We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time was a charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rose Hall
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
burlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second time was a charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This review is for the week of March 19 for ten days.
I will try to write this so that it flows from the start of the trip until the end.

Please be advised that if you don't like to read I can summarize very quickly the trip. It is an absolutely fabulous place to visit and we had a perfect vacation. That really summarizes everything. If you visit this place and don't like it then perhaps you really should never leave home.

For the more detail oriented let's begin (please be advised the previous positive emails do encompass all of the wonderful attributes of the place).

Airport:
The airport arrival was fairly smooth and reasonably quick. The resort was approximately 15 to 20 minutes away from the airport.

Arrival:
You are greeted with the cool towel and drink at check in. Once you enter, the lobby is breathtaking and characteristic of how beautiful the place is.
Check-in is quite smooth and from the main entrance onwards everyone is super polite.

Room:
I did not understand why people would talk about the bed but it is actually perfect-you will never sleep like that again. The room is spacious with a fully stocked minibar (premium quality). You can ask the butler to put whatever you want in their-I did and the service was quick. There is a safe in the room. There are double sinks, Jacuzzi tub, walk-in shower, flatscreen TV (if you really need it). The balcony has a great swing and comfortable couch. The room was perfect and very clean-nightly turndown was splendid.
Room service was topnotch for breakfast or dinner.

Food:
All restaurants have excellent service, very good food and presentation.
There is one breakfast buffet/restaurant, and one lunch buffet/restaurant.
You have access to the sister hotels for food.
We walked along the beach one day and they had a steel drum band playing outside (next door) and a BBQ-jerk pork and chicken etc. Lunch was there that day-no problems eating next door and enjoying the music.

The “complaints” are:
-that a lot of food was presented with out you being told what it is.
-the utensils to pick up the food were not practical-you will see.
-breakfast would be better served where lunch is-the open air beachfront restaurant.
Beach:
Very nice. There are some pebbles and shells, but this was never a problem-step over them. The water was very clear. The ocean was calm due to the 2 reefs (one close to shore, one farther out). The beach is long enough for a nice walk (about 15-20 minutes end to end), and to use the water sports, you do have to walk to the far end. If you keep walking beyond the 3rd hotel, there is a little shopping village off the property, which is great for cheap souvenirs. The people are “aggressive” but you do feel safe in this area. The hotel souvenirs are quite reasonably priced when compared to the beach.

People:
The people for us truly made the trip memorable. EVERY single person from the front door was superb to deal with. On this note I would like to say that I could see why some people may have negative comments. To be clear the previous comment relates to visitors and not staff. You must remember some of the staff are new and young-if they're not sure of something there is no need to be rude-no amount of money entitles anyone to be rude to the staff. We are in Jamaica and at times things were slower than we're used to in North America-but if something is wrong, they certainly try to correct it immediately. The point is being on holidays try to relax and give hard-working, polite people a break. Even though tipping is not expected, we certainly did as most people we felt deserved it.
Morrision and Oneil certainly were great company and bartenders. The waitresses were phenomenal-a note for management-please consider changing the ridiculous dress code for outdoor waitresses-those uniforms are way too thick to be wearing in that heat. Anyone else who reads this and sees this, please help us help those waitresses (we promised to comment on this).

We did meet some great people from the Caledon area (Sam and Martha. We met an entertainer from Montréal-Le Canard (Yvan) and Joanne).

I've tried not to repeat what others have written-they are 100% correct, it is a fabulous place to go visit.

For the Iberostar-if this level of service decreases or the quality decreases we would not return. It is a beautiful place that we hope does not change for the worse. Management seems quite intent on maintaining the quality standards.


Departing:
Fairly smooth-be aware there are a lot of stores in the airport upon departure-you have plenty of choices after clearing security. Internet access is quite good and free (pool table room) to check your flight status.

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for an upgrade-the worst they can say is no. Oceanfront was very nice, but cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one-life-2-live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. We are delighted to learn that we had exceeded your expectations again. In particular, we appreciated your specific mention of the Front Office Service, luxuriously appointed rooms, food and beach as being amongst the highlights of your trip.

We have noted your suggestions as it pertains to the labeling of dishes, and utensils provided. Please be aware though that the venue for Breakfast is actually chosen according to the occupancy levels. Your concern for our staff’s welfare is also noted, however uniforms are chosen by our Head Office, and determined by the level of service that is offered by the respective hotel. That being said, all Waiters/and Waitresses at the Iberostar Grand Collection Hotels wear the same uniform.

We hope that we will be foremost in your minds as being your “Jamaican home away from home”. It was a pleasure to have served you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,899
    955
    248
    73
    42
See reviews for
666
4,093
143
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,928)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We vacationed here with friends March of 2012 and loved it. The food, service, staff, rooms all amazing. The only complaint I would have is the enertainment is lacking for an adult resort. A bit to quiet at the pool . They really need to step it up a notch to make it a perfect 10 resort, but close enough to perfect for me. We, in the past had only done Sandals resorts, after the last two vacations being complete failures we decided to give this place a shot .We did not make a mistake. They aim to please always, the people are simply amazing. They make you feel so special, why go anywhere else.

Room Tip: There are really no bad rooms but the oceanfront do have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We enjoyed hearing of your experience as it pertained to our food, service, staff, and room. We appreciated your comments as it contains our entertainment and will certainly pass on your comments to our Entertainment Manager.

Your evaluation of our property is important to us as we continuously aim to make improvements to our services in accordance with the unique needs of our guests. We hope that we can have the privilege of serving you again soon and look forward to welcoming you in our usual warm Jamaican way.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I took our first trip to Jamaica in the middle of March 2012. This resort surpassed all of our expectations! We had the pleasure of having the BEST Butler EVER, Randy! He was incredibly accommodating, genuine, and we don’t think our trip would have been as amazing as it was without him! I strongly recommend anybody that stays at the Grand to ask for Randy!

Room Tip: Beach Front is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmrole3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We appreciated hearing that your last vacation with us surpassed your expectations. It is our aim to provide the best accommodation and amenities for our guests, so your review will serve to motivate us. We appreciate that you also took the time to make mention of the exceptional Butler service which you received. Please know that we remain committed to your satisfaction, and look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our first visit to the Iberostar Grand and it will not be the last! When we arrived, we were greeted with a cool towel and champagne welcome drink. Rooms, which are large and more like luxury hotel suites, have a spa-like bathroom, sitting area with chaise lounge and rattan swing for relaxing on the balcony. Butlers Randy and Darwin were available 24 hours per day to cater to our every whim and provided excellent service. Stocked bar and mini frig were very convenient. Nightly entertainment in the Theatre provided professional singers and dancers and live musicians. Food was fantastic at the buffet restaurant (lobster thermador at lunch one day) and even more so at the a la carte restaurants, where you were served by white-gloved waiters. Pools were cleaned daily and beach was always clean. We never had any difficulty getting a pool lounge in the shade nor at the beach.The Star Friends greeted us at the pool area and seemed to genuinely want you to have a great Iberostar experience. The Spa section of the resort has various types of pools and showers for your relaxing and enjoyment. The Fitness centre has a variety of machines and there is water and juices available. Staff and management are readily available to listen to any concerns or compliments. We have visited Cuba and the Dominican Republic previously before discovering Jamaica. We have visited Jamaica 7 times during the last 5 years and I consider the Iberostar resorts in Jamaica as my home away from home. I would absolutely recommend this 5 star resort. Nancy & Dave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuestionQueen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is always a special treat to hear from our Repeat Guests. We want to express our thanks to you for sharing this generous review with other travelers on this website. We appreciated hearing about your impressions of our rooms, service, nightly entertainment, fitness center and food. It is our goal to ensure that you have a hassle-free, enjoyable vacation and your review shows that we have achieved just that. We strive to provide a luxurious accommodation, the most delicious meals and a very wide selection of beverages and this combination continues to earn us the distinction of being the resort of choice when visiting Jamaica. Even more important to us, is maintaining the high standards that you our valued repeat guests, continue to expect from us. We thank you for continuing to allow us to be your hosts Jamaica and look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August of 2011. Our experience was so wonderful. We had originally booked to stay in the Suites, but were upgraded when we arrived to stay in the Grand (due to low occupancy, it was the very end of hurricane season). This place was amazing! We had a beautiful room which was also upgraded during our stay (to the oceanfront). The rooms were incredibly clean, the staff was SO SO SO SO polite and respectful. Jamaica as a whole was extremely friendly and all of the people at Iberostar went out of their way to make our stay magnificent. Our butler, Randy, was incredibly helpful, and always got us whatever we needed, whenever we needed it. The Star Friends were hysterical and although at the beginning we were a bit weary, by the second or third day they were our best friends lol. The bartenders at the pool were awesome, and made you the best drinks EVER. They really appreciated a tip here and there. The food was so delicious at EVERY restaraunt we ate at. This was something I was nervous about because I can be quite picky. Just beware that their version of "Italian" isn't quite what we are used to here in the US. At the Japanese place "Ching Ching" (lol?) was amazing. He was awesome at manning the hibachi grill.

In the ocean, behind the resort (more in line with the suites) is a man made reef for snorkeling. We brought pieces of bread and hundreds of fish would surround us and eat right from our hands. That was my favorite part of the trip.


The entertainment was awesome as well. We saw Three shows while we were there: Chicago, Reggae Night (a mix of popular reggae songs), and Disco Night (a mixture of 70's music and hits). The lead singer was amazing in all of the shows, and the performance was very impressive. We actually didn't expect the shows to be THAT GOOD! The club was fun too, we went there dancing two nights and had a blast! :)

I could go on and on about this place, but I will just say that it was an unbelievable experience and we are looking forward to coming back. We spent a whole week there and paid $2,800 INLCUDING air fare for the two of us. We booked through www.oribitz.com and bought the travel insurance. The value for what we got here was amazing.

Please stay here, and ask for Randy! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your recent stay. We appreciated your special mention of our beautifully appointed rooms, efficient service of our staff and nightly entertainment on this website. Our Resort plays a special emphasis on personalized service and in providing a unique travel experience, so hearing that you were exceptionally pleased with your Butler was encouraging. We were proud to have played a part in ensuring you had a memorable vacation and hope that you will allow us to host you again soon.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just returned from a really great Easter weekend vacation, once again arranged by Mark from Trip Guys. They do an excellent job of taking care of all the details and making sure things go right so you have the best holiday.

We arrived on our WestJet flight early on April 6, and went quickly through Customs to our pre arranged private transfers with Reggae Tours. They were also arranged by Mark and were excellent. They met us at the exit doors and took us directly to our resort very quickly, with descriptions of everything we passed. Very good service.

On arrival, we were registered at the Front Desk by some very nice people and of course received our cool scented towels and welcome drink. We were then escorted to our Ocean Front room - and it really is ocean front. We were right on top of the beach when we went out to our large wll appointed deck. Couldn't get any closer.

The room itself was large and also well appointed, with everything you need. Great bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate sinks and mirrors on opposite sides for the woman and man. Comfortable bed, great sitting area and well laid out. Plenty of storage and well stocked mini bar.

Mark had arranged for our Specialty restaurants prior to our arrival and this was a big help as the Buffet restaurant was not open on Good Friday or Easter Sunday. We had to make do with the Gourmet and Surf and Turf - what a shame!! Just kidding. The meals were excellent and the service was the same. Smilling helpful people always there if you needed something. The lunch at the beach restaurant or beach barbecue was also extensive as was the excellent breakfast buffet.

The beach was nice and the ocean was great. We were in it so often and didn't want to leave. The service on the beach also went beyond the normal, with drinks being brought to you without even having to ask, and people coming out to serve you things like sliced pineapple. The best pineapple we have ever tasted.

Our 3 days was over so fast, we didn't have time to do or see everything we wanted, so we are going to go back there again in 2013, but this time for a longer time. When we left, the driver from Reggae Tours was waiting to take us to the airport, and again could not have been better. Mark had arranged for Club MoBay, and it got us through security and Customs really quickly. We then had access to a private waiting lounge with various food items and drinks. Great way to wait for your flight once you have finished your duty free shopping.

Anyway, we will be returning and will use Trip Guys to book again. They and the resort are highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are right on the beach. Great for people who like to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Resortpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We appreciated that you chose our resort as your hosts for your Easter Vacation. Your generous comments as it pertained to your efficient check-in, comfortable rooms, food and service were duly noted. Here at the Iberostar Grand Rose Hall, we take pride in ensuring that you have a memorable and enjoyable vacation. We hope that you will return soon as we would be only too happy to serve you again.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have been around the globe a few times but this was my first time to Jamaica...and what a treat! The Iberostar Grand Hotel – Rose Hall has lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews once again!...But...it was not the brick and mortar...sure the Hotel was clean – fresh – new (about 3-4 years old)...what made it stand out above the rest were their staff!...from the great folks working the front desk to the room service!...everyone went that extra mile to make you feel appreciated and welcome!..Honorable mention goes out to our butlers Darwin and Randy ! Two amazing guys that went well out of their way for us!...then the Star Staff... Ryan...lucky...Diva...and Stally...always a smile on their face and great hosts to some great activities!... the servers around the beach and pools...Chantol, Sonia, Tracyann...and in the Beach Buffet...Jeffery and Kevin...these folks were always there for our order or to get us a fresh drink!...and last but not least...the bartenders....Morris Day....Gerry...and the one that topped our list for service...not to mention a wealth of information on the culture and country...and new true friend...Errol...Both my wife and I felt a pain in our heart when it came to go home...we will miss all of you and will be back soon!...

Room Tip: no need to spend the money for an ocean front...an ocean view will work great if you are on the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank minus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantoValdez, Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica at Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your warm review. It was delightful to hear that the service of our staff added to the quality of your special vacation with us. Our Management recognizes that it is only through our Staff that we can achieve total guest satisfaction, and achieve the distinction of being the resort of choice for the Caribbean. Your kind words acknowledging our Team for their efforts, serves to motivate us and reminds us that we are achieving our goal of providing exceptional personalized service.

We appreciated that you allowed us the privilege to serve you and to have been your hosts whilst you were in Jamaica for your first visit. We hope that as of now you will consider us your Jamaican “Home away from Home” and will not hesitate to staying with us again in the near future.

Quality Manager - Iberostar Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Hall
2.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,180 reviews
12.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Address: Main Road | Little River, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Rose Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Green Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Spa Hotel in Rose Hall
#1 Family Hotel in Rose Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall Hotel Rose Hall
Iberostar Montego Bay
Iberostar Hotel Montego Bay
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall Jamaica - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing