We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,227)
Filter reviews
7,227 results
Traveler rating
5,665
1,118
300
90
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,665
1,118
300
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfpillow menuport mariabutler servicelobsterjo danestar friendsocean frontlobby barroom servicebubble bathdinner reservationspool conciergejapanese restaurantour honeymoonmontego bayboogie nights
Filter
Updating list...
5,637 - 5,642 of 7,227 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I visited Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in December 2011, the week before Christmas. This was our 3rd visit to Jamaica to an adults all inclusive and I am always on the lookout for a great resort for us to visit. We are in our mid 30's with 2 small children so when we get the chance to get away we like to visit an adult's only and really enjoy it! We had read so many great reviews of the Iberostar and, in fact, had travelled to the Secrets Wild Orchid the year before when it had first opened and were nervous before we left so we had actually tried to move to the Iberostar before we left (but weren't able to). In any event, I think there is enough information in most of the reviews about all the details - overall our impression was the hotel was nice, the rooms were nice, the patios (especially on the main floor overlooking the pool) were amazing. The food was just okay, not outstanding, pretty average. Same with the service (except for Christopher at the Cigar Lounge - we enjoyed our nights hanging out there and chatting with him and other patrons.) The butlers were hit and miss and when you really did need something, it was so hard to find anyone to help you. I think the worst part of the vacation was the daily early morning battle for a spot by the pool. Brutal!! I don't understand why there are not enough chairs/spaces for everyone to be able to enjoy themselves. You had to wake up at the crack of dawn to have a hope of getting a chair, and even then when you put your stuff on one to reserve it, you still had to watch that no one else moved it. The weather was also not great the week we went and it rained every morning (which made trying to save a chair that much more fun!). Overall I would say this resort is average. We are going to go back to the Secrets next month and hope that the past year and a half they have been able to work out the kinks they had when they first opened.

Room Tip: The patios poolside are amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We were sorry to hear that our property fell below your expectations. It is unfortunate that you had not reported your dissatisfaction with the Front Office or Public Relations Manager whilst you were in house, as they would have ensured that your requests were carried out. Please be assured that our Management Team would have been only too happy to assist had we known that you were dissatisfied. We are hopeful that you will reconsider returning as it would be our utmost pleasure to host you again and offer our usual efficient and professional service which we are known for.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a 10 hour flight from the UK, transfer dropping off too many other holiday makers arrival the Grand was a breath of fresh air. Especially after seeing other hotels on drop off!

If travelling direct from the airport and not via other hotels as is the norm for a package deal, this hotel is no more than a 15 minute transfer. Do not be in any way put off by the proximity to the airport, this hotel is not in any flight path, in fact is situated in its own little oasis of calm.

The Grand is one of three Iberostar hotels in this resort. If you do not walk around or through the whole resort you would not even be aware the others existed. The other 2 hotels are accessible to the Grand residents but not vice versa. It is for this reason Grand residents are asked to wear a wrist band, (very subtle though). We chose this hotel as it is adults only and 5 star rated. We were not disappointed, the hotel is as it claims to be. Even though children are allowed in the other hotels in the resort, as mentioned, you would not know. This was key to us and a number of other residents we chatted to!

On arrival we were greeted with a cool hand / face towel and a glass of bucks fizz or the like in the high ceilinged, air conditioned, sparkling reception hall. Check in was efficient, quick and easy (which was appreciated as we were tired). We were celebrating our anniversary and therefore taken to a sea view suite of excellent standard. All baggage taken off our hands.

Service was excellent from the reception staff, portering staff, bar and restaurant staff, entertainment staff, cleaning and laundry staff..... they all work very hard, quietly and very efficiently. I noted on most days the ents' staff work tirelessly from pool side 10am to the show end midnight. They earn their money and it is clear high standards are expected of them (and all staff). The pleasant laid back culture that exists in Jamaica is alien to us Brits. Normally I would find the daily chat from the ents' staff an annoyance but instead they were a pleasure to chat to and even inspired me to undertake a few activities. If you do not wish to take part in anything you will not find these lovely individuals of distraction to your enjoyment, and coming from me that is quite something!

The pools are clean - everywhere is spotless and constantly kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. Plenty of sun loungers for all and lots of shade (as a fair Brit I needed this!) Endless pool towels, and yes people do reserve beds yet there still seemed to be plenty to go around.

Do nothing or lots to do - just a very short walk to the beach you can sail or kayak which was fun. There is the opportunity to dive or snorkel with short boat trips leaving from the beach. Also para sailing happened most days weather dependent. A very generous proportion of activities are included in your stay. I took part in yoga and pool and beach volleyball. Such a friendly and easy going attitude from all.

Food was excellent, there are a couple of 'buffet' service restaurants yet the food in these areas is presented at some service points as you would expect individual plated potions to be presented. Not your typical hotel buffet, the buffet term more meaning you have to serve yourself food. Food is also cooked to order by talented chefs in front of guests. An excellent standard and huge choice. There are also 3 themed 'gourmet' as the hotel calls them, restaurants. We dined in the Japanese only but they are worth trying if only for the show the chefs put on in the Japanese restaurant. However the food is of no better standard than in the buffet. Just a different dining experience.

Large choice of cocktails and drinks whatever the hour.

Butler service - there if you want it, included. To be honest we never needed it.

The main nationality of the residents in the Grand is American - I am quite jealous of their close proximity to Jamaica! How I would love to be able to take a short break there.

Tipping in Jamaica is basically expected, don't bother with Jamaican Dollars you will only need US Dollars - everything is priced in US, whether in the hotel, on excursions, whatever. And believe me it is so much easier to tip a couple of US Dollars than a few thousand Jamaican ones!

We were on the island for a friends wedding 10 minutes back down the coast, Sandals Royal Caribbean. This day visit only underlined the excellence of the Grand. No comparison, it was like going from 5+* to a 2/3* although the Royal was supposed to be 5*.

Very easy to book excursions from the hotel and we received upgrades to Dolphin Cove when doing so. Tip - Travel with a guide / tour. They know the culture where to go and where not to, and this is key. You will note this as soon as you arrive.

A great stay in your hotel - thank you very much Iberostar Grand and your fantastic team.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view suite at rear of the hotel - looks over all the pools to the sea above the foyer bar. Great room, great views but if going to bed early you will hear chairs moving below you all night...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We appreciated hearing from you regarding our warm service, professional staff, pools, presentation and choice of food. It is our intention to ensure that you have a hassle-free stay and your review shows that we have managed to do just that. Your evaluation of our property and services compared to the other hotel you had also gone to was also motivating. We are hopeful that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future as it would be our honor to host you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

There really isn't all that much to say, other than this resort exceeded our expectations in every possible way. That being said, I feel that this resort deserves a thorough review. My words cannot describe our incredible experience, but I'll certainly try.

My husband and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand in March, 2012. This review is a little late, but I had to write this review to commend an exceptional hotel with exceptional service. They made our short stay in paradise one to remember.

From the moment you arrive at the pearly gates, you are greeted with a cool towel and a lovely glass of champagne.

Check-in is instantaneous. No waiting. Personalized service. No, scratch that. More like, "Mr-Mrs-How-Can-We-Make-You-As-Happy-As-Possible?" service. We were introduced to our personal butler, taken to our room within 5 minutes of checking in, and immediately found a bottle of champagne on ice waiting in our room. Perfect reception? I think so.

Pillow service is available, assuming you don't like the soft-as-a-cloud marshmellows already available on your bed.

Rooms are immaculate, comfortable, luxurious and extravagant. All rooms are suites, with a lovely spa-like bathroom (featuring his and her separate areas, thank you very much) and a massive soaker jacuzzi tub. Waterfall shower with all the bells and whistles. If you like, a butler will fill your tub with delicious smelling bubbles and sprinkle it in fresh rose-petals, along with a chilled bottle of your favorite beverage.

Mini-bar full of lots of options, water, and a plethora of booze, all yours for the taking. Hard to stay sober in a place like this. If there isn't something you want, (tequila? Absolut Vodka?) they'll bring a full bottle to your room.

24 hour room service. Nothing says decadent like smoked salmon at two in the morning, am I right?

The balcony is as big as the room, with a charming two-person swing. All rooms have an ocean view. Lovely, peaceful place for a pre-dins read of a good novel.

Meander down to one of the bars and treat yourself to a cocktail-extraordinaire. The bar staff are friendly, funny, and talented. We were serenaded and entertained constantly. Wonderful attitudes, wonderful people. The tips/pay didn't strike us as the driving force - these people simply exude a joie-de-vivre. Coached? Perhaps, but certainly effective.

Pools are stunning. Always a cabana or lounger available. Adored the two-person sunners. All seating areas are prime. Beach towels plentiful and fresh. Beach chairs? No problem, just wander down to the beach and pick a place. Never a fight for spots and always a place available with a perfect view. Thirsty? Fear not, someone will be along shortly to take your order with a smile.

Beach was immaculate. White sands, crystal clear water and utterly peaceful. Completely pristine. I had a moment in the water at sunset, where the sun was hitting the waves in just a certain way, that I thought - yes, this could be what I imagine heaven to be like.

Food? To die for. Every dish in the buffet was individually plated, and utterly delicious. Truly, this does not feel like a buffet. It feels like a five star restaurant showing off its best plates for you alone, and you're the star reviewer. I meandered over to the dessert section once and found a sous-chef organizing the delicacies. Told her she was an artist. Responded in true-artist fashion: "I know." Felt like a manhattan art gallery, without the false modesty.

Reservations at the specialty restaurant are made upon your arrival. Your butler takes care of all of it, fear not, you'll have a place. Highly recommend the French and Gourmet. Have the lobster, you won't be sorry.

Feel like a fine cuban cigar? Those are available a-la-cart. Little cigar lounge for those of you who like to indulge.

Entertainment worthy of a Hollywood record label. Incredible voices, incredible personalities, and incredible presence. We normally dislike the "entertainment" in all-inclusive resorts, but this was really a cut above. Kudos to the amazingly talented staff who are clearly destined for great things. After one show, several of the staff came to sit with us for a few minutes to have a chat and a drink. Felt nothing but friendly inclinations. They didn't stay long, but they left a wonderful impression of what the Jamaican people are truly all about.

Decided against our "usual" better judgement to try the disco one night. We normally dislike it, but in this instance, we were joined by the general manager and his "number 2", who kept us happy and entertained and made us feel like VIP's. Such a great touch.

Love the "no-children" policy. This is an adults-only resort, as such, you are meant to feel like a pampered, free person with no responsibilities or obligations.

The resort adjoins the Iberostar Suites and Beaches, respectively. These are four and four and a half star resorts that are family friendly. You can check them out, but they can't see your digs at the Grand, adding to the fleeting but lovely feeling of exclusivity. Both resorts' were nice to visit, but always wonderful to come home to the Oasis that is the Grand.

Interesting thing that the Grand does...the hallways have a peculiar smell. Some sort of oil concoction that they burn day and night, and it is ah-mazing. Mixed with the soothing euro-spa music, it's simply delicious. I couldn't purchase the oil, though I tried. Discovered upon our arrival home that our clothes smelled of it. Wonderful. I do think that, however proprietary that scent may be, the resort should sell it in the gift store. Would be quite a hit, I'm sure.

"Activities" (i.e, the daytime beach entertainment), is appreciably muted, though present. We participated once and walked away with two bottles of premium rum. No loud music, no boisterousness or pressure to get involved. This resort is all about your relaxation, and a devil-may-care, do-what-feels-right atmosphere. Relaxation is the key word.

Feeling lazy before dinner but needing to get the wardrobe ready? Fear not, they'll iron your clothes for you before your reservations if you like.

Feel like just checking your email or having a game of pool before cocktails? Sure, there's a room for that. No line-ups, no waits. Computers ready, internet free, pool tables ready. WIFI free in the lobby, if you're inclined to killing a few minutes on your laptop or ipad before dinner.

Final note, the clientele are all slightly older. My husband and I (early thirties) were in the minority. But don't let that deter you if you are of a party-mind. You can easily mix and mingle with similarly aged at the Beach or Suites.

Not much else to say. Was terribly sad to say goodbye. Will we be back? Absolutely. We have decided to try the other Grands as well in other countries, but this resort will stand out as the first exceptional experience we've ever had at an all-inclusive. Sure, it's very costly, but think of it as an investment. It's a memory you'll always have of a wonderful time where you are truly made to feel VIP, pampered, and satisfied. Definitely worth the experience. The best resort I've ever been to, and I'm really excited to revisit this resort sometime in the future. HIGHLY recommend.

Feel free to email me with any questions. Have an incredible time!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean-view. All are suites. No need to worry, you'll wind up where you belong.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sleepytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous and informative review. We appreciated hearing of your impression of our Butler Service, Reception and service in general, Your kind words as it related to our beautiful property, 24-hour room service, quality of our entertainment and relaxing adults-only atmosphere, was also well received. It is our intention to ensure that the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall name becomes synonymous with world-class accommodation.

Our Management and staff are encouraged by reviews such as yours as they reflect that our goal of providing exceptional service has been met. We are hoping that after the enjoyable vacation you had with us, our property will be foremost in your mind when you are planning your next vacation.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was our second time to this resort and we were just as impressed as our first visit. we would like to give a high 5 to the following people for their outstanding fun and service without them we would not of had such an extra special vaca along with our two other couples traveling with us. We start with Barrington at the front desk and sylvester and william the bell hop boys all three were awesome we so enjoyed our ride in the gulf cart with that said I am sure they know who we are. A shout out to Norlan in the surf and turf restaurant and Frederick in the Gourmet. We can't forget our Butler Darwin. Also Wayne and O'Neil and Christopher. And for the fun of it all was Tinkerbell, Gmoney,and TO, polo hats to you TO. Syrecka was there for us all the time,. However, we did not find the people at the Gulf outing to friendly. A special thanks to Samantha.,

We would suggest this Hotel to anyone looking to have a fun relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: the side which has been updated was much nicer that the other side which needed to be updated in a big way.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SABRINA331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We especially enjoy hearing from you, our valued Repeat Guests as you are able to provide us with your view on the consistency of our service. We enjoyed hearing that you were pleased with every aspect of your interaction with our staff, namely, Front Office, Bell Hop, Restaurant and Bars, Butlers, and Entertainment. Your feedback as it pertains the customer service at the Cinnamon Hill Golf Course was alos informative.

It is hoped that you will think of us as your Jamaican "Home away from from Home" and will have no hesitation to returning in the near future.

Best regards,


Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and 25 and 22 year old sons and I vacationed here in late March. It was a fabulous time. The rooms and facilities are excellent. The best buffet restaurants we have ever experienced at an all inclusive. But the thing that truly makes the place grand is the fabulous customer service you encounter everywhere you go. I loved the fact that it was only 20 minutes from the airport. No need to waste vacation time traveling to resort. If I could make one suggestion add blue mountain coffee to the rooms and it would be perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thrash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recent review regarding our property. We were pleased to know that we were hosts to your family on your recent vacation. It was additionally exciting to hear that you all had an enjoyable time.

We remain committed to serving guests of varied age groups and feel deeply satisfied that we have created an ideal All-Inclusive package to suit the discerning traveller. As you rightly said we are conveniently located just 20 minutes from the Sangster International Airport. It was a great pleasure to see that you had specified our rooms, facilities in general and warm customer service as being the hallmarks of your trip. We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews