We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort for a relaxing vacation! Review includes a comparison with Iberostar Grand hotels Paraiso, Mexico & Bavaro, Punta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing resort for a relaxing vacation! Review includes a comparison with Iberostar Grand hotels Paraiso, Mexico & Bavaro, Punta”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I (Aussies in our early 30's) stayed at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall for nine nights in June 2013. We'd previously stayed at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana, DR (May 2011) and Iberostar Grand Paraiso, Mexico (June 2012), so I will also include a comparison between the three IB Grand resorts throughout this review.

Overall resort:

IGRH is a beautiful, luxurious all-inclusive adults only resort. The people are super friendly with the trademark Jamaican megawatt smiles and relaxed attitude (think "yea mon, no worries"). We loved hanging out by the pool, enjoying a drink at the pool bar or lobby bar, indulging on the delicious food and cocktails, and meeting lots of people (staff and guests alike).

The overall resort is so similar to IG Bavaro, from the furniture, decor, look and feel etc, with the Paraiso being similar too but with a more spread out layout. Both IG Rose Hall and IG Bavaro have a real lush tropical feel with lots of palm trees and deep blue water; while IG Paraiso has a "grander" more luxurious, opulent feel. - more bells & whistles. Rose Hall is the smallest of the Grands but did not feel at all cramped or too small - even at close-to-full capacity it didn't feel cramoed or crowded.

Rooms:

The rooms at IGRH are really nice - roomy suites with comfy king bed, great balcony with couch and swinging love seat, big bathrooms with two sinks and jet spa tub. The rooms don't have wifi but do have an ethernet connection, so we brought a portable unit (Apple Airport Express) and had internet access on our iPhones and iPad from our room and balcony the whole trip, which was a great solution. Note you will need to request a password for each device, but there were no issues with this.

The rooms are identical to the rooms at IG Paraiso and almost indentical to IGB (slightly different configuration). All the rooms are the same throughout the resort - the difference being the view.

I think we had the best room in the whole resort (at least for our preferences). We opted for Oceanfront, which means you are right on the beach facing directly on to the ocean. We were in room 6423, which is on the farthest side of the 6000 building right in the corner of the top floor - overlooking the beach and the undeveloped area to the west of the resort. The view was spectacular. We wanted a private quiet room and prefer not to overlook the pool areas, so this room was perfect. Probably more out of the way than other rooms but as the overall resort isn't huge we were still close to everything.

Butler & concierge service:

Our butler greeted us at the start of the trip and very promptly organised everything we needed (pillow menu, minibar requests). He was friendly and professional and informative. He offered to organise a bottle of champagne to start off our stay and we happily accepted - he did this again several times over our stay and who was I to say no!

We requested a bottle of scotch for the room which wasnt a problem, and our minibar was restocked with our preferences of mini alcohol bottles, water, sodas and beer daily. Plus doritos and chips daily. And our ice bucket was refreshed each day too. Similarly, anything else we wanted was brought up really promptly.

The concierge desk was friendly and efficient in restaurant reservations and everything else we could ask for.

And housekeeping was great too - our room was serviced daily during the day and again at night with a turndown service - often with a chocolate left on the pillow.

Having now stayed at three Iberostar Grand resorts, and having read hundreds of reviews of each, I do think the butler service is very much dependant on who you get and what you want out of it. We are pretty low maintenance and are happy to call the concierge desk to ask a question or organise a reservation. We've been extremely happy with the service at each stay - I think IGP and IGRH have had the better service from the butlers and concierge.

Food & drink:

I love all-inclusive resorts due to the relaxed, everything-taken-care-of feeling, and being able to get food and drink whenever you like is fantastic. The quality of food at the IGRH is really good for an all-inclusive - we ate so much (I put on a few pounds!) and were never lacking for choice.

Breakfast was served in the main buffet and had a great selection of options and great service. each day there were two egg/omelette stations for made-to-order eggs & omelettes, which I loved. Also lots of fresh juices and your normal breakfast fare, plus some jamaican specialities. You could also pre-order breakfast to your room, or order room service (30-45 min wait). We did both, and were really happy with the room service breakfast. Lovely eating out on your balcony in the morning sun.

Lunch was served in an open air buffet restaurant by the beach. It was very nice sitting by the beach, close to the ocean, to enjoy your lunch. I prefer this to a more formal lunch option. The buffet selection was fantastic - we were spoiled for choice and it was hard to limit yourself to one plate! Great service here too.

On the Wednesday they did a big beach BBQ with Jamaican jerk meats and lots of salads and sides. This was fantastic and not to be missed. Great atmosphere with a live band and tables set up by the ocean on the sand. I loved the jerk chicken and jerk beef - make sure you try this at least once!

We also got room service lunch on two occasions - the Kobe beef burger is really good and a few nice salads also on the menu.

The lunch buffet stays open after lunch (4-6pm) with snacks and late lunch options - chips, cheeses, nachos etc - great for an afternoon snack by the pool.

In the evenings, the buffet was open on select nights, with usually three other restaurants available per night (of a total of four). We ate at the buffet twice - once on Wednesday which had a Mexican-themes buffet and on the Thursday night, which was supposed to be an outdoor beach BBQ but moved inside due to the weather (it didn't actually rain in the end but was threatening). To be honest we were a bit disappointed with the buffet - it wasn't bad, but wasn't special. The Mexican themed night had one station with Mexican food (including a taco station) but the rest of the buffet was the standard fare. It was fine but not special. I'd stick to the a la cartes.

A la carte options were Italian (our favourite), surf & turf, Japanese and gourmet (which we didn't try). Seating times were 6:30, 7, 8:30 or 9. The Italian was superb and great menu with lots of choices. The Japanese has a tepanyaki grill which was lots of fun, and the sushi, tempura and other dishes were good quality. Surf and Turf was mostly good too, although a bit hit and miss in that they were not consistent in cooking the steaks (hubby and I both ordered medium rare and got one almost rare and one medium). We rolled with this as we are pretty laid back when it comes to that sort of thing, but this restaurant wasn't quite up to scratch (that said I LOVED my meals both times, so worked out ok for us).

We were able to choose from a selection of included wines each time - it varied as to whether we were offered this or whether we had to ask. The red wine we chose was chilled on one occasion which wasn't ideal - but the same wine wasn't chilled on the next occasion we ate at the same restaurant. Minor issues. Given that we didn't have any luck choosing wines at the other iberostar resorts, the overall wine experience was better at IGRH.

Service at a la cartes was exceptional 95% of the time - and always super friendly. It seemed that on the few occasions when they were much busier than expected the service dropped a bit - nothing bad just a bit slower than their normal high standard. The restaurants are beautiful, and our evening meals were really enjoyable. A highlight of our stay.

If comparing the food across resorts, we enjoyed different things at each resort. All resorts had the same menus each time, except the Italian was different at IGRH this trip - not sure if theyve changed this in the other resorts also? Big improvement! At IGRH our favourite was the Italian. At IGB, it was the Surf and Turf and at IGP we loved the Japanese. The dinner buffet was best at IGP, but we preferred the beautiful outside dining at lunch at IGB and IGRH. Given the menus are the same, I think it depends a lot of the chef on the night and the produce. Some reviews have noted that IGP is the only one of the reorts with the option of ordering off the a la carte menu at breakfast or lunch. This is correct, but made absolutely no difference to us since we never did this at IGP anyway.

We spent our evenings at the lobby bar or Cigar bar - both had great drink service, huge selection of top-shelf spirits, and really fast and friendly. Most nights we found the lobby bar pretty quiet after 10pm. I enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting with the bartenders and other guests. We found we met more people at Rose Hall than our previous trips - was a slightly younger crowd and friendly atmosphere. We also had some great evenings chatting with the staff - being an English speaking country made a difference (we don't speak Spanish) and we found the Jamaican people to be super friendly and fun - great sense of humour too.

The pool bar at the main pool is fun, with swim-up and poolside service. There was drink service around the pool too which was first class - the girls serving deinks came around so frequently you were never lacking for a drink, and were super quick and friendly. The cocktails are yummy however can get quite sweet after a few! Our faves were pina coladas, miami vice, jamaican smile (which is more like a dessert than a drink) and tequila sunrise.

Pools:

The IGRH has one main pool area that is separated into three pools - the pool farthest from the beach is a quieter pool, the middle pool is used for activities and has a basketball hoop and volleyball net etc, and the pool right by the beach is an infinity pool with the pool bar. The layout around the pool is lush and tropical with palm trees and lots of loungers both in and out of shade. I loved how the main pool just seems to fall into the ocean, and if you're in the main pool you can look out right onto the beach.

We were always able to find shade at the pool even coming down as late as midday - no issues with "towel games" or anything like that. Compared to IGB and IGP this was a pleasant surprise. And the resort was at almost full capacity. The atmosphere around the pool was fun but relaxed - music playing, different activities and games etc, but quiet enough to read or snooze.

The layout was more compacted than IGB or IGP. IGB has a real tropical feel with cabanas tucked behind corners in the curvy landscaping and gardens. IGP has a huge main pool and lounges are more spread out. IGRH is a bit less private in this respect. On the plus side IGRH has that tropical island feel I really love, similar to IGB - palm trees, lush vegetation and deep blue water in the pools, looking out over the ocean. IGP doesn't quite capture this - and the water in the main ppools as a green tinge due to green tiles, which isn't as aesthetically pleasing. The IGP however has the big advantage of having a separate "tranquility" pool and the indoor pool in the spa area.

Beach:

We spend most of our time at the pool so the beach isn't a big factor for us. We spent a short time one morning on the beach but found it a bit windy - not sure if it was like that all the time. The water was very warn and clear, with a bit of an undertow in the water but no big waves. Nice soft sand. There were always stacks of people on the beach and those we spoke to loved the beach area and got great drink service. Lots of activities on the beach too.

Compared to IGP the palapas at the beach did look less spread out. We didn't walk down past the other resorts, so can't comment on that either. A beautiful beach which was all that mattered to us.

Activities & entertainment:

The Star friends were friendly and enthusiastic and tried to hit the right balance between encouraging you to join in the activities but leaving you to relax if this is what you preferred. We enjoyed interacting with the Star Friends here at IGRH far more than we had at the other Grands... the Jamaicans have a great sense of fun, are high energy but still with that laid back "no worries" feeling. It also helped that they were all English speaking. This was a big factor in making our stay really enjoyable.

There are pool activities like volleyball, bingo, dancing, ping pong, cooking demonstartions, water aerobics etc happening throughout the day. There are also water sports on the beach, which we didn't use. We typically prefer to chill by the pool and dont get too involved in the various activities, but they are fun the watch and the star friends make them a form of entertainment!

There did seem to be more activities at IGP, particularly more pool actitivies. However at IGRH we found more occasions when the star friends would come by your lounger for a good chat... One day when we were playing chess by the pool (there are lots of games and activities you can use) we taught one of the star friends the basics of the game - he caught on super fast too!

The Theatre had shows every night which were pretty similar to those at the other resorts. We saw two: Boogie nights and the Big Band show. Their female lead singer was fantastic. The quality of the shows is great, however once you've seen these a few times they can feel a bit same same from resort to resort. Quality-wise the shows were comparable to IGP.

On the Thursday night instead of the theatre show they had a pirate themed beach party, which was stacks of fun. They go to a huge amount of effort and create a fun atmosphere with games and activities on the beach. I'd love the other resorts to do something on the beach on an evening - great fun!

We also enjoyed hanging out in the billiards room playing pool. There was also a dart board and lots of games available.

We played golf at all three resorts. At IGRH the included golf is at Cinnamon Hill golf course, which is not an iberostar owned course like at IGP and IGB. It's an amazing course, oceanside on hole five, with great views on the back nine. And challenging too! The package includes your own caddy (who you need to tip $20) and you also need to pay for cart fees ($20). Drinks and snacks and green fees are included. If you're a golfer this is a great inclusion and we had lots of fun on the course. Bring your camera!

We went to the disco on two occasions. As with the other resorts, the disco is shared across the iberostar resorts (Suites and Beach). The disco was fun - great atmosphere, lots of people, mainstream music with everyone dancing. Yes it's touristy but lots of fun. The disco at Rose Hall is smaller than the disco at Paraiso - hubby preferred Paraiso's disco (which has a more modern feel despite a Star Wars theme which is really cheesy). IGB had a small casino, which is something we would have loved to see in Paraiso and Rose Hall as another nightlife option. There was a small room with maybe a dozen slot machines at Rose Hall, which we didn't enter - don't go expecting that this room is a casino though!

Overall:

We loved our stay at IGRH and would definitely return. It's a really relaxing vacation, where you can do as much or as little as you want. The Jamaican people were awesome and made this vacation a lot of fun. The food, drinks and service are all top-notch for an all-inclusive resort. This resort is perfect for a relaxing, indulgent vacation.

I think all three Iberostar Grands are really SO similar, and depending on your preferences each person will find different things they love most about each resort. My thoughts:

- IGP is the grandest, most opulent and luxurious, and first-class service. Bigger and newer resort, more bells and whistles, more facilities.
- IGRH is the most friendly, fun and laid-back, with great service in a tropical setting. It's smaller in size but the Jamaican people make up for this with their big personalities. Also is English speaking which was a plus for us.
- IGB is the right combo of grand and tropical, with gorgeous, lush grounds and great layout. Great service though communication could be a bit of a challenge for non-Spanish speakers like us.

For us, the perfect resort would be the IGRH people with IGP service at the IGB resort grounds :) But if thats not possible, we'd happily stay again at any of the resorts. Next trip we might try something new, or if we were to go back to an Iberostar it would probably be IGRH.

Hope this review is helpful, feel free to ask any questions!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank L77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review which you have chosen to share with other prospective travellers. In your comparison we noted that you rated our staff and their friendly yet professional service as being a major selling point of the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall property. This is most rewarding to our team who work assiduously for the complete satisfaction of all our valued guests. Whilst we are all too aware of their efforts, it is the actual recognition by guests that have experienced our customer service first-hand that means even more to us. We are also cognizant of the fact that a physical structure is not enough to maintain the loyalty of our many repeat guests, but instead we must rely on efficient service, the very best in amenities and the professionalism of our staff to engage with guests without being obtrusive.

Though we are thankful that you intend to be loyal to the Iberostar brand, we are hopeful that from now on you will think of our property as your vacation “home away from home”.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,070
    998
    265
    75
    44
See reviews for
702
4,227
150
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,003)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were looking for a quick weekend getaway and listened to great reviews on tripadvisor for this resort. Unfortunately at approximately $600 a night, this place does not nearly live up to its price.

We were only here for 3 nights. The first day, we got up early to get to the pool. By 8 am, there were towels on every decent beach chair "reserving" the spots. This isn't uncommon for a place like this, so we let it go and still tried to have a good time. At 3:30 pm, we came back to our room to rest for awhile. To our surprise, the room was still uncleaned. We let it go, probably just a one day thing. The next day, same thing. Left at 8 am and came back at 3:30 pm, room still dirty. I called down to speak to a manager and was told there were no managers on site, but housekeeping is open until 4:30 pm, so "no worries man", your room will be cleaned.

Its unfortunate at this price point (again $600 a night) that this is the kind of service you would encounter. On top of that, the food is terrible at this resort. They have their restaurants where you have to make reservations and wear "pants and sleeved" shirts to dine at. They are essentially what you would expect of a bad pop up restaurant where they create a terrible, tacky atmosphere and expect you to have a good time. I think the only example that is needed is that at the "italian" restaurant, I ordered the octopus appetizer. It arrived as a few pieces of octopus covered in a white mush that was called "potato foam" that essentially appeared like day old white vomit drizzled with olive oil. Completely inedible.

I am realistic and knew what to expect at an all inclusive place. But, at $600 a night, you would expect that by 4 pm in the afternoon, your room would be clean and you would not be insulted when asking for an explanation on the second night in a row that this happened.

I would recommend that you spend your money elsewhere. The Iberostar is not worth the price tag.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bos2n1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We thank you for sharing your review. It is unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations and we wholeheartedly apologize. To ensure that all guest issues are speedily attended to, we have a system in place for all complaints or queries to go through our Public Relations Department/ Public Relations Manager. Since there is always a Public Relations Manager on duty, we are not sure why you were not directed to that person. We regret this inconvenience that was caused. It was also disappointing for us to learn that you were very dissatisfied with the quality of the food. We would have been happy to have met you before your departure as we often try to fix issues so that our guests can leave with positive memories.

Persons are also invited to check our website www.iberostar.com as there may periodically be special rates that you can take advantage of. We are hopeful that you will consider coming back to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and suggest that prior to such a visit you could email pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm with a copy of your review below for easy reference/identification.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I am writing from the plane home in a last ditch attempt to hold onto my stay in Jamaica a little longer. Went right from breakfast to the beach before leaving this morning instead of my usual leisurely start, getting to the beach and pools after lunch. This early start is something I wish I'd done more. The beach is quiet and beautiful. Neither enormous nor too small or crowded.

We have been to many top rated Caribbean resorts and all-inclusives over the years, and The Iberostar Grand Hotel - Rose Hall is one of the two best that we have experienced. In the week we spent there, we were pleasantly surprised at every turn. Things that have been issues in other all inclusive were not issues here. For instance, there was always an abundance of towels and chairs outside, both in the sun and in the shade. Lots of fun activity at the pool too, but it wasn't invasive. There were decent yoga classes, something that has been iffy at other resorts. There were wine and jerk tastings, exercise classes, and pool games. All fun but we tend to follow our own beat and aren't big group people. Evening entertainment is standard fare. We were more impressed by the dancers than by the musical productions. Found a decent reggae band one night, karaoke silliness, and obnoxious but fun disco/dancehall late night shenanigans. There was plenty of opportunity to just soak in quiet relaxation too. The staff knew how to engage you warmly and also how to give you space.

One of the most pleasant surprises was the quality of food. We expected decent but not phenomenal since all-inclusives aren't known for fine dining. We ate in three of the four restaurants: French, Surf and Turf, and Japanese. They were all excellent. The cut and quality of every steak/beef dish we ordered was comparable to fine steak houses that we are used to at home, maybe better. We were lucky to have lobster both on its own and in several dishes (lobster thermidore, lobster and chicken teriyaki, and a lobster cream soup similar to a bisque). Consistently excellent. Our stay was from June 28th through July 5th. From April through June there is a restriction on lobster fishing in the area, so shrimp is substituted for lobster in the restaurants, but starting on July 2nd the lobster was plump and plentiful. Yummy timing for us!

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The wicker love seat swing on the balcony was a nice touch. Our room was at the end of the property, which was lovely because our ocean view was of a quiet unspoiled area, making us feel deliciously more secluded that we were.

Probably the most pleasant memory for us is the warmth and responsiveness of the staff. Everyone without exception was genuinely warm and engaging. I'd like to send a shout out to Francine in the French Gourmet restaurant. In addition to wonderful service and helpfully honest menu suggestions, she managed to join us for some hearty laughs and conversation. The chefs at the Japanese restaurant hibachi tables were unbelievable. No cliched onion volcanos here--but some masterful knife juggling. Donovan, one of the butlers was especially kind and astute; you knew he was there if you needed something but we needed so little that we didn't see him except for briefly as we came and went. It feels almost unfair to mention specific staff because there were so many terrific people whose names we have already forgotten, but whose smiles have left a happy and lasting impression.

To be fair, there were a few things that could be improved. The Internet was slow and sporadic. (No WiFi in rooms so we brought our own router but the connection was slow and we lost it completely rather frequently.) This was not just a room issue. Even in the lobby, the reception was slow.

Basic information was not always easy to come by. While most resorts put a daily info sheet for the next day in your room as part of its turn down service, Iberostar posted minimal information each morning in a couple central locations. Not the end of the world, but it would have been preferable to know what times breakfast or lunch was served in which locations or what the yoga or gym or entertainment options were before leaving the room.

The hotel policy around having butlers do everything for guests felt a little weird and inefficient. For instance, when we wanted wine or the minibar restocked, we pushed the "Butler" button on the phone. This connected us to an operator who sent the butler to our room. The butler than called from our room phone to someone else who sent another person to bring up what we requested. I guess some people feel special having their "own butler," but this felt like pandering to one's ego in a way that I don't need. The butlers were warm, hard working, attentive men, but I don't need a personal assistant to call for another towel or bottle of wine.

On a final note, one of the frozen drinks served at the pool was called a Jamaican Smile. It was a thick, sweet, strawberry and rum concoction--more of a dessert than a beverage. Sure I'll remember enjoying these while guiltily ignoring their zillion calories, but what I'll remember much longer is the real Jamaican smiles and the beautiful warm people who made our vacation here carefree and lovely. Yah mon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoudWritr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to share your review. We appreciated that you took the time on the way home to remember us, especially as your review will serve to inform other prospective travellers about our service. We are also pleased to hear that you got the chance to experience the excellent cuisine of our specialty restaurants especially since you came just in time to enjoy some of our lobster meals. We feel that the Butler/ Concierge service adds to a more efficient service as they can follow-up on your request. Though each Department is responsible and professional enough to carry out their assigned duties, requests made through your Butler/Concierge is followed up to check that you were satisfied as well as your requests are recorded for future visits. Our Repeat Guests can attest to the fact that when we make notes of your preferences – you may just find you may not even have to ask for some items. We invite you to come again soon where our usual warm welcome awaits you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

To give readers some background, I am 26 years old and traveled to this resort with my fiance, brother (age 25), other brother and girlfriend (ages 19), and parents. We've been to many other Caribbean resorts, including Iberostar Bavaro in Punta Cana, Iberostar Pariso in Playa de Carmen, Atlantis in the Bahamas, Fairmont in Bermuda, etc. This was our first experience with the Grand collection, and we loved it. We stayed June 8-14th 2013.

Grounds- I can't say enough about the grounds. As you've probably read from other reviews, they are immaculate and beautiful. Overall, the area is smaller than some of the other resorts we've been to, so there's less walking.

Rooms- We had an oceanfront room on the second floor. The rooms were almost identical to those in the other Iberostars we've stayed in, however, the balconies made this one stand out. They were larger and had great hanging swings;perfect for breakfasts overlooking the ocean. My fiance proposed to me out on the balcony our second night there, and the scenery made it especially unforgettable! The housekeeping staff was extraordinary and turn down service made it extra special.

Beach- a little disappointing at the beginning of our stay. It was rougher and not as clear compared to other places we've been, but it got calmer and clearer with each day as the wind died down. By the last day, it was very clear, calm, and blue/green. The Grand's beach was much better kept compared to the neighboring Iberostar resorts. We did encounter some seaweed, depending on how windy it was. The water was the warmest of any place we've been to. Being on the north side of the island, it was neat to see the sun rise and set over the water.

Pools- 3 pools: top pool was very calm/relaxing, middle pool was sporty with basketball and volleyball, ocean front infinity pool was the fun one with the swim-up bar. Waitresses around the pool are amazing, and the bartenders are great too. It was often hard to get loungers around the infinity pool, but there were many open ones around the other two.

Food- We ate at the buffet three times and also did the Italian, Japanese, Surf & Turf restaurants. Overall, the food was very good. I loved many of the fish/shrimp dishes, and the presentation was beautiful (we were disappointed to learn that there were no lobsters due to the no-catch season). I emailed about reservations over a week ahead of time, but we still couldn't get reservations before 8:30 (we did have a party of 7). The only thing that bothered us was the amount of time it took to get food at the restaurants. By 8:30, we were all very hungry, and it took over 10 minutes just to get bread and drinks. The lunch buffet was okay, with certain items being much better than others. There was a great salad bar, and the ceviches were amazing. Desserts were not so great, as we've experienced at most all-inclusive Caribbean resorts. There was one amazing chocolate molten dessert at the surf & turf restaurant. We often found ourselves skipping out on desserts at the sit down restaurants because service had been so slow and we had already been there for an hour and a half plus. We did room service two or three times and really liked the club sandwich, pizza, and fries. The amount of time you had to wait was hit or miss. We often received ours within 30-40 minutes, but my brother waited over an hour for his and had one that never even came. I do recognize that they are trying to resolve this problem though, as we received a call afterwards each time asking if we got our order/if it was correct.

Bars- We mainly hung out at the lobby bar, which was a good time. I loved the live music, and the bartenders were great (Ardley & Oneil). My younger brother is a music enthusiast and plays the guitar/bass. Ardley not only played a multitude of songs for us but also allowed my brother to use his guitar so he could play some Bob Marley for the crowd.

Entertainment- This is one area we were disappointed with, mainly because of the venue. At the other Iberostars we've been to, the entertainment venue has been close to the lobby bar and open air. So you could hang out at the lobby bar and listen to the entertainment at the same time. This one was in an enclosed area that you had to seek out, so we ended up not attending any full shows.

Special Events- The make our own jerk chicken was a fun experience, and it was great to get lively music out by the pool/beach. The pirate beach party was a highlight of the trip on our last night, and the games made it so much fun! We came home with a few Iberostar t-shirts as prizes.

Staff- It was wonderful having the butler service, and our main butler, Duran, was spectacular. He not only catered to our every request (I loved getting bottles of champagne with cheese/crackers delivered to the room) but also took time to get to know us. Even after his shift for the night was over, he took time to hang out in our room and chat with us for a while. He also prepared a candle lit bath with rose petals and champagne in celebration of our engagement. The star friends are also amazing, and we had a great time hanging out with shortcake, Mr. Fresh, and Mr. Neat.

Overall, I would definitely return to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. They make you feel special as guests and bend head over heals to ensure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing but small compared to other places we've been to. The balconies with the swings overlooking the ocean were an addition that made it special. I don't know if I would rate it as my number one travel destination, as we really liked the Iberostar Bavaro and would like to return, as a Grand had been built since we went there. But overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in great food, amazing views, awesome pools, a wonderful staff and being treated like a queen/king.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. Your comments will serve to encourage our team who work tirelessly to ensure our guests’ satisfaction.

We noted though that you found the service in the Restaurants slow and will be passing on your review to both our Executive Chef and Restaurant & Bar Manager in order to speedily rectify that situation. This is not a typical comment about our Restaurant service, so we are not sure what happened but we humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to any one of our properties, but in particular hope that you will reconsider visiting us here in Jamaica again as it was a pleasure to have hosted you the first time.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I visited the Iberostar Grand for our 10th Anniversary. I read countless trip advisor reviews and all of the great ones are true. Beautiful beach (with three small reefs to snorkel on--down at the suites), wonderful staff...Star Friend Kiki I enjoyed beating you at the hammer and nail game on Pirate Beach Party Night :) thanks for the t-shirt. Bubbles was awesome too! Kevin at the beach side buffet, thank you. Michael at the Surf and Turf was a great waiter and one of the happiest people we met in Jamaica. Ray our Butler made sure we had what we needed and a special thank you for the rose petal bubble bath for our anniversary.

The room was large and had every thing you would expect in an upscale resort. We were disappointed that our room 5432 didn't have a roof so we couldn't sit out when it was raining and there was also no swinging lounge chair that everyone writes about.

Areas that need improvement: The Surf and Turf is inconsistent with their meat cooking. We went twice, on our first visit the filet mignon was requested medium and it came out extremely rare. We sent it back and they put it back in the oven and sent the same piece back with a charred outside and still very rare in the center. The second time we went the meat came out perfectly. Overall the food was very good but not quite excellent. The Japanese was our favorite, followed by the Italian and then the Surf and Turf (because of their poor performance). Tip: order the Kobe Beef cheeseburger from room service, it is awesome!

The Spa sends staff members around to the beach trying to sign you up for massages. My wife and I signed up and then got a sunburn. The day of our massage we told another spa staff member on the beach that we were canceling. She looked at us and said you have to call the spa 4 hours before to cancel or they bill you. We were stunned because we were never informed of that. In fact, the original staff member kept saying "we hope to see you tomorrow." It sounded optional. We were fortunate enough that the staff member agreed to let us cancel. But be careful so that you don't get billed.

On our last night they forgot to turn down our room. Not a big deal, but it really shouldn't happen.

The TV is really small for a resort of this caliber. It would have been nice in the rain to have been able to watch a movie on a larger screen TV.

I'm really being picky and none of these items should deter you from staying at the Iberostar Grand. It really is an awesome place and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aolejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your informative review with us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service of our staff, especially the Entertainment staff, Waiters and Bartenders. We profusely apologize for the negative impression you received of the Spa staff as it pertains to how communication is passed on to guests. Persons are in fact usually told to inform the Spa if there will be a cancellation as appointments are made for each client - we do not have persons sit and wait for service. If this was not the case when you made the booking, we deeply regret that miscommunication as well as the subsequent discomfort this caused you. It is unfortunate that you had not discussed this with our Spa Director before you left. Especially since we are certain that our Spa Director would have been very sympathetic in general to any client who is sunburnt.

We look forward to welcoming you back and trust that you will not hesitate to return.


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from the most fantasic holiday in Grand Rosehall -from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so special and, unlike other large hotels we have stayed in in the caribbean the service was very personalised. The rooms were wonderful with lovely ocean views and all amenities you could ask for. The butlers-especially Reneish, Stephen and Kenvon were wonderful and I only wish we could have bought them home with us! The entertainment team esp Kiki were wonderful and so hardworking. The buffets were excellent but the a la carte were better than experienced elswhere esp the Gourmet and Surf and Turf . All the staff in the hotel were an absolute credit to the Iberostar group and we will certainly be back
We wanted to see more of Jamaica than just the beaches and although the 2 day trips were long ones def worth going on - Dunnes river falls was a 'must' ,Bob Marleys birthplace - special, YS falls/ Black river safari and Appleton rum factory were very good although we did need nerves of steel on some of the mountain roads, especially after a heavy storm .The AVT trip was enjoyed by our sons but the pool summoned me so I missed it!
We are certainly saving furiously to come back ASAP - the Harris family x

Room Tip: ocean view ceratinly special and worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. We at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, were thrilled to have been able to meet your expectations. Your comments concerning our staff and the fun-filled vacation which you had experienced with us was also motivating. We look forward to your return and trust that you will not hesitate to visit again for future vacations.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After too many bad reviews on a booked resort elsewhere in Jamaica we revised our plans and chose Iberostar Grand......and we couldn't be happier!

We took our grown children on their first Jamaica vacation. It was perfect. We have stayed around the coast of Jamaica...Montego, Lucea, Ocho Rios, visited Negril and Iberostar Grand is by far the best resort we have stayed at.

I don't want to make this lengthy but I easily could with all the rave I would like to submit. Water is beautiful, rooms are perfect, entertainment is great, food is delicious, pool is entertaining, and the staff is beyond any we have ever encountered.

We will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback of our property. We felt privileged to have been able to host your family on your recent family vacation. We are all too aware that it is the staff who work assiduously to ensure our guests’ total satisfaction. To this end, we were inspired by your generous compliments. It would be an honor to host you again and so we hope that you intend on returning soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, BookIt.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing