adults not just couples hence we have hosted business groups, groups of friends, parents and children as well as guests who travel solo. We look forward to serving you and your family again soon and trust that you will not hesitate to think of our hotel as your Caribbean “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,558 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,931 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $427 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing