We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$327
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$519
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$295
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$316
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Hall Deluxe(Rose Hall)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Royal Villas at Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$1,270
$274
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$988
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
$1,392
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gemini Villa(Rose Hall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (6,999)
Filter reviews
6,999 results
Traveler rating
5,487
1,083
294
84
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,487
1,083
294
84
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfpillow menuport mariabutler servicejo danelobsterocean frontstar friendslobby barroom servicedinner reservationsbubble bathpool conciergeour honeymoong moneymontego bayjapanese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,165 - 4,170 of 6,999 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First let me express that my wife and I are experienced travelers. So the bar we have set for our hotels is very high. As a matter of fact, the hotel that sets this bar is the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana. The Grand Rose Hall is the 4th Iberostar resort we have been to in the past 9 years.

The hotel is around 15-20 minutes from Sangster Intl airport. We arranged private transfers which was very nice. No bus stopping at hotel after hotel.

The hotel is a bit older. The reception area is very nice, but the hotel is worn. The walls appear to have been newly painted as the baseboards in the hallways had paint splatters. Drywall in some areas of the ceiling was rough and not properly finished. Not a big deal but just not the polished exterior we've come to expect from Iberostar. Carpets lined the hallways unlike the tile/marble we normally see. The bathrooms are very nice with separate sinks for a couple.. The hair dryer had been handled by a small army and had the gunky handle to prove it. The shower was very nice with a big rain shower head and plenty of pressure. Step down living area and swing on the balcony were nice touches.

Our butler crew was non existent at first. We rarely saw him. We arrived on Saturday and by Monday we were asking for a restock of our mini bar as we hadn't seen anyone. We actually had to ask to have our room made up on Sunday at 3:30 as no one had been in. We did talk with a couple who had tipped the butlers up front and they couldn't say enough about how amazing the service was. Towards the end of our stay, the butler service did improve and he made us an anniversary rose petal bath with candles for our last night.

The staff at the pool were very good. Melisa especially was fantastic. The service at the outdoor buffet and each of the restaurants was very good as well. We enjoyed all of the restaurants and the food was very good. The buffet was your average buffet fare. The food is properly cooked just not very warm.

We aren't beach people, but the beach is very nice. Do be warned that vendors in kayaks do approach you and the smell of cannabis was very noticeable. We didn't experience this two years ago when we visited Montego Bay. We did like being at the resort during the off season. No crowds no waiting. The flip side is the resort is quiet and there wasn't much going on in the evening. Even the spa didn't offer the same services since the staff was using the down time to take classes or take time off.

Every year we get a couples massage and this was hands down the best. The hot stone massage was fantastic. The hydrotherapy area was not very good compared to other hotels. Not everything was in working order when we were there.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay. However for the money we would prefer to return to the resort we stayed in two years ago. The extra money just didn't equal an exceptional experience for us personally.

Room Tip: Room 6408 was a good room... Right next to the elevator, right in the corner on the top floor but not a ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blmkwit60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to apologize for any disappointment you felt by being with us. We are sorry that we had not heard from you whilst you were in house as any member of our Management team would have been only too happy to meet with you and discuss your concerns. Specifically we regret any issues of inconvenience namely, the blow dryer, mini-bar, and inconsistent service by your butlers. It would be a pleasure to host again you and show you our usual service standards as it is obvious from your review that your experience is not typical of our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I sat reading these reviews a few weeks ago just like you are now, trust me, just book this place.
I've travelled to well over 25 all-inclusives down south and this is by far #1 on the list.
I only like to stay at 4 or 5 stars - preferably 5 stars and this is the best 5 star I've ever stayed at hands down.
I travelled with my wife Oct 5-12th.
Everything about the resort is amazing!
The food, the staff, the rooms, the service, EVERYTHING!!!

We were welcomed with cocktails, my wife being pregnant didn't have any alcohol, from that moment that we told the lady at the front desk, the rest of the week the staff knew not to bring any alcoholic beverages for my wife. They brought champagne in a bucket of ice to welcome us, but it was fruit champagne - they were so pleasant and amazing, words cannot describe.

Just book the hotel - its amazing

The food at the buffet included shrimp, lobster tail, crab legs, filet mignon wrapped with bacon, any an all fruits, amazing desserts, unreal.

Few people that stick in my mind and a great big thanks - cook Anthony (one love) and Jason (ching chong man), to Aulet (server), Bubbles (star friends) - everyone is so genuine and pleasant and professional - they all deserve a big THANKS!!!

I have never gone to same resort twice in my life, but this one I would go back a million times in a heartbeat.
Thank you Jamaica and Thank you Iberostar - you were worth every penny.

Cheers

Room Tip: Got upgraded for free to oceanview - room in the 5 block on floor 3
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tmleafs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review of our property. We were ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed our warm service, friendly staff, and delicious food. Our team looks forward to serving you and assure you that we would make your return visit even more special. It is hoped that you will continue to think of us as your vacation “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I went for a destination wedding and we were so amazed of the location and the beaches they were nice and clean. The staff was incredible we would definetly come back again and recommend it to all of our friends. Mr. O was the best!

Sincerely
Brenda and Ken from Dumfries, Virginia

Room Tip: rooms on the south was quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We were grateful to have had the chance to serve you, so it was even more rewarding to learn that we had successfully met your vacation needs. We look forward to serving you again soon and trust that you will not hesitate to return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our third trip to Jamaica and all were at "Butlered" resorts. First, here are my pros and cons regarding our stay at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall (10/5/13 to 10/12/13).

Pros:
1. Check in was quick with a cold towel and a welcome drink and we were taken to our room immediately.
2. Room was super clean and nicely appointed.
3. The Ocean Front room # 6417 (top floor of Building 6000) view was spectacular.
4. Bed was great for sleeping.
5. Food was top notch. (Ate at the Galleon, Es Palau, Cornwall, Port Maria, Japanese and Italian)
6. Drinks were flowing and high quality.
7. Beach was beautiful with warm water and very little wave action.
8. Snorkeling off the beach was amazing (saw Lion Fish, Skates, Flounders, Spiny Sea Urchins, Small vividly colored fish and much more)
9. Pools were beautiful.
10. Star Friends kept things fun.

Cons:
1. Our room was across from the Butlery and the Housekeeping staff (around 8am every morning) were talking and singing loudly. (So we shut the door to the bath area at night to keep the morning festivities to a minimum - which kept the bedroom very DARK at night - I broke my toe on the bench at the end of the bed going to the bathroom)
2. The shower leaked profusely out of the bottom of the shower door (I had read about this in other TA reviews and I expected it would have been addressed - BUT no).
3. Butlers - no continuity - over the week we met 3 (1st day - 3rd day - last day)
4. Our two (and only two) butler requests about the fan not working on our porch were never addressed. (we asked and no one reported back or let us know anything on the status).
5. Concierge sevice was more helpful than our butlers.

If we had never gone to another resort in Jamaica which had TERRIFIC butler service - we would have been been wowwed at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall - but the bar was set too high.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are grateful for your informative review. Reviews like yours serve to assist us in assessing whether or not we are meeting our service targets. We were honored to learn that we you had left with positive memories. We have noted the issues you encountered as well, and would like to assure you that we will make every effort to address each one in a timely manner. Our team looks forward to serving you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the best of the Iberostar resorts in the area, very modern and you get a butler too. The room was very spacious and had a balcony to relax and enjoy the oceanview. Pay more and you get more at this resort, pay less and you get less at the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach resort next door. The breakfast buffet was okay, actually the resort next door had a better breakfast. But overall the room is what you will enjoy the most, hands down.

Room Tip: Get a higher room for peace and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your positive review. We are thrilled that you chose to share your comments with other prospective travellers. Our team looks forward to hosting you again and hope that you will not hesitate to think of us as your destination of choice for all future vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews