We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican' my vacation amazin'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was my second trip to Jamaica, both at all-inclusives. Previous stay was at what is now the Couples San Souci in Ocho Rios over 10yrs ago. I've had the pleasure to stay at many All inclusive resorts and without a doubt, the Iberostar Grand Collection is the clear winner. We stayed for 7 days during the first week of December.

Resort: While transportation from the airport was not included, I ended up reserving a private car for less than the resort offered (which is a shared bus). As the limo drove through the gates and stopped at a somewhat small and unassuming entrance (at least for a huge resort like Iberostar) we were quickly greeted and escorted towards the front desk. Cold cocktail and refreshing face towel awaits as you walk into a grand, mediterranean styled central foyer. The scents of jasmine wafting from the flickering oil burners scattered throughout the place puts your mind at ease. We were early for our check-in so we were escorted to the restaurant on the beach to try and burn an hour or so while they prepped the room.

Room: I booked an oceanfront Jr. Suite which seemed like quite a long walk from the front desk. Again, the smells of Jasmine was prevalent and helped cover a slight musty Caribbean smell. Nothing disgusting, and was hardly noticeable. During the walk we were greeted by many workers, including the various butlers who would supposedly be catering to our every need. Upon opening the door to the room, a rather large double bathroom opposed by an equal length teak closet/bar setup bestowed our eyes. A very comfortable bed with our custom order of pillows was nicely decorated with towels folded into swans and scattered flower petals/chocolates. A smallish LCD TV and iPOD (both 30pin and lightning adapters incl) rested on a bureau. The marble floor led us toward a moderately sized living room area (open floor plan); then as you open the curtains, the view of the ocean and palapas invites you to take a step onto the cozy balcony. The rattan 2 person swing and large sofa were comfortable and clean.

Food: THE BEST FOOD at any all inclusive resort. Period! Kobe beef and lobster delivered to your room if you wanted it. High end dining choices at all the restaurants at any time. Great service, top shelf liquor, extremely fresh fruits and vegetables (awesome juices), and good variety. While all restaurants were top notch, we personally liked the Steak/Seafood grill and the buffet. Booking ahead of time, especially during high occupancy, is a must for all non-buffet restaurants.

Amenities: they offer an abundance of inclusions. Nightly entertainment, day activities, good shopping (good prices compared to town and airport and requires no haggling), and enough options to keep you occupied. Magicians, dancers, activity guides, and various workers always made sure you had a good time. The evening shows weren't necessarily my cup o tea, but many others seemed to enjoy it. The catamarans, kayaks, and other beach activities were quite fun, safe, and functional (although I did bruise my ribs diving for a volleyball). The Spa was nice (4*) and the sauna/steam/pools they offered were clean and enjoyable. The massage was better than average, and the decor could've been better..

Service: The BEST service outside of a Four Seasons and the BEST I've witnessed at any AI resort. Booking dinners and excursions were easy using the coordinators either near the front desk, at the elevators, or even via your butler. Actually, all of our needs were covered that we never had to use the butlers. The attention to detail and the comfort the workers provide are top notch.

Price: Great bang for your buck. 5 star stay, service, and food during peak season for an extremely reasonable price (via Expedia). Tipped some people (like beach/pool waitstaff) for extra attention.

Overall: The experience was so good that my next All-Inclusive vacation will be at an Iberostar Grand resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RobChills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are grateful for the informative review you have shared on this website. The Iberostar Grand name is synonymous with luxurious amenities, a relaxing ambience and excellent service. To this end, your comments highlight our personal commitment to our guests’ comfort. It was a privilege to have been able to serve you and even more of an honor to have been able to garner your admiration. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will think of the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall as your “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,582 - 3,588 of 6,600 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the first time for one week, and my girlfriend and I were blown away with the service, food, top shelf drinks, and 24 hour room service. Our butlers were at our beckoned call! Anything and everything you could ever need.
The best service we've ever had anywhere.
Special thanks to our butlers Darwin and Randy, and to Kiki and Bubbles.

Beautiful beach, warm water, breathtaking views, and lots to do
Respect Man.

Garrett and Jessica

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank 771garrettr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We have noted your generous recommendations of our service, food, alcohol and butler service with great pride. Whilst we are aware of the hard work of our Entertainment team, positive reviews like yours serve to motivate them to keep up their good work.

We were honored to have been able to host you and trust that you will return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Absolutely loved our 10 days at this resort. From the moment we walked into the lobby, the staff's service was outstanding. We meet so many great people and had a wonderful time hanging out by the pool and beach. The food was typical all inclusive food however, my husband gave the cook some money and was provided lobster everyday instead. The alcohol was name brand and will be brought to you whatever time of day or night that you want it. You will love your stay at this facility. The grounds are gorgeous, loved the butler service and our room was awesome! Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We were pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your recent ten (10) days of relaxation with us. It was unfortunate though that you thought you had to give the Cook money to obtain Lobster. Our Management humbly apologizes for this misunderstanding. This particular comment was of great concern to us as Lobster is available as part of our regular All-Inclusive package to all guests. Please feel free to email us at pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm to clarify this issue.

It was most rewarding to learn that you had enjoyed your overall stay and had especially been happy with our alcohol selection and butler service.

We look forward to your return and trust that you will think of our hotel as your “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is an amazing all inclusive with a true 5 star service and experience. We stayed here for NYE 14 and wow were me and my entire family amazed. The beach party staff were always around setting a good time , true premium alcohol beach bar service and beach BBQs every day. At night the a la carte restaurants were great and service was amazing. I have a severe gluten intolerance and every place made me feel welcome and safe to eat at. Chef Anthony on the beach was there every day to talk to me and would walk me through the buffet explaining what I could and could not have and would make something special for me if needed. To top it all off the most amazing part of the experience was the 24 hour butler service. Reneish took care of us and added a truly amazing experience. Reneish always went above and beyond , having my shoes shined by 6pm every night , and bottle of champagne waiting for us. Reneish was by far the best staff I have ever encountered at a resort. The staff here really make it a great overall experience. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Any room where Reneish is your butler will be a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdamCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are always grateful to learn that our guests were highly satisfied with their visit. To this end, your comments will no doubt inspire those team members that you had taken the time to get to know. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall will remain your hotel of choice when next you are visiting the Caribbean.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I would like to start by stating in the past 4 years we've stayed at 4 different iberostar grand hotels.
This will be a short review .
we stayed Nov. 13-20 2013
lets start with the airport transfer. in the past we had a personal car to and from the resorts not the overcrowded bus they put us on with the other cheaper resort clients, petty but it shows the way we were heading.
the room although it looks similar to the grand Paraiso, upon closer observation its far from comparable. this unfortunately continues throughout the entire resort. it seems it just never makes it up to par with the other Grands in the chain.
the other reviews state a number of problems and i can report most are still unresolved. the door going out to the pool from our building was stuck open and appeared to have been for some time, again petty i know but this is would not be tolerated at the other Grands.

the blind guys of hunter Douglas overtook the resort the second day we were there and ruined the romance we were expecting and making the pools and the piano bar less than relaxing. they would been more suited to the resorts next door

the ocean front room was an expense i always pay for, but the email requests from spain all the way through the line to the front desk prior to coming that assured us of a side room seemed to be lost upon arrival and we never did get into one. they did however know we were previous clients and tried to appease us with a couple large bottles to alcohol and some t-shirts, it didnt work.
the side rooms were claimed to be already occupied, i wont go into it but meeting a couple next to one it was empty the entire week.

should i mention the flotilla of drug dealers that occupy the surf early morning and evening? lets just say if you're inclined you wont need to worry about the security guards they appear to be in cahoots with them and wont give you any trouble

sorry for the ramble but i will say the outstanding part of the trip would have to be food, Moses the maitre'd was recognized from grand bavaro treated us with above the typical service.

in short if you want the grand experience stay at the other two resorts in punta cana or mexico you'll have a better time on your vacation and have the Grand experience you deserve for the money.

Steve and Tracey

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SteveF0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please remember though that airport transfer is always dependent on the Travel Agent or Tour Operator that you booked your hotel stay with. The Hotel did not arrange your transfer. In your case, it would appear that since you booked through Air Canada, they were responsible for your transfers.

We would like to humbly apologize for your disappointment in not getting a Corner Suite as per your request. We crave your understanding though, that guest requests are always subject to availability of that room type. Whilst a room may not be occupied, it may very well be that the room is out of service due to scheduled Maintenance work. Please be assured, our team would have no reason to prevent you from having the room of your choice, once it is fit for occupancy and in good order.

We have noted your observations about Drug Dealers with great concern, and will be directing your comments to our Security Manager, who will no doubt report the matter to the local authority.

It is unfortunate that we did not hear from you whilst you were in-house as we would have loved to see how else we could have made your stay even more romantic and relaxing. We look forward to being able to host you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- the star friends who work the hotel guests into dancing, playing games and sports are what made this vacation 1000 times better. Kiki, Shorty Cakes, Thunder and Mr Fresh were the best.
- location of restaurants - inside for rainy days and beach for nice days. Food is a hit or miss. Sometimes the food is so bland you want to spit it out other times it was better. I was overall not thoroughly impressed the food.
- beach and pools are really fun. And you can walk along the other resorts.

Cons:
- the place is grossly maintained. Cracks, dirt and grime in our bathroom, stained bathrobes and slippers, chunks of flooring and baseboards missing. Not just in our room but throughout the whole hotel. The place was built then appears to never been updated over the years.
- the women workers are sooooooo rude. About 10% are nice, the ones waitressing are, but the rest are downright rude. Don't look at you when ask questions, have snooty remarks, and give you nasty remarks. I could not believe how rude they were. And many people noticed.
- concierge were not very helpful and acted like your questions were an inconvenience to them. I couldn't believe it.
- they use the most disgusting candle scents in the hallway to mask the hotel odors.

I have stayed at amazing places that were four star and they far surpassed this place.

Overall, the griminess and rudeness of the staff will never make me want to come back here.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank Akayj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative feedback. We were greatly disappointed to learn that your recent visit had been an unpleasant experience. It was unfortunate that you had not requested to speak with our Public Relations Manager, or our Front Office Manager as we would have been only too anxious to give you a room change. These comments are not typical of our establishment, so we would have loved to meet with you personally before your check-out, to get a more detailed account of the problems you were encountering. We invite you to email us at pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm with a view to getting any additional information you can offer e.g. your room number and which departments you had encountered negative attitudes from.

Our hotel pays a great deal of attention to the quality of our customer service and any report to the contrary is always promptly addressed.

We apologize for the negative vacation experience and hope that you will consider returning in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have never been pampered in the way the Iberostar did! The most wounderful vacation my wife and I have ever had. I don't what else to say. The rooms are spotless the staff is very friendly and kind very helpful. The food is excelent a wounderful selection you name it they have it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tchicken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. It was a great privilege for us to have been able to host you and your wife. We appreciate feedback from guests, as such feedback assists us in making necessary changes and improvements. However, it was quite rewarding to learn that our rooms, staff and food had met your high expectations. We look forward to your return visit and assure you that your next visit will be even more enjoyable.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,557 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,930 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $426 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing