We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
$208
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
$211
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
$131
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Petit Chateau(Otterburn)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
149
260
181
101
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
260
181
101
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth tynethree stara la carte menuhadrian's wallweekend breakbar mealsrestaurant stafflovely settingsteam roomoverlooking the riverchesters roman fortkippersenjoyable stayleisure clubwell worth a visitfull englishspa facilities
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 757 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived at the George restaurant to be greeted by a foreign sounding lady who was not very chatty but give a very efficient and excellent service matched by the view and the stetting right on the wonderful river Tyne. I can’t understand some previous comments about the food here as we were a little worried but the Sunday lunch we had was supreme I had the George platter 3 different meats absolutely fantastic.
Maybe a new chef or he had a bad day but our experience was wonderful 5 stars for value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and we are very pleased to hear that our restaurant met your expectations. It is great to read such good comments and we agree that we too do not understand some of the very negative comments regarding our cuisine as the majority of guests compliment us upon the taste and variety of the food we serve. We hope to see you again in the near future for another Sunday lunch; or perhaps a holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A nice hotel in on the riverside in a rural setting. It is larger than you think and that is perhaps the drawback, becase the rooms are nice, but the restaurant is a disappointment. Rushing staff wanting to shift you from your table a s a p, small portions of pre-made food.... :-(. But the hotel rooms are nice - perhaps on the small side. A bif minus is the advertised free wifi in the rooms, which actually only barely works in the lobby...

Room Tip: very far to walk to get to some of the rooms. Tricky stairs and long corridors.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markus_sterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, unfortunately we have been having problems with the wifi and we are due to have it fixed as soon as possible. It is still working perfectly fine in the lounge and bar areas though. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently. My evening meals were very dissapointing, If it had not been that we were staying with other friends, we would have dined elsewhere. I can honestly say that I have never been served food so unappetising since school dinners in the 1970's. The only potentially good meal (which was a salad) was ruined by the salad leaves being unwashed and gritty. A complaint to the waiter produed no response.
The room was a fair size, but not well cared for, the bathroom had a defective shower and filthy extractor vent. The room was very noisy due to poor sound proofing.
The top car park had derelict ex army vehicles abandoned on it, and the hotel obviously wished to save costs incurred for trade waste collections by partly burning old beds and furniture on the field adjacent to the car park.
The location of the Hotel is superb, the views from the dining room also excellent, it is a shame that this hotel, which could be a " jewel in the crown" is so let down by detail.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations, Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second visit to The George Hotel in Chollerford near Hexham in Northumberland. We were going to a family event in the area on June 1st, and having stayed before, we decided to book another short stay. Although looking a bit old and tired, our accomodation was clean and comfortable. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the meals were excellent. Anything that was lacking was more than made up for by the beautiful setting of the hotel with its' gardens running down to the river North Tyne, which are overlooked by the splendid dining room. We invited some members of our family and some friends to Sunday Lunch which was excellent. The staff waited on us and looked after our guests really well. Nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly be going back in the future.

Room Tip: We think the rooms in the hotel extension near the leisure complex will be quieter. The corridors in the older parts of the hotel suffer from squeeky floors so we suspect the rooms might do too.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad to hear that your stay met your expectations. We hope to see you again soon in the near future here at Chollerford!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Husband and I stayed 2 nights ( a trip down memory lane ) we stayed once before 25 years ago when it was fabulouse !! ... BUT never again!!! Staff do not want to be there and they make it obviouse! The night porter kept us awake with his hoover first night and 2nd night with his music. the resteraunt was set out like eating in a school hall.... and I think maybe the school dinners had the edge !! awefull ...never to return!

Room Tip: above reception was noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your night was felt to be disturbed as the night porter performs his duties; however we are not aware of any music playing during the night. Furthermore, we are baffled by your comment regarding the reference to a 'school canteen' and 'school dinners' as we have been complimented by many a guest upon the quality, tastefulness and variety of our cuisine. However food is very much opinion-orientated and therefore we cannot always satisfy every guest's tastes. In addition to this, many a guest has also complemented the motivated, efficient nature of our staff and therefore we a confused by your comment. We are also sorry to hear that you will not be returning to the George Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews