We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend break away”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had stayed at The George in the winter and decided to return in the better weather and luckily the sun did shine for us.The hotel and gardens looked lovely as we drove over the bridge. We were swiftly checked in and the Scots girl on reception was very polite and friendly. We had a nice room although there was no lock on the bathroom door but that didn't bother us although a lack of glasses did. The next day 2 plastic ones appeared. The room was very clean and comfortable although the floor was very squeeky but it is a very old building.
We had breakfast both mornings and it was quickly served and well cooked and the buffet section whilst not vast was of good quality.
Dinner was good and other comments of being "school canteen" style somewhat baffled us, some people must go to very posh schools! The only problem we could see was there didn't seem to be any clear leadership amongst the waiting staff which meant there was a bit of a wait and some tables seemed to get missed. Things did improve when the bar man appeared and lent a hand, maybe they were just a bit short staffed those nights. The bar prices are a little on the high side however the afore mentioned bar man who was from Liverpool made up for it as he was very attentive and chatty and was always on the go.
We didn't make use of the leisure facilities although we did have a look at the pool and gym and it seemed to be ok as other guests were using it.
Both myself and my partner commented that the public toilets in the hotel really need refurbed gaffer tape on the floor in this day and age is just not on!
Over all we had a good stay at The George and will return, the staff are very good and hard working but there are numerous little cosmetic details that need rectified to make the George live up to the view that you see from the bridge.
It's time to spend a bit of money and get the paint brushes out!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your comment and we are glad that your enjoyed your stay overall, firstly we apologise for the missing glasses within your room. Furthermore, we certainly agree with you that our restaurant is not ‘school canteen’ standard and are also baffled by this previous review. In terms of restaurant waiting times, the restaurant is designed to create a relaxed, stress-relieving atmosphere in which time is deliberately given between courses. This makes the dining experience more enjoyable and more valuable for the majority of guests, however we do acknowledge that everyone has different desires and hence we are sorry that you encountered unwanted delays. Upon inspection, there was no evidence of gaffer tape within the public toilets. It is entirely plausible that this tape was present on account of a temporary repair to a toilet fixing; however this has since been rectified. We are very glad to hear that you will return and visit the George once again in the future, and we hope that upon this occasion we can provide an even better and more enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 709 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Me and my partner have returned from a short 4 night stay at the george hotel chollerford and I must say I have realy enjoyed my stay there.the rooms are in need of a referb granted but they are clean and have every thing you need once you return after a long day walking.all items are replenished on a daily basis which is a nice touch.on arrival the reception staff were FREINDLY and helpful we were directed to our room,on finding our room we found it clean and fresh,with clean towels on our bed,we went down for dinner at 7pm we were taken to our table asap the service was second to none the staff are very efficient indeed nothing was a problem for the staff.the meal was enjoyable.after dinner we enjoyed a lovley drink in the bar area looking over the river.we will be returning to the george hotel in the very near future.thank you very much for a lovley relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a view room over the river,Beautiful surrounds and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very glad we could provide you with an enjoyable stay here at Chollerford. Furthermore, it is great to hear that you will be returning to the George, and we hope that we can once again provide you with an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from George Hotel, thanks very much to caroline reception, restaurant staff all of whom were very helpful, food was first class and although room was dated, it was clean and tidy and was excellent value for money, this was my third stay at the hotel cannot fault it.
My wife has recently suffred a stroke and the staff coukld not have been more helpful

Neil and Sandra

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilN635927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very glad that we could provide you with another enjoyable stay here at Chollerford and look forward to welcoming you for a fourth time in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Like the last few reviewers we too unfortunately found problems with our stay. We are very tolerant travellers but the lack of care was disappointing. Housekeeping tried to gain access to our room whilst we were preparing to get ready for a wedding (at 10.30 a.m.) so we asked them to return later. We returned from our wedding at 11.45 p.m. to find the room had not been touched nor supplies replenished. Others in our party did not have towels and had to request these. Cumberland sausage is advertised as part of the breakfasts well the sausage I was given certainly had not crossed the border from Cumberland to Northumberland (Trade Description springs to mind). To add insult to injury all the deposits paid for 10 rooms had been offset against only one because it had not been specified when the booking (for 10 rooms) was made. The hotel is set in beautiful countryside but I am afraid we will not be returning here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jolydaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are sorry that you found our housekeeping services disappointing. Nevertheless, one member of your party informed us, during your stay, that it was fine to leave the room and simply replace the towels and hence we obliged. However, here at the George we have a water-saving initiative in which towels are only washed if the guest places them within the bath basin. A notice of this policy is clearly stated within the room, and unfortunately your towels were not replaced as they were not placed within the bath. We are also sorry that you found the Cumberland sausage to be lower than your expectations; however it was, in fact, a Cumberland sausage and we can only put this issue down to personal tastes. We have been complemented in the past by many a guest upon the palatable, tasteful nature of our food; including the Cumberland sausage. In regards to your concern about the deposit issue, the booking was indeed a group booking and deposits were all made under that name. No request to distribute the deposit was made; of which would not have been an issue. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to the George hotel; furthermore, all your comments have been taken into consideration and we thank you for pointing out areas that you feel subsided below your expectations as we can investigate these further and strive to continuously improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at The George with a group of twelve friends over the Bank Holiday weekend in May. We had a deal for dinner, bed & breakfast for £90.00 per night for my wife and me.

We were warned by the friend who organised our stay that The George is a three star hotel and we weren't to expect too much. He was right.

The George is in a lovely spot and it's an ideal location if you're visiting the area.

The quality of rooms varies a lot and it's pot luck whether you get a refurbished room or a tired and tawdry one. We'd asked for room 216 which is a long way from reception (this is a big, sprawling hotel with lots of corridors). We got room 218 next door. The room was clean but tired with a massive crack in the washbasin, I'm surprised it didn't leak.The bathroom tiles could have done with a good clean too. But everything worked and the bedroom was warm. Room 218 has a lovely view. The downside is that the room is easily visible from the garden - take care to close the curtains when dressing!

Breakfasts were fine with a good selection of cereals and fruit etc. plus the usual "full English". Dinners were disappointing, school canteen standard. Some of our group opted for a la carte but they were even more disappointed, having paid extra for their meals.

The bar was OK but prices are high. They ran out of cask beer on Sunday evening - poor planning for the bank holiday weekend.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

The hotel's let down by a lack of attention to detail and apparent lack of investment. Some rooms really need a refit urgently. Some external doors wouldn't close properly, had cracked glass and broken/rotten panels. The car park at the back of the hotel is a good size but the dilapidated wreck of a Land Rover and a decrepit WWII army truck don't create a good impression. Look out for glass if you park anywhere near the recycling bins. There was a skip full of old mattresses and an old bonfire on the grass where more mattresses had been burned.

What a pity. This could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. In relation to your comment regarding the crack within the washbasin, this was investigated further and the hairline crack discovered has been repaired, thank you for notifying us about this issue. Furthermore, regarding the issue raised about the tiles within your bathroom, housekeeping staff service the rooms, including cleaning of the bathroom tiles and hence we are unsure as to how this occurred. We are also sorry to hear that you found our evening meals to have been lower than your expectations, however on the contrary, the majority of guests complement us upon the variety and tastefulness of our cuisine and therefore we are baffled by your ‘school canteen’ standard perception. In addition to this, upon further inspection the only evident example of a broken panel, granted, was found upon an external fire exit door to the leisure club. This is not part of the hotel itself and was repaired swiftly. Due to the nature of the area, we have many a guest staying on account of classic vehicle shows within the nearby vicinity. For example Corbridge, approximately 6 miles from Chollerford, host classic vehicle shows annually. Subsequently we often have classic vehicles within the hotel car parking vicinities as people staying, often attend these rather intriguing shows. The George hotel allow local villagers, living in Chollerford and Humshaugh, to use the recycling bins upon the premises. This better equips the local area to be able to recycle which is evidently and increasingly significant issue in today’s environmental climate. Due to this, the broken glass may be a result of local people placing their recyclable materials within the bins. Regarding the skip filled with mattresses; this was present due to recent refurbishments within the hotel and has since been removed. Furthermore, the bonfire is featured within the adjacent field to the hotel and is hence not strictly completely under the hotel’s premise. We thank you for you helpful comments and action has been taken to investigate the issues you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were so disappointed. At first, we tried not to be, we overlooked issues, but as more arised, we ended up complaining. Please heed the negative comments because we have discovered that most of them applied to us. I've never commented before ,but felt compelled to now.
We stayed at The George Hotel for our honeymoon 18 years ago, and have stayed 2 other times since, both of which were more than 10 years ago. We were saddened to see the hotel is no longer what it used to be. Other than the reception area, lounges and dining room, the hotel is dated, run down, dirty in places and is in desperate need of some money and TLC.
The shower in our room (in the annexe) was unusable because it fluctuated between cold and dangerously hot, the toilet roll holder was broken, the toilet handle was hanging out of the wall, the bedside lamp was thick with dust. In the leisure facilities, the jacuzzi had sand floating about in it which stuck in your costume, the poolside shower was unusable because it only ran at a very cold temperature, the hand rail to the jacuzzi was very wobbly, the top deck seat in the sauna was on the verge of snapping it bowed so much when you sat on it, the soap dispensers were without soap. In the restaurant, they don't clear away the vacated tables at breakfast and evening meals which is rather unpleasant. It wouldn't take much effort to clear them and wipe them. There was a potted plant sitting in a smashed pot - half the pot was literally missing - it had been pushed into a corner so that you hopefully didn't notice the missing bit at the back! It's leaves were covered in dust, soil and webs. There was a fire door with cracked glass. And there were other issues, but I won't go on!
I wrote a 7 page letter to the Coast and Country head office detailing our stay and accompanied it with some damning photographs. I received an apologetic reply and a £25 voucher to use in one of their hotels, which is totally useless when an average night costs £100, and there's no way we are spending any more money just to redeem this voucher! It's quite an insult. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe and rooms in the 100's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your desires. We pride ourselves upon the cleanliness of our hotel and therefore are unsure as to where was found to be ‘dirty’. Furthermore, we do not understand your use of the term ‘annex’ as there is no shower situated within an annex to a room throughout the hotel. The shower within your room was inspected further and found to be of a functional level; therefore we can suggest that during your stay an intermittent technical malfunction perhaps caused the temporary fault within the shower head. We apologise for the toilet roll holder within your room, as upon inspection, it was indeed found to be damaged. Nevertheless, this was swiftly repaired and we thank you for notifying us about this issue. In regards to the issue you raised concerning sand within the Jacuzzi, we are not aware of the presence of sand however it is possible that a small quantity emerged during the backwash; however this process is essential for the Jacuzzi to be maintained at specification standards. Furthermore, the poolside shower is intentionally operated at a cool temperature as it is designed for use after one has visited the steam room or sauna; this shower provides a cool, awakening refreshment after relaxing within the mentioned features. In a similar vein, we are baffled by your comment regarding the insecure Jacuzzi hand rail and sauna seat as they were found to be stable and secure upon further inspection. The fire door referenced within your comment was under repair, however was functional and safe to use as it is reinforced with shatterproof glass. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, and although we are sorry to hear you will not return, this has helped to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

DBB for two was £100 which we felt was excellent value. Ample carparking, pleasant receptionist, rather long trek up and down stairs, along corridors(cases could be brought in easily from back door leading to car park) to pleasant, fair sized room, pleasant view of gardens,one light not working, comfy bed, bathroom fine but all looked just a tad "dated" or "quirky" according to your point of view. Back door to car park was a security problem -people kept leaving it propped open as guests didn't have back door keys.
Plenty of other guests but restaurant service wasn't compromised, food very nice for both dinner and breakfast, plenty of public reception rooms, free newspapers around, some interesting info on Baden Powell and the first Scout camp. Gardens pleasant, river views and walks, very well situated for Chesters Roman Fort, on bus route, a bit "damp"(not surprising, given its situation and the long term appalling weather), staff competent but not with the normal outgoing Geordie friendliness as they were an international bunch, by and large.

Room Tip: Try to get a good view, avoid being right near the back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments; we hope to see you again sometime in the near future here at sunny Chollerford!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: $71 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing