We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time to go and still enjoyed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“3rd time to go and still enjoyed!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have to say this being our 3rd time there, and knowing the service can be spotty, I was a bit nervous!!!! I emailed ahead of time and we were upgraded to an ocean front room so that started the trip off so right!!! Onto what other people have reviewed.... The butler service, um well never been good for us, but no big deal! He didn't even come greet us once, but not a big deal to us ,but can see where another might be miffed!!! The food is good, I have stayed at the Rosewood Mayakoba and its much pricier than the Grand, but the Grand had better food, in my opinion...
As others have stated top shelf alcohol so that's a bonus. We met a couple that were there to celebrate the husbands birthday and wife was told, oh we will do something special, that didn't anything:( she was not terribly angry just annoyed that they said they would do something and did not follow through!!!! So with that being said, the service can be VERY spotty at times:( When I read the reviews of how Wonderful everything was, I think count your lucky stars, because we have never had the full beginning to end great service. I always give 5 stars because we do enjoy ourselves, we try and focus on positive not the negative! Although sometimes they do make it hard:/ We will definitely go back, it's getting to be pricy, but I think we'll worth it:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xray35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are always grateful to hear the feedback from our guests as it helps to guide us in gauging the service that we offer to guests. Through your review and others, we recognize that at times the Butler service may not be consistent. Currently, we are in the midst of making improvements, however, we rely on the feedback from guests whilst in-house so that we can make steps to improve your stay before your depart. Guests may either call their Concierge or the Public Relations Manager to communicate their special requests. Before arriving guests may also email pr.grand@iberostar.com.jm to mention special occasions you are celebrating and/or any special needs.

Please accept our profound apology for the fact that you were not able to meet up with your Butler. Quite often though, especially for guests who spend a great deal of time outside, the Butler may keep checking the room and the guests are out. This may especially happen with guests who are here for a very short stay.

We look forward to serving you a 4th time and hope that we can make your next stay even more enjoyable and hassle-free.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,069
    997
    264
    75
    44
See reviews for
702
4,226
149
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,002)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our 4th trip to the Iberostar in the past 18 months. I can't stay away. Everything about this place is relaxing and enjoyable from the check- in to check- out. After 4 return trips everyone on the staff knows us, from Natalie the front desk manager to the cleaning lady in the lower lobby. They go out of their way to ask us if we're having a good time or if there is anything they can do. The food and service is great, from starting our day with Judy at the buffet to a late dinner with Avery or Fitzroy at the Italian restaurant or Steak House. The Entertainment staff is top notch always taking time during the day to say hi and to make sure you're having a good time. This is an all-inclusive resort that is not lacking in any way. We will be back in December, counting the days.

Room Tip: I will not tell you what room we always have because i want to make sure it's available when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review with other prospective travellers. We were pleased to welcome you and your wife back recently. Through your many visits we now feel like you are family, so you may notice that as you walk through the hallways, so many of our staff are enquiring how you are or trying to find out if you need anything. We continue to look forward to your visits, but on this last visit, it was especially a delight to see the progress your wife had made after her recent operation. Our Management and Staff looks forward to welcoming you back in December, and remind you to feel free to call or email us anytime at pr.grandrh@iberostar.com.jm.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My review might come off a little critical, its because the resort claims to be 5 star. This is a 4 star, at best. When you're paying the rates they charge, you expect things to be 5-star, and its just not.

Pro's:
-Rooms - were pretty good. Good size, very clean, island colour scheme. The bath tub was a bit grungy, and some of the furniture was a bit scuffed, but other then that the rooms were great. The rooms have a nice balcony with wood tile, a sofa, table, and hammock. We enjoyed several nights on our balcony watching the sun go down. They do not put bottle openers in your room, they expect you to contact your butler who comes to open everything for you, and expects a tip for doing it. For those who do not know how to open bottles without an opener, watch the bartenders by the pool. For wine, you need your butler.

- Service was fantastic. Every person we met was pleasant, friendly, and always willing to help. The Butler service was a bit of a joke. In the first 24hrs we met 4 different people who said they were our butler. They are essentially a middle-man for you and room-service/concierge and they expect a tip.

-Entertainment - The staff here are very happy people, and as a result most of the entertainment was good. The Pirate Beach Party was fun, the Broadway musicals had some talented singers and dancers, and the reggae band playing in the club was awesome. I generally can't stand the entertainment at resorts, but this was a pleasant surprise.


Cons:

-Internet - there is only Wi-Fi in the main lobby. That's it. They did say you can plug into the jack in your room, but we only had wireless devices with us, so I can't comment.

-Chairs - They advertise a no tolerance policy for seat saving at the pool and on the beach, however, no one ever enforces it. It's the usual get up and get a seat and back to bed. One thing to be aware of, you can use the pool and beach at the neighbouring Iberostar Beach Resort if there is no room at the grand.

-Wine - the wine selection is horrible. Just horrible. They do have a wine list with average wines you'd find at your local liquor store. These are not part of the all-inclusive, expect typical restaurant prices though.

-Food - While the food was generally some of the best island buffet food I've had at an all inclusive, the a la cartes were a joke. The Japanese place serves the same sushi you can get at the buffet. The Italian place undercooked my wife's pasta, not al dente, raw. When we told the staff, they didn't offer a replacement meal, they said they'd inform the chef. The Gourmet place was decent, hardly gourmet. We both had the duck and while it was tasty, it seemed like it was just thrown together in a few minutes. The Surf and Turf was OK. It's like getting a steak at a chain restaurant like Boston Pizza. One thing to be aware of, lobster season is closed as of April 1st. They do not serve lobster on any menu anywhere. The substitue is shrimp.
I'd also note that on the second last day, I got mild food poisoning. We don't know what its from
but I'd suspect it has something to do with milk/cream products not being chilled enough.
As a lot of people have mentioned, the coffee stinks here.

-Reservations - The resort doesn't mention this at all, but you need to contact them 1 week prior to your arrival to make your reservations at the a la cartes. We didn't know this and as soon as we arrived we tried to make reservations and we were told everything was fully booked with the exception of a few 9pm seatings. Oddly enough, when we arrive at the restaurants, they were maybe 20% full.


For those who play golf at Cinnamon Hill, don't expect much. The course is in rough shape. The views are great, but lots of dried out patches and divots.

Considering everything, its still a good resort and I'd probably go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are grateful for your review, which was very informative. We noted your disappointment as it relates to the level of service you received with great regret. Please be assured that we will be looking into the various issues with a view to finding immediate solutions, namely, the quality of our pasta in the Italian Restaurant and the saving of beach/pool chairs. There is usually openers provided in the rooms, we apologize if this was not the case in your room. It is unfortunate that you did not call either room service, concierge or your butler for an opener. It would also appear that something which you had did not agree with because each person is unique, this does not mean it was food poisoning – as we have had no cases of food poisoning since our hotel’s opening.

It is obvious that you did not witness our usual standards in service, therefore we would especially love the opportunity to host you again. We feel certain that we could provide you with a flawless vacation experience.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our second time at this resort and it was just as fantastic as the first time. All we wanted to do is relax and enjoy the surroundings and this is just what we did. The staff expects you to do nothing else. The resort is beautiful, clean and on the crystal clear water. The food and drink are not only delicious but accesible to you anytime you want.
Julleth in reservations helped me set up my stay and was so helpful and accommodating. She was truly great.
From checking in with Mackenzie at the front desk (who remembered us from last year) we knew our stay was going to be great. She was just one of the first amazing staff memebers we would encounter on our trip. The view from our ocean front room was a like a post card and we could hear the waves from inside.
The butlers are excellent and there to offer you anything. Davian is fantastic! He made our trip so we didn't have to worry about anything. He was there anytime we needed anything or just stopped by to see how our day was. He surprised us with a bottle of champagne, dessert and set up a beautiful bath with rose petals. He was truly excellent.
We had such an amazing trip and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms in the left part of the hotel have a fantastic view and there are few people o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are encouraged by your high praises of our cuisine, staff, room views, and butler service. We are grateful for the opportunity to welcome you back a second time and hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Where do I start???? This resort is AMAZING!!! I must start with our butler, Stanley...he is the BEST!!! Whatever my family needed, he was right there....from making dinner reservations to running a bubble bath. He is also a very personable & friendly person. The rooms....very clean and the bed is sooo comfy! The minibar is fully stocked and if you don't see what you like then you can always ask for it and it will be to you shortly.
The entire staff at Iberostar is very friendly and they really make you feel at home.
The drinks are delicious and the food is scrumpous. But, they definitely need to have more Jamaican food! Make sure you make dinner reservations at the Japanese Restaurant as soon as you get there....trust me, you will be very pleased.
OH, and how can I forget...as soon as you walk into the Grand you are greeted with cool towels and a drink...it only gets better after that.
I've been to other All-Inclusives and the Grand is the absolute best! Try it...you will love it! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYGiantsFan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to review our property on your return home. Reviews assist us in knowing whether or not, our level of service is meeting our guests’ high expectations. It was rewarding to hear that you were satisfied with your room, minibar, staff, food and the warm welcome you had received. We look forward to your return and trust that you will not hesitate to recommend our property to friends and family as well.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The week of April 4 – 12, 2013 we travelled to beautiful, sunny Jamaica. This was our second visit to Jamaica, first time staying at the Iberostar Rose Hall Grand Resort.

Note: After my review, be sure to view my photos I have also shared. They will definitely give you a sense of what our vacation was like based on my review.

ARRIVAL:
When we arrived in Jamaica, the entire process went smoothly as it didn’t take very long for us to get through customs, get out luggage and be on our way. We were directed to the bus that would be taking us to our hotel. When they learned that this was our 2nd trip to Jamaica they said ‘Welcome Home’ and informed us that they would be taking us to our hotel right away. Perfect. We were the only ones on the bus, and within less than 20 mins we were driving through the gates of the Iberostar Rose Hall.

CHECK-IN:
As soon as we walked off the bus, the bell man handed us a nice cold towel, and welcomed us. He then took our suitcases, and had us follow him to the reception area to check in. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. In no time, a waitress was standing next to us, with a refreshing welcome drink (Mimosa) Once all the paper work was filled out we were then escorted to our room.

ROOMS:
Our room was 6127 which was located on the far left hand side of the building. We had a standard room and felt the rooms were extremely spacious. We had our on suite bathroom with Jacuzzi, 2 vanities, shower and toilet. Slippers and robes were also provided. We LOVED the shower and felt the water pressure was fantastic. We always had hot water. The women will appreciate the closet space that is available. Plenty of room to unpack all your cloths. A safe is also located in the room – inside the closet area. There is a coffee maker, snacks (chips) as well as mini bottles of wine, bottle opener. The mini bar is fully stocked with lots of water, beer, pop, juice as well as little mini liquor bottles. The shelves were also stocked with a variety of glasses to use. Our patio didn’t have a spectacular view. Because our room was at the far end of the resort, you really only could see a hill with some trees with a small view of the ocean. However it was extremely quiet and peaceful and we were quite content with this. We were on the 2nd floor, so we also had a view of the private swim up pool that is available to guests staying on the ground floor. The swinging basket was a nice touch. After long days in the sun, I found myself relaxing with a Red Stripe, watching the sun set. Very comfortable, it will put you to sleep. Also on the patio you will find a towel rack, perfect to hand up your wet bathing suits or towels to dry. Just a small tip – the room has a sensor since they like to ‘save’ energy, so if you don’t close the patio door tight, the air conditioning will stop running automatically. We found this out the first night, when the air stopped running and we were extremely HOT ! When we called asking about the AC, they asked us if the patio door was shut tight. As soon as we just pulled the patio door to make sure it was shut, the AC went on right away! We never had any problems with the AC during the rest of our stay 

BUTLER SERVICE:
Within about 10 minutes upon our arrival to our room, our Butler Davian was knocking at our door. He gave us a very warm welcome, and since this was our first visit to this resort, he gave us a little orientation session on what was available to us in our room (i.e. Room Service, Pillow Service, Fridge, Safe etc...) He of course said that if there were any special requests to not hesitate to ask him or call him. Dinner reservations are one of the requests we did want the Butler to help us with. We advised him that we already had 2 reservations booked prior to leaving, and that we wanted to proceed with booking reservations for the remaining restaurants. We couldn’t have been happier with how quickly this was done for us. By the end of the day we had all dinner reservations in hand for the entire week.
This was our very first time that we experienced a ‘Butler’ service. While it sounds nice to have a Butler, we are not fussy or demanding people, so we could have done without this service being offered throughout the week. If we wanted ‘ice’ or ‘room service for more beer’ for example, we would call the Butler. Every time we made the call, we always were connected to the concierge desk. When requesting to speak to the Butler, they would give the message to our Butler and we would have to wait for them to call us back. The Butler ALWAYS called us back, there was never a time our call was ignored, however we felt that the time we spent waiting for them to call us back to request such things, we could have done the task ourselves (i.e. getting ice ourselves)
Having said that I do want to say that Davian was an excellent Butler, very kind. When he always saw us in the hall he stopped to say hello and always asked us how our stay has been thus far. And we appreciated that. Even on our last night in Jamaica, he set up a lovely romantic bath for us which we appreciated.

GROUNDS:
The entire grounds at the Iberostar Grand are beautiful and taken care of very well. We didn’t find this resort extremely large, even with us walking next door to the Suites; everything was pretty close together which we loved.

POOL/BEACH:
The infinity pool is made up of 4 sections. Being an infinity pool unfortunately you can’t just swim from one to another; since they are not really ‘connected’. The pool bar is located at the very end near the beach, which of course tends to have a lot more activity during the day. The 2 middle pool areas are used for a lot of the water activities such as water volleyball, water aerobics, and water basket ball. During our stay, we didn’t find that the pools were rarely crowded at all. Because the beach is so close to the pool area, you are really a hop, skip and jump away from both. So if you enjoy the pool, but want to take a swim in the ocean, it’s not a far walk. I have read in past reviews that people wish the pool was heated. Personally if I am sitting in the sun and want to cool off, I find it so refreshing to walk in a nice cool pool. Most times when we were there we never thought the temperature of the water was extremely cold that we couldn’t enjoy the pool. It gets very hot there, that most of the time the sun warms up the water in the pool. The beach area is beautiful. We spent most of our time by the pool; however we did walk along the beach a few times. We felt the sand was extremely soft and not really grainy which was really nice. As you walk towards the ‘Suites’ we found the sand to be more grainy.

TOWELS:
There is definitely no shortage of towels here. They have a TON of towels, and they are always available to you. If you forgot your suntan lotion, no fear they provide that too for you where you get your towels.

SAVING CHAIRS:
This is probably a HUGE problem at many resorts, and definitely probably a question that gets ask a lot. As it DOES happen here at The Grand I can honestly say that they DO keep an eye open for those just leaving towels on chairs and not returning. I have seen firsthand the girls go around every 2 hours and take away towels from chairs. They do keep an eye open. We never ever had a problem getting a chair for ourselves.

POOL/BEACH SERVERS:
During the day you will find the ladies working extreamly hard walking around to everyone, asking if anyone wants drinks. They do a fantastic job especially in the heat. So you never have to get up out of your chair to get a drink. We definitly gave tips here and there throughout the day for their great service.

STAR FRIENDS:
A big SHOUT OUT goes out to Bubbles, Kiki, Short Cake, Mr. Neat, Diva, Lucky (aka Usher as we liked to call him) and the rest of the Star Friends ! THANK-YOU!! You all truly made our stay a more enjoyable and memorable one. They work their BUTTS off every single day. During the day they are always encouraging us to take part in the daily activities they have available (i.e. Bingo, Rum Toss, Connect Four, Ping Pong Tournament, Dart Tournament, Bache Ball, Water Aerobics, Zumba and the list goes on and on) Come the evening hours, you see them in the lobby bar, mingling and talking to the guests and encouraging everyone to visit the theatre for the evening shows. Again THANK YOU Star Friends!

RESTAURANTS:
We had dinner reservations for all restaurants at The Grand. Honestly we enjoyed every single restaurant we visited. Everything was so delicious and the service was most excellent! What we really enjoyed here at The Grand was that we didn’t once have to get up and go up to a buffet for appetizers and desert. All courses were served to order at all restaurants.

BUFFET’S:

BREAKFAST: If you are up before 9:00am, you can always have breakfast at the main buffet, however after 9:00am, you can have breakfast at Port Maria Beach Restaurant, which has a breathtaking view of the ocean. What a way to start your day. Both buffets have pretty much similar food. We felt there was a lot to choose from for breakfast. They had the omelet station where they would make you eggs just the way you like it with whatever toppings you wanted. There were never huge line ups to wait. There were always fresh homemade doughnuts ever morning, a variety of breads and cereals to choose from. You would never go hungry; there was always something for everyone. The coffee was delicious here at the Iberostar. Never a bad cup !

LUNCH: Like the breakfast, you can enjoy lunch buffet at the main buffet or at 1:00pm at the Port Maria Beach Restaurant. Again there was always a lot of food to choose from and both buffets. Hamburgers, hotdogs, pizza, lots of salads etc... Lots of variety.

DINNER: What was nice to see is that each night they had a ‘theme’ night at the dinner buffet such as Oriental, Italian, Jamaican, International and Mexican. So not only would they have a great variety of food that associated with the theme night, they would have other food as well.
During our entire stay at The Grand we noticed that every single day, near the pool bar, they would always set up a station with food. Everyday there was something different. Such as jerk chicken, BBQ shrimp, tacos. If you didn’t want to go to the restaurant to eat, you could always go up and help yourself and bring your plate to where you were sitting to eat. I couldn’t believe that ever day they had the staff bringing stuff out, setting up these stations for people to enjoy. Not to mention chefs coming around the pool area with fresh platters of fruit, and a few times we saw a cart filled with desserts. Imagine that, you are relaxing by the pool and they come around with a cart full of sweets for you to choose and enjoy.

BEACH BBQ: The Iberostar staff put on an amazing beach BBQ as well, that was really set up nicely. They had HUGE round tables out on the beach, with lots of shade, and different stations set up of food. While you are enjoying the beach BBQ they had entertainment for you – the steel drum band playing. This was probably one of the highlights for us. Bar service was also available during the BBQ, with wait staff serving drinks to you at your table.

ENTERTAINMENT:
The shows at night start at 9:45pm and are about an hour long. They are held in a gorgeous, yet cozy theatre. These shows were top notch!!! The talent that these sings/dancers have are out of this world. Live band, live singing, live dancing with great lighting and fantastic costumes. Some people hesitate to go to these kinds of shows because they believe they are amateur. There was nothing amateur about these shows we saw the entire week. We enjoyed every single one!!!

BEACH PARTY:
One night instead of the show in the theatre, they had a BEACH PARTY and this was probably again another highlight for us during our stay. The set up was amazing, with a great big pirate ship. The lighting they had, props that were used made it really feel like a Pirate Beach Party. They had games for everyone to take part in before the show. The bar was not far. And once the show started, it was something we didn’t expect. You think a Pirate Beach Party you would see Pirates fighting etc... This was total opposite, but totally entertaining. It’s nice to see the Jamaican culture and what kind of traditions they have. Again it’s something you must NOT want to miss. Once the show is over, the party continues with a HUGE bon fire, dancing, if you want to go swimming in the water, they have spotlights in the ocean, with towels provided. Lots of fun, didn’t want the night to end !

CONCLUSION:
Overall we both enjoyed our second trip to Jamaica and were really, really pleased with choosing The Iberostar Grand! If you are one of those travelers who can’t decide if you should pay the extra $$ to stay at The Grand vs. The Suites, we can assure you 100% that you will NOT be disappointed with your choice of choosing The Grand. We definitely learned that when we took an afternoon stroll over to The Suites, and an evening dining experience at one of the restaurants there. The quality of service was definitely not on the same level, and being that The Grand is an 18+ adult’s only resort, it’s a much more relaxing atmosphere. There is no question we will definitely return to experience The Iberostar Grand here either in Jamaica, or somewhere else in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sweetcarebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We were especially pleased to learn that you had enjoyed all aspects of our service. We noted that you particularly enjoyed a smooth arrival, efficient check-in, and seemed to have had a fantastic vacation overall. It is certainly with a great deal of pride that we read your positive comments. We highly anticipate your return to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall and would venture to add that we hope you think of our property first, when next you are planning a vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This review will be quite lengthy, but I hope I can eliminate some hours/days of research for someone out there reading this. Some of this review may seem negative, but if you want to be a 5 star resort, everything must be top notch and anything negatively written is relative to the amount you are paying to stay here; when you pay top dollar, you will find yourself looking at everything under a microscope. I also want to add we are not “vacation snobs” or the type of people that are demanding and neither were the couples that traveled with us.

TO BEGIN
I would recommend Island Transfers and Tours private transfers. They are much less than the transfers "included" in your vacation package. Even after a lengthy delay due to baggage being lost by the airline, they were still there with a sign waiting for us. Dennis, our driver, was very informative and did his best to comfort the other couple who had lost their luggage. He also had a cold, tasty Red Stripe waiting for us!

CHECK IN
We were greeted with a cold towel and rum punch. Check in was very quick (like record time quick) and the staff were very friendly; this made for a great first impression. Natalie upgraded us for being a returning guest of an Iberostar property and for my wife’s birthday….very nice lady.

CLEANLINESS
The resort is clean, not as clean as their sister property in Mexico though. Although very nice, it seems like it is time to do a little maintenance.

ROOMS
Very nice, but not 5 star nice. Some minor flaws like no alarm clock, fridge was warm, no bottle opener, no travel mugs for coffee, furniture was a bit banged up and it just seemed like a fresh coat of paint would have helped. I mention the bottle opener and mugs for one reason only….all the other couples had these things in their room; it seemed as no checklist was being followed. Bathrooms were large, we didn’t have the water puddling problem like some of the other reviewers did. Beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, my wife and I both slept like babies the entire week. Rooms were nice and cool…cooler than Mexico. Loved the view from the balcony sitting out on the swing and taking an afternoon nap.

POOL
Good pool. More activity than Mexico and one day it seemed very “spring break” like. I think it was due to a large wedding party. Nothing got out of hand; it was just a bit busy. After a couple days though, everything tapered off and there was enough activity to keep you occupied, but not so much that it felt like our college days again. If you wanted to relax you could; if you wanted to participate in daily activities you could do that as well. The STAR FRIENDS were very nice, a special shout out to KIKI (KI squared), Bubbles, and Shortcake. These girls work their butts off for everyone to have fun!


BARS
POOL BAR
From what I saw, everything was top shelf. The drinks were made perfect. Anything you wanted, they would make. Jerry at the pool bar was the best! Very nice guy after you get to know him. If you didn't know what you wanted, just tell him what you liked and he would mix up something for you. The bar was quite a bit larger than the one in Mexico, which I liked. The only complaint I have is the lack of music. Evidently the music is physically controlled by management at the hotel, so the bar guys didn’t have any control over that aspect. This needs to change, the music doesn’t have to be blaring, just enough to make it festive would add to the experience.

LOBBY BAR
Just a nice place to hang out and people watch after dinner. Once again, everything was top shelf.



FOOD
The food was fantastic, much better than Mexico. I was a little hesitant of this category because of the food in Mexico, but it is much better and cooked perfect. Our favorite was the steakhouse, followed by the Italian and then the Japanese. Make sure to ask for Kareem as your waiter at the Italian restaurant, he is super nice and top notch.

All the beef seemed to be one level up on the “done level” than here in the states. For example, if you want Medium Well, ask for Medium. My medium well, was well; this didn’t bother me, but I know some people would make an issue of this. Just describe to them how you want it and I am sure they will get it to you that way.
TIP: Make your reservations before you go or you will be eating late or at the buffet. The buffets were very good and always had a wide selection, but you want to make sure for that kind of money you get a chance to eat at the actual restaurants. Also, dress cool, the restaurants always seemed to be warm!


SERVICE

Most everyone had a smile on their face and are very friendly.
BUTLER SERVICE
Well, this is the part of the review that will be most negative. The butler service was lackluster; if you read the other reviews, most reflect my opinion. You have a day and a night butler. I saw my day butler once and my night butler 3 or 4 times the whole trip. We always had to ask to have the fridge refilled, which is not a big deal, but this is supposed to be done for you. The last thing you want to do after a long day is to call and ask to have your fridge stocked. Being in marketing, I think it is a tool they use to entice people to their properties but has minimal benefit for the client. I had water in my ear and a doctor I met said to put a few drops of alcohol and it would clear it right up. I asked for it on Saturday and finally got access to it on Tuesday night. Once again, not a big deal because we are not “travel snobs”, but if you advertise something, come through with the promise. This occurred with all the couples that were staying with us. They ended up walking to the concierge desk everyday to tell them what they needed. The butlers were nice guys, but just a bit lackluster.
TIP: Do not tip them right away, tip them as you use them for a service.

CHECKOUT
Smooth, fast and no hassles. Island transfers were there 10 minutes early; I highly recommend these guys.


OVERALL
I like the resort, but I will go back only if the price drops. In my opinion, their sister resort in Mexico (The Grand Parasio) is a better value. Once again, this review is all about the value for the money spent. This is a nice resort, with great food, friendly staff, and beautiful beach; you won’t regret booking this. But if I am being honest, their sister resort in Mexico is nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Blaze347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. It was a privilege to have been afforded the opportunity to serve you. We at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall recognize that there are a myriad of other properties which you could have chosen. For this reason, we make a special effort to ensure that our guests are treated to a hassle-free vacation. In order to do that, we ask that guests communicate with us when they have any issues, either to the Concierge/Butler or the Public Relations Manager. Our team is anxious to ensure that each guest leaves satisfied with their stay. Openers and coffee mugs are provided in each room, however, quite frequently other guests take them as souvenirs. On recognizing that there is something you need which is not in your room, we ask guests to call their Concierge or Room Service, depending on what item you are requesting. Each room has a I-Home which provides the time, and also has an alarm feature. Your Butler would have been only too happy to assist you in setting the time. Guests may also call the Operator who would be helpful in making a wake-up call as back-up.

Do remember that tipping is optional and guests need not feel pressured to tip. In that regard, tipping is not necessary at each service, and we would not want you, our valued guests, believing that tipping is always expected.

We hope that you will be returning soon as it would have been a pleasure to meet with you and discuss any concerns you have on your next visit. We noted that you have mentioned the cost of your stay and invite you to visit our iberostar.com website as they periodically offer discounts and special offers. You could also follow us on Facebook or Twitter where special offers may also be promoted. Please consider our property for your next vacation, as we feel confident that we can make your next stay even more enjoyable and relaxing

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing