We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,227)
Filter reviews
7,227 results
Traveler rating
5,665
1,118
300
90
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,665
1,118
300
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfpillow menuport mariabutler servicelobsterjo danestar friendsocean frontlobby barroom servicebubble bathdinner reservationspool conciergejapanese restaurantour honeymoonmontego bayboogie nights
Filter
Updating list...
4,401 - 4,406 of 7,227 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked Iberostar Grand Rose Hall for our honeymoon. Were greeted with a cold cloth and mimosa prior to check in. Staff were very friendly right from the start. We had a quick check in process and were informed that we had been upgraded to Oceanview. Very nice surprise after a long day of travelling. The porter brought us to our room 6204, which was right behind the front desk. Not sure if this was a good thing or not, but once the door opened any doubts we had were gone. Our room was bright, beautiful and spacious, and despite the appearance of being on the ground floor was actually on the second and had one of the biggest balconies on the resort. First, I will start with the butlers. The service right from the start was exceptional. Due to the fact that we were travelling during a slow season, we didn't have the same butler every day as the hotel was rotating the staff where needed. We were greeted shortly after our arrival by our first butler Kav, a great guy! He gave us a walk through of the suite and explained everything to us and had some Jamaican patties delivered for lunch, amazing!! The next morning we met Duran, who also took great care of us :) He was our butler for most of our stay and was excellent. We were surprised one evening after dining at one of the a la carte restaurants by Dwayne who had set up a candlelit bath with champagne and dessert. Also, Stephen,was most helpful and provided another candlelit bath one evening. These four guys were amazing and made our visit very special, always quick to smile and offer any help needed.
We spent time both at the pool and the beach, facilities were spotless and staff were super friendly and really took care of us.
The food was exceptional. Both the buffets, the Cornwall and the Port Maria were excellent with lots of variety and great service. The Galleon, Surf and Turf was the best of the a la cartes and Ricardo was our waiter, he was fabulous. The Italian was ok but we really weren't crazy about the Gourmet, Es Palau. I had the beef bourgenon which was amazing, but the appetizers weren't great and some of the other entrees were just ok. Can't say if the Japanese was good or not as due to allergies to seafood we avoided that one, but room service made a great substitute. Hired cabbie Richie Lyle for a couple of hours, great guy! Overall experience, fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
9  Thank awelsh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. We were thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable honeymoon. It was also a pleasure to hear that you had enjoyed our service, facilities, food and in particular, our butler service. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Not so bad, traveling into the centre from This hotel is a 10 minute Walk.
Quiet safe no sespicous looking people there is a small market near the centre were
They serve pastry quiet good.and of course the fresh beer.
Its with a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manuel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to note that you took the time on your return home to review our hotel. We hope that you will think of returning and not hesitate to think of us as your Jamaican “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this beautiful resort to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Boy, what an amazing trip this was! From the food to the beach and the shows. You have everything here that you need. We went dancing on our first night and that was sooooo much fun. We had dinner almost in every restaurant and nothing disappointed. We were able to visit the other 2 hotels but we didn't need to since we had everything at the Grand Rose Hall. We became very fond of our bartenders. Kenny. Kenny is sooooo funny and so down to earth. Yes everybody gets along with bartenders but Kenny was a really cool guy. Sentilman was another drink genious. Always serving us his "special Sentilman" drinks. They were always a hit. My husband and I kept promoting his drinks to the new people that would join us at the pool bar. The tours that the hotel offers are very fun. Take advantage of everything they have. Free Kayak and Sailing. Our hot stone massage was soooooo relaxing. It was a couples massage and it felt like we were in heaven. We loved our midnight room service. Sleepy or not, those darn burgers and fries were so tasty. I highly recommend this place for a fun relaxing destination and also for an adventrous one.

Room Tip: Stay longer than a week. You will need more than a week to truly enjoy what Iberostar has to offer as well as the local towns. Use their room service!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chayoroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We were proud to know that we had exceeded your expectations. Your comments about our staff, toured offered on property and food was also greatly appreciated. We have no doubt that your kind words will serve to motivate all our staff. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for third time at the Iberostar Grand 08/18/2013 to 08/25/2013.

Upon arriving at the Grand, we were greeted with a chilled clothes and cold drinks.

We have stayed 11 times at Iberostar resorts in Jamaica Mexico, and the Dominican Republic. Six of those have been the Grands in all three of the countries. I have to say the Grand's are the best resorts we have ever stayed in anywhere.

We prefer an adults only resort to relax! We both have very hectic schedules and we need some quiet "pampered" time, which we totally find here! The Beach and the Suites resorts in Jamaica are great for a vacation if you have children.

Anything we would possibly needed, we received. I can not say enough about the staff at the Grand! I did not find one rude or lackadaisical person here. When I ordered room service, it usually took 30 minutes or less!

The staff is non obtrusive and ready to help you with any requests you may have.

We stayed in an ocean front. The rooms are large are kept very clean by house keeping.

There is a computer room with free internet service as well as a billiards tables. Several in house shops, cigar/bar for those who would like to smoke while enjoying your favorite beverage. A casino with slots to pass the time. Also has a theater. All of the main bars have top shelf liquor and a large selection of different beers.

The Grand has extremely elegant decor that is absolutely breathtaking. It is an awe striking place to behold. There is beautiful art work, that include a large fresco on the ceiling of the main lobby and all beautiful plants though out the resort. The entire resort is immaculate and very well maintained without disturbing the guests!

There are 3 pools and a wet bar to enjoy. Fantastic white sandy beach and perfect service.

The beach has some rocky areas. I suggest wet shoes. We used our shoes all of the time to save our feet whether on the beach or at the pool.

Make sure to check out the exercise room and spa area which also includes a juice bar,

The food is excellent. It is hard to say which restaurant we liked the most. It's really is a toss up between the Surf and Turf and Gourmet. I would put the Japanese and Italian behind those. If you don't want to adhere to a restaurant schedule there is a buffet. It features different international foods on certain nights. There is also 24 hour room service.From 11:00 am to 5:00 pm you can have a bite to eat at the lunch buffet that sets facing the ocean. All were marvelous!!

Staying at the Grand resort allows you to use all properties at the Iberostar Rose Hall complex. Any restaurant or facility. We visited the Suites next door to the Grand and found it very beautiful as well.

Our week went way to fast and we can't wait to return.

To our friends in the Suites PR and you know who you are, thank you so much for another fantastic vacation and we will be seeing again soon!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are to die for. :-)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank grizzwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, staff and elegant décor. We have noted your positive compliments about our Resort and hope that you will think of returning soon. We look forward to welcoming you back and trust that you will not hesitate to book the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As many of you are sitting there right now trying to decide where to go, I was in your shoes for many months! My husband and I were looking for a resort to stay at in Jamaica. We had traveled to Jamaica on many occasions, this one being for our 10 year anniversary. This was our first stay at the Iberostar Grand and won't be our last!

We added on the VIP access that is optional when booking our trip with Orbitz. Worth every penny!!! They met us at the gate with our name on a sign. We felt like movie stars! The nice lady then escorted us through customs past the HUGE line. We were sipping rum punch in the lounge and were off to the resort in less than 10 min.

Let me mention the resort is a short 20 min from the airport. Also something to think about when arriving and departing. Once at the resort we checked in. Our room was not ready yet so we headed to the buffet for some food.

The days following were nothing but being a pure beach bum! We had over the top service any where we were!!! I also enjoyed a hot stone massage and facial at the spa. I am not a frequent spa guest but this is BY FAR one of the nicest spas I have ever been to!!! A little pricey but aren't all spa's? Again... worth EVERY penny!

When booking a room, if you like sunsets go ocean front. We upgraded once we got there. (at a price of course)

Our overall stay was FABULOUS! I think you can go any where in the world and stay at a nice resort, but the Jamaican people make this place unique!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
9  Thank LadyGtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that you will not hesitate to book our hotel for your next vacation or wedding anniversary.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews