We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand from February 3-10 and found the people who work there to be absolutely genuine in wanting to make your vacation the best it can be. From the moment we arrived there was always a smile and a "Good Morning" or "How are you today?" being addressed to you. The food is the best we have experienced in our 6 years of going to all inclusive resorts.

The only comments we would have that would be nice to have addressed by the Iberostar management is the towel game of reserving lounge chairs. We saw people reserve lounge chairs both at the pool area and at the beach area, therefore having 2 chairs per person with palapas while other people were forced to sit in the hot sun with no shade coverage. Some days we would be in our chairs for 3-4 hours with no one coming back to sit on the lounge chairs beside us that had towels reserving them. Also the main lobby is very warm and lacks air movement. Increasing the air conditioning and adding some ceiling fans to circulate the air would prove helpful.

Overall our stay at the Iberostar Grand was fantastic and hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank WilJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your positive review on our hotel. Here at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall our priority is to ensure that each of our guests are totally satisfied. To this end, our staff work tirelessly to ensure that all our guests’ needs are met. We have noted your comments about guests reserving chairs to the inconvenience of others, unfortunately this is a problem at most Caribbean resorts and one that we are trying to rectify by taking up the towels that are left on the chairs. We are aware that depending on the heat outside the air conditioning in the lobby, might seem less effective sometimes and we have plans to install another unit in the lobby. Please accept our apology for any discomfort you might have encountered while being in the lobby.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,626 - 4,632 of 6,809 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have been meaning to write this for awhile, sorry!! My husband and I went Dec 8th through the 20th. We got married in April but due to vacation times and expenses etc, we waited to go on the honeymoon. I'm so glad we did our research and went here. It was absolutely AMAZING!! I will try and keep this quick and organized.

We chose the package where they provide all the pickup/drop off service from the airport. It went off without a hitch. We immediately found our service after getting through customs & immigration. We were the only guests on the shuttle and we arrived right on time. The driver was very friendly. As for taking us back to the airport, also perfect, on time (not Jamaica time) and we were rather early for our flight home. we flew in and out of Montego Bay airport.

Check in was wonderful, we were immediately given cool damp hand towels and a mixed drink as we were escorted to the front desk by the bell hop and hostess. we were checked in by very friendly, warm people and then taken to our room. Which by the way the entrance of the Grand is spectacular! Just a beautiful building and gorgeous, bold, caribbean decor.
Our room was perfect, huge, awesome,with a king size comfy bed. We had requested an ocean front suite so we could be on the bottom floor (recent knee surgery). We were given just that and had a gorgeous view of the beach and ocean from our patio with love seat and hanging basket chair. The only thing is people could see you from the beach. There were not a lot of people there when we were so we weren't worried. But you might want to draw the shades if you want to walk around naked. Or you can get an Ocean view room which is on the upper floors. I would have been fine with that too. The elevators worked great by the way. As for noise we didn't hear anything. The sliding door shut out so much noise that we couldn't hear the wedding party reception that was going on 40 yards away. We also had the flat screen TV which just had movie channels and a few odd ball ones like Nat Geo. It worked great and they had movies you could borrow.
The bathroom was wonderful with a "rain" shower and separate, jetted tub that was fantastic!!
Housekeeping was flawless, our room was always tidy, with plenty of towels and necessities. I had even lost one of my diamond earrings in the room and wasn't able to find it, until we came back one afternoon after the room had been cleaned and there it was placed on top of the table with a few other misc things. So awesome.

We had a great butler, he said we could call him Jeffrey, but that wasn't his actual name haha. We didn't see him much which was fine since we didn't really need anything. But if we ever did need something, he or the concierge were very prompt and took care of everything.

the beach was everything a beach should be. Granted it is not the pure white sand people imagine but it was tan fine grain, smooth, no trash, clear blue water, with a perfect breeze. There was plenty of shade when we were there, always enough umbrellas. Personnel really watch to make sure people aren't "reserving" chairs as they do not allow that. Meaning you cannot go out in the morning, put your stuff on a chair and then go do other things inside the hotel, while people are waiting to enjoy the beach. So that was nice. The pools were also great except they were a bit chilly but not bad.

If you go to an all inclusive resort that includes the alcohol: 1. make sure it has a swim up bar, 2. Go to the Grand. All our alcohol was top shelf, no cheap liquor here. High quality drinks and high quality bartenders. We always had our pick of what we wanted and they always had new things for us to try. Also our mini fridge and mini bar was always fully stocked, all the time. Liquor, beer, soda, and bottled water.
Though I will say if you are all about the food and it needs to be just perfect this may not be the place for you. First book your dinners when you get there. The concierge or butler can arrange reservations for you, do it right away, so you can at least try them all. The buffet you don't need one.
The buffet honestly was our favorite. It was reliable, consistent, and tasted great. It also had long hours so depending on what our plans were we would be able to eat no matter the time really. Out of the restaurants we LOVED the Japanese restaurant. So much fun and fantastic food. We liked the surf and turf but hated the french and were disappointed with the Italian.
But we are really easy going people so we weren't really bothered by that and just ate at the buffet (which has soooooo many different types of food you will never get bored) and the Japanese. Also there is room service but I wouldn't recommend it unless for fries, those were good.

The great thing about booking at the Grand is you get access to the other resorts, though they don't have access to the Grand. We did explore the other resorts and they are just as beautiful but the Grand does have it's extra flourishes that are worth it. For one the Grand is adults only which is really nice if you are looking for an adult vacation. The other two are family resorts but when we visited it wasn't like being at Disneyland or anything like that. While I say the Grand was perfect for a honeymoon, I felt like it was appropriate for all vacations. While the majority of guests were couples, there was a wide variety of ages and occasions. I didn't want to go somewhere that was over the top, gushy, romantic (for my husband's sake) but didn't want a singles vibe either. The Grand had a perfect balance, with the right amount of space for privacy if you wanted it but small enough to interact with other guests too.

There are a group of entertainers for the resort that play games throughout the day and have a show every night. They were hilarious and fun. We thoroughly enjoyed the shows and their efforts of getting the tipsy guests to join in beach volleyball.
We booked a few excursions through the hotel but the one that stuck out the most was the "Cool Runnings" tour. You go snorkeling, then up Dunns River Falls, and then are on a party boat for the afternoon. We did that for my husband's birthday, Dec 13th, and it was perfect we had such a great time. When we got back our butler had champagne and balloons in the room for us to celebrate. Be warned though shopping is pretty spendy in Jamaica. If you are used to shopping in Mexico and bartering, this will be different. Some shops do barter but not all and things are priced high to begin with. Just FYI.

The people of Jamaica are simply wonderful. They are full of life and fun. They just make you wanna loosen up, smile and enjoy yourself.

Some people have expressed their concern for safety while in Jamaica and I just want to say, I never felt any type of threat while at Rose Hall and especially never at the Grand. To be honest Las Vegas is by far more dangerous, and even more so if you do things to put yourself at risk. If the locals tell you not to go somewhere, don't go there, it is as simple as that. Use your brain.

We got a chance to talk with folks from other resorts while on excursions and compare our resorts. The Grand by far out does it competitors in service and apparently in price. I know we got a screamin deal for the high quality service and experience we received. Don't be fooled by "popular" resorts or commercial chains, Iberostar is top of the line!

I think I covered it all, but honestly could go on for hours. I cannot wait to visit more of their resorts, and I know we will come back to The Grand at Rose Hall Jamaica. THANK YOU!!

Ya Mon! Jerk Chicken & Fries at 2 am!!!

Mr. & Mrs Perkins
Room 6015
Check out the photos!

Oh and we booked through "escapes.ca" they are a Canadian travel agency and were awesome. never had any issues and they took care of everything at a cheaper price. Just saying!

Room Tip: ocean front room puts you on the ground floor so people could possibly see into your room from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmaperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your positive review on this website. We are honored that you chose our resort to spend your honeymoon. Your review highlights our attention to detail and the service of our staff. We are hopeful that you will also consider spending your next wedding anniversary with us. It would be our pleasure to host you again and show you our usual high levels of service.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We love Jamaica!! Iberostar has wonderful people and is a truly stunning facility.

From our first step on the grounds and being handed a cool towel and delicious mimosa the tone was set.
Everyone from the doormen to the bellhops, Butlers (yes you get a private butler), waitresses, food servers, pool attendants, chefs, cleaning people, aerobics instructors, tennis pro, masseuse and drivers were spectacular. Their smiles were contagious and desire to make us feel comfortable and relaxed was incredible.
Rooms were large and lovely with amazing views and huge patios! We stayed in an Oceanfront which was super but friends were in an "oceanview" and it too had a dream view (yet across the pool). The beds were incredibly comfy and you get your choice of pillows!
Grounds and pools stunning...plenty of chairs to choose from, swim up bar and a lovely beach to walk while checking out the other "Iberostars" next door...The drinks were delicious and plentiful, the food very good and although I would hesitate to say spectaular, I give it very high marks.
The only negative we had for the entire trip was the work out room...very small and outdated equipment. Not very good ventilation so as soon as more than 5 or 6 really sweaty guys (sorry but true) are in there for a hefty work out it begins to be unpleasant to stay. I suggested to the manager when we left to try to renovate if at all possible.
That being said...I would go again in a heartbeat! Book your next vacation here...it will be a treat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the quality of our rooms, staff and service had met your discerning standards. We apologize if you did not enjoy the gym and assure you that we are always changing out the various aspects of our hotel to ensure that we remain current. Please be assured that the Gym remains a priority for future updating. In the meantime, we also endeavor to look closely at the complaint you have made with regards to ventilation with a view to making improvements.

We look forward to serving you again and trust that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just returned from an amazing stay at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall. From the moment we arrived we were expertly pampered. I had a mimosa in my hand at check-in! Our daytime butler Darwin was fantastic. He was knocking at our door just minutes after check-in to introduce himself, see if we needed anything or had any special requests. He also provided us with a tour of the resort. He and our evening butler, Randy, made sure that our refrigerator was always stocked with our favorites including water and my husbands favorite Red Stripe! This trip was my anniversary present from my husband and even though our anniversary was back in November, the staff arranged for a rose petal bath and a bottle of champagne to celebrate! We didn't arrive back at our room until nearly 1am that night, yet the bath was piping hot, how did they know when we would be back? Amazing! The buffets were very good and my husband loved trying the local cuisine. The only thing I didn't care for was the Italian restaurant, I'm an Italian from New Jersey, what can I say? Star Friends and entertainers were great at getting us involved in activities, but were also accepting when we just wanted to relax. It was the perfect vacation. We have previously vacationed at Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton resorts and this was the first all-inclusive we have ever tried. We were very impressed with the level of service we received. Thank you to all of our new friends at Iberostar. We will never forget our time with you and hope to be back soon.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you considered our resort to be the best you had ever visited. We aim to ensure that our service leaves a lasting impression on each guest. For this reason, it was inspiring to see your review. Your special mention of our staff, buffet, cuisine and entertainment options will also serve to motivate those team members. We encourage you to return soon and not hesitate to return in the near future as it would be a pleasure to welcome you.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Rose Hall in January 21-28 for my brother's wedding. This was our first all inclusive holiday and I can honestly say that we will be returning! The resort was absolutely beautiful, the service was awesome and the food was great!
Everyone was awesome but a few people really stuck out for us: Our butlers Reniche and Marlon were so friendly and helpful, Avory at the Italian Restaurant was so nice and Danville at the pool bar was our favourite bartender! We flew through Air Canada Vacations and Helen was so much help:) The entertainment staff were so much fun! G-Money is awesome! You really do get to know many of the staff there, everyone was seriously so nice! The wedding ceremony on the beach was beautiful along with the reception which was also on the beach. Clearly we loved it! Jamaica is beautiful and this resort was absolutely perfect! We have children so our next visit we may stay at the suites or beach where they allow children, but for a couples getaway, the grand is the way to go! Plus if you stay at the grand you get to use all amenities at the other two iberostar resorts which are all so easily accessible!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mommy_Milly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your review. We are ecstatic to hear that your trip had met your expectations. It was particularly heartwarming to hear that our staff, resort, service and the way that we had executed your brother’s wedding left a positive impression on you. We look forward to serving you again soon and hope that whenever you are planning a vacation, we will be foremost on your mind.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an absolutely great stay at Iberostar Grand Rose Hall! From the minute we got off the bus, we were treated fabulous... check in was a breeze! The staff was great!! Our butler, RuShane was the best and helped make our stay wonderful!!! The al a cart restaurants were amazing... and if you are lucky enough to have Fitzroy as a server at Surf & Turf, you will understand!! The pool bar was a great time, met some great people. Beach-side service was a bonus. Plenty of pool chairs and beach chairs... I never felt the need to reserve. Plenty of food whenever you are hungry especially with 24 hr room service. Top shelf liquor and bar tenders who can make something special for anyone... you cant go wrong. The lobby bar/lounge was a great place to stop before dinner it had a great ambiance. There was entertainment every night, the beach party was my favorite! I cant find anything to complain about!

Room Tip: Ocean view or ocean front.... the patio is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments on your visit to the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall on this website. Your comments about our restaurants and the quality of our cuisine. We are especially grateful that you chose our property to spend your vacation. We hope to serve you again soon and trust that you will not hesitate to choose our resort for your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had been to the Grand once before and had a great time. We had never returned to the same resort twice and were a bit nervous that our excellent first experience would not be repeated this time around. As it turned out we had no reason to be concerned. From the grounds through every staff member to the rooms, beach and restaurants everything was top notch. Even the security and life guards made sure they said hello. Even the cat by the breakfast buffet garden was well groomed and friendly.

There were two big corporate groups but the hotel seemed to handled them well and there was no problem with them ganging up on the rest of us - thank you!

Too many staff to single out, although Rachel and the other wait staff on the beach walk their legs off every day and deserve special mention. We didn’t use the butler but he was there if we needed him.

To have a great time just ask for whatever you want, but remember you are in the Jamaican’s country so don’t be demanding – it’s all about one love after all. At the Grand they make things happen.

As many posters have said, the Grand is the adult only part of the Iberostar complex, so if you’re looking for party nights I suggest the Suites or Beaches might be a better choice (hint to the 50+ year olds who felt the need to smoke-up non-stop on their balcony – the 60’s called and want their weed back LOL).

There is no wi-fi in the rooms but you’re on vacation, so relax! (BTW on the balconies of the 5 wing you can connect to the lobby wi-fi).

We only ate at the buffet for breakfast and it is excellent. The al la carte’s were all good, although the surf and turf and Japanese were our favorites. If you want lobster with any meal just ask for it. Italian was probably our least favorite only because it was lots of pasta we could have anywhere. Try the Jamaican dishes whenever you can. Don’t be put off because it looks different – e.g. akee and salt fish is fantastic. Jerk chicken, pork and beef is one of the reasons we come to Jamaica. We don’t bother with room service – we want to be out in the sun and sand but others we talked to said it was prompt and good.

The shows are actually better than most, with live singers and house band that can really play. What the dancers lack in technique they make up for in enthusiasm.

There is some lounge saving that goes on especially at the pool, but even at full capacity there are chairs enough for everyone. There is no need to fight about it or get up at 5:00 to get a lounger. Really, must you have that one particular chair – really? On the other hand, if you’re not coming down until 2pm, why do you think it’s alright to save beginning at 7am?

The Pirate night on Thursday was fun, but for the amount of time it took to set up and tear down I wonder if they should give the staff a break and try something else.

The beach is not miles of white sand beach like Punta Cana or Negril but it is nice and well maintained all the way to the boat dock at the east end. There is a sketchy shanty town past the dock if you want cheap trinkets or some actual handcrafts, and vendors on surfboards are along the beach every morning. FYI the best prices and selection for “stuff” is at the MBJ airport. Sunshine liquor there is cheaper than the duty free store.

If you see a negative review about the Grand, look closely at the complaint. If yelling at the staff failed to improve the service…imagine that. If not having someone turn down your bed at the exact time you wanted it has ruined your vacation perhaps you better save your money and stay home.

Overall the Grand is ire mon.

Room Tip: Any of the higher floors in the 5 wing will give you a good view of the ocean, beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BeachandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are honored to hear that we had met your high expectations. Your mention of our staff, buffet, and property in general will also serve to motivate our team. We are grateful for the chance to have hosted you and hope that you will be returning soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,747 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,145 reviews
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range: $424 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing