We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Montego Bay Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We decided to go to an all inclusive hotel and never leave the resort grounds. Everything about the Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall was first class and beyond. We liked it so much that we did not even explore the other two Iberostar facilities adjacent to this property. Iberostar Grand has redefined the word Service.

Iberostar’s product information tells you everything is included in the price, including tipping. Well, the vast majority of their guests come from the USA and the staff has become used to tipping. The service is still exceptionally great without any tipping but it becomes even more attentive after passing out some sawbucks and Jacksons. It can be really helpful for the poolside staff. After a short while you would not even have to order a drink, a fresh one would just show up for you.

The personal butler and concierge service took care of any and all of the little details surrounding our stay such as restaurant reservations, wi-fi password, and airport transportation confirmation and reminders.

The hotel is a safe and pleasant 20 minute drive from the Montego Bay airport. We used JTL for our transportation service and their prices were reasonable. One of the JTL van drivers did make a point of asking me for a tip.

During our stay we ate breakfast and lunch at the two buffet restaurants and had dinner at each of their four specialty restaurants. All of the restaurants overlap their schedules so there is nonstop food from 7am to 10pm, plus 24 hour room service. The Es Palau was billed as their gourmet restaurant and it lived up to the claim. There were some truly classic dishes on the menu that I have not seen at other great restaurants in many years. The food in the other restaurants was very good, not spectacular but very good. The selection was large and the service was outstanding in each of the restaurants.

The interior of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the housekeeping staff would completely refresh your room within 20 minutes if you remember to put the housekeeping tag in your door lock. The exterior grounds around the three Grand Hotel Rose Hall swimming pools are clean but there were cigarette butts and used plastic straws throughout the hedge bushes that surround the swimming pools’ lounge chairs.

While on the subject of swimming pools and lounge chairs, if the hotel occupancy is full you may need to “reserve” (even though it is not allowed) a lounge chair by 7am to avoid getting stuck without shade for the day. Most people used a towel and a magazine as their Reserved sign. Even if the hotel is not full, if you wait until 7:45am you may be out of luck. We learned this lesson the hard way at 8am on our first morning. It does not matter that some of the people do not actually show up until past Noon to sit in the lounge chairs. There were always un-shaded empty lounge chairs on the beach but the sun gets really hot by late morning.

We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall in Jamaica. We are also going to try some of the other Iberostar Grand hotels in different locations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GuitarPlayer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our property and service. Your generous comments concerning our staff in general, butler, concierge and the safety of our property. We just wanted to apologize for the impression you left with as it concerns tipping. Our staff recognize that tipping is optional, we feel certain too that if you speak to other guests who did not tip , they can attest to the same level of service you had received. We look forward to your return visit as we are anxious to show you our usual warm hospitality.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,255 - 4,261 of 6,648 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This resort was very nice. The rooms were large and we had a great view from our balcony. The ocean is very calm (more like a bay) but beatiful. The kayaking and sailing is very cool as well. I took the kayak out to where the waves were breaking by the coral reefs and it was beatiful. All of the staff is very friendly. The food was excellent, usually buffets are not that good but here it was really good.

The restaurants were all good as well. The casino was not good however it was tiny and did not have any tables, only slot machines.

Overall it is a beatiful spot in the carribean and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLVLALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We were excited to hear that you had enjoyed every aspect of our service, namely, our rooms, balcony, activities, food and restaurants. We noted your disappointment with the casino, but acknowledge that our casino is more suited to gaming hobbyists on vacation, rather than to serious gamblers. Please come again soon as it would be a pleasure to host you a second time.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from a 10 day stay and it was everything we imagined and more! We married at the resort and had a fabulous weekend of festivities that kept our guests raving. Everyone was SO kind and really went out of their way to ensure our event was flawless. The grounds are immaculate, the service is spectacular, the food is delicious and the drinks never stopped flowing...couple that with a gorgeous island backdrop and you have the stuff that dreams are made of.

For future brides, I would highly recommend the Grand for a wedding to remember. The wedding coordinator, Janielle is not only personable but also professional. I was very nervous about coordinating everything from miles and miles away but, everything came to life BETTER than I had hoped. With almost 50 guests, we had plenty of planning and room drops to do, but it all went without a hitch. She is the type that covers all the details and is committed to delivering your vision. The florist they use, Tai Flora, is absolutely top notch with the floral arrangements and decorating. Our wedding and reception looked like it was straight out of a movie or magazine ** happy sigh** :)

Seriously, this is hands down one of the best all-inclusive destinations ever! The staff is commited to keeping you smiling. They know your name and you will know theirs...from the front desk (Barrington and Kesha), the butlers, the room service and even the buffet chefs (Amoy), they felt like family. I love this place and we will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We like the ones in building 5. Splurge on a suite if you are feeling pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHarris04_20_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion of your recent wedding held at our hotel. It was indeed an honor to have been able to host you and your wedding party. Your comments about the food, service, cleanliness of our grounds, wedding coordinator and service of our staff in general will also serve to motivate us. We are hopeful that you will also choose to return on the occasion of your wedding anniversary as we look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Truly 5 stars - my husband and I were there in October 2012- the food was great, the property was great and the staff was exceptional!!!! The butlers make the experience complete- getting anything you might need!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davendee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. Your kind words concerning our food, property, and staff. We look forward to your return and can assure you that your next vacation will be equally memorable.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just returned from a most excellent stay at this location and met 11 friends for a group celebration and had a wonderful time. The rooms are beautifully appointed, kept extremely clean and the service was outstanding! We LOVED the patio with both chaise lounge and 2 person hanging swing. The butler service, particularly by Donavan and Marlon was exceptional!

There is great attention paid to the culinary arts in terms of quality and presentation.

While I would have enjoyed a little quieter pool-side time, the noise was simply related to the full slate of activities the team from "Star Entertainment" offered. "Bubbles", "Shortcake" and "Mr. Neat" were SO friendly and warm- they worked 12 hour shifts 5.5 to 6 days a week and ALWAYS maintained a smile and warm greeting poolside during the day and working the show that evening!

It was a very memorable trip and we each said we'd return to this beautiful property!

Room Tip: The relatively small difference for an Oceanfront Suite felt well worth it to us for the view and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this website. It was a pleasure to have been able to serve you. We are humbled to hear that we had met your high expectations. Your recognition of the hard work of our entertainment team will also encourage our entertainment staff who work tirelessly to ensure the satisfaction of all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Iberostar from 4/19/2013 - 4/26/2013. I will have to say this is the best vacation we have had in a very long time. We have visited Jamaica 8-9 times in the past and have stayed at other all inclusives, but this is by far one of the best in our book. Dwayne and Ray, our butlers were the best. We needed to change a reservation one night, and Dwayne came through like a charm. He was also able to have our mini fridge filled to our specs. We received everything we asked for and always with a smile. The hotel is a beautiful resort and we enjoyed just staying there all week, as we have done most of the tours in the past. The restaurants were tastefully decorated and the food was very good. The dining choices to us were great. We did not eat anything that we did not like. The staff was always friendly and we made a lot of friends. The beach is pretty and the bar staff everywhere were always good to us. We thank Kannesha (beach), Melissa, Jodianne, and Jerry (pool) and Camrae (Aqua), Andre and his supervisor Gavin (theatre) bars. The entertainment staff were exceptional to say the least. They were friendly and witty and very entertaining. Thank you Mr. Neat for always checking on us and Diva, Bubbles , Kiki, G-Money, Shortcake. I hope I have your names all right. The shows were the best. We so enjoyed the dancers and musicians. Anneika (so much energy) Stacy, Opal, LaLA, Lakeesha, Peter, Lucky, it was so nice getting to know you all. Maria, the choreographer, some of the dance moves that you all performed were amazing! The cleaning staff kept our room up and the turn down service was great. We enjoyed getting to know you and several others (Karen,Ellice,Jacinth, Jesse, Kadian, Keggan) thank you all. I have read other reviews of this hotel, and I can not imagine having the bad experiences they have had, because ours was the best. I know I have probably left something or someone out and I apologize, because, we just wanted them all to know how they made our vacation the best. The guys that took care of our bags were also A-1 I can not remember how to spell, but Eilon was very kind and personable to us. I can not think of anything negative about our vacation. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 5429 on the top floor. Note the top floor does not have a swing, if that is somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitafromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. We are honored to have been a part of your recent vacation. It was encouraging to learn that our hotel in general, staff, food and amenities had all met your discerning standards. Whilst we appreciate the hard work of all our staff, it is always even more rewarding to hear the positive feedback from you, our valued guest. We look forward to being able to host you again and to being able to show you our usual flawless service.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The air conditioner in our room did not work and caused a terrible water leak that spoiled some of our clothes. It took staff 4 hours to try to fix the problem. In the end we had to pack up our stuff and move rooms. This was a big inconvenience. We wanted management to acknowledge the trouble this cause but they did nothing. We also witnessed managers yell at staff on many occassions. It was uncomfortable to watch. We expected a lot more from this resort but they failed to deliver. I would never go back. It is unfortunate because we usually enjoy Iberostar hotels but we will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the leaking air conditioning unit. As you can imagine this was an unusual situation and certainly not the norm. As with any hotel, there can be unexpected issues, but we agree with you that how it is dealt with makes a big difference to the guest. To this end, we had generously offered a 50% discount on any Spa Service(s) you opted to do to which you had declined that offer.

The moment you made the report of the leaking air conditioning unit, we had also proceeded to immediately do a room change, we had also offered to have our Butler to assist you in packing and moving to the new room – however, you had also declined that offer. It is unfortunate that we did not have the chance to change your negative perception you have of our property before you left. But, we hope that you will reconsider and allow us to serve you again in the near future. We invite you to write us at dir.grandrh@iberostar.com.jm should you decide on returning

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,616 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,987 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $440 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing