We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stpot on the banks of the Tyne”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice stpot on the banks of the Tyne”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a drink here on my way home to Northumberland back from the Lake District - very nice hotel to stop in for a snack and very scenic location! Plenty of seating in bar area/lounge and polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that we could provide a pleasant environment for you to stop for refreshments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    225
    164
    95
    57
See reviews for
80
425
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend stay at The George Hotel, very good value for money, we were able to take our dog with us for a small charge (not a problem). The food is very good, the public area's are very nicely decorated and warm. Room warm and clean though could do with a bit of TLC and also the bathroom. The pool area was also warm and clean and was nice to go to after a long walk in the Kielder forest. Staff all very pleasent and very helpful.Really enjoyed our stay and would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: Room 216 was very nice with a view of gardens and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment upon our services, we are very glad that we could meet your expectations during your stay and indeed look forward to your return, hopefully in the not too distant future. Your comments upon the rooms and bathroom have been taken into consideration. Thank you again your comments and we hope to provide you with such a service once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

we stayed 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast lovely hotel set on banks of the river. Previous comments of a negative nature are not justified one or 2 little niggles but on the whole good value for money. Food was good couple of choices on each course and if not can eat off full menu and pay. The restaurant staff were really good especially the two young ladies. We stayed in 216 which had fab views.

Room Tip: ask for one facing gardens/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear mrsw71

Thank you for such a lovely review. It is always so nice to read when guests have enjoyed there stay here with us and find the hotel to be sat in some beautiful grounds with amazing views over the river Tyne.

We hope to welcome you back to the George Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third visit to The George which we find to be a very comfortable hotel and the food being very good with an excellent choice of menu. The staff are very friendly who could not do enough for you. Each time we have gone the hotel seems to have been improved in some way. It is an ideal situation for days out to local attractions such as Hexham and the Roman Wall and National Trust properties such as Cragside and Wallington Hall. Exceptional value for a three star hotel, possibly could do with some new mattresses, but this is our only complaint and we will certainly be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear alanRWhitleyBay

Thank you for your kind positive review, it is so nice to read that you have enjoyed all your stays here with us and that you feel the hotel improves on each visit.
For a better nights sleep (mattress) why not try one of our newly refurbished rooms which we have just had finished.
We do hope to welcome you back to the George Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at The George for one night and our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, as were the staff in the bar - full marks to them! Our welcome on arrival was none existent, the receptionist was clearly having a bad day and didn't make us feel welcome at all. This coud have spoiled our stay but we kept an open mind. The spa facilities are disappointing and the walkways and garden area look unloved. The external doors of the hotel need some maintainence badly, we were surprised by some of the damage. However it served the purpose of a warm, comfortable bed for the night and breakfast was better than dinner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ali B

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt unwelcome on your arrival at the hotel.
I am pleased though that you found our waiting staff and bar staff to be helpful and lovely as that is the level of Customer Care we try to achieve here.
Due to unforeseen circumstances our Gardner was off for a period of time, but he is now back and out attending to the gardens showing them some love and care once again.
There is a door down at Leisure which has suffered some damage due to the winds; this is now in the pipe line to be fixed. Whilst the pool area and Leisure do continue to have maintenance work carried out down there.

We hope to welcome you back to the George Hotel some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at The George Hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful,the food was very good with a good choice and always served hot.We were in room 214 it was warm comfortable with a view of the river a bit of a walk to the reception on creaking floorboards OK for us but if you are less mobile ask for a room near to reception.One fault with the room was the wash basin was badly cracked and needs replacing.The hotel location is great and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mags250

Thank you for your review, i am pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I along with my Father have stayed in this wonderful hotel several times. We love the location as it is a short drive away from the quaint market town of Hexham where everyone is friendly and make you feel so welcome. If you feel like a drive just a little further along the road, Newcastle has a lovely shopping centre and many dining places to suit all varieties of taste. Chollerford, itself is a small village, again with very welcoming, friendly locals to pass the time of day with. It is an excellent place to stay for the many backpackers who are walking along the side of Hadrians Wall. While staying in The George, we had the use of the fitness centre and swimming pool/jaccuzzi/sauna which is very relaxing. Access can be from inside the hotel or from the lovely garden area.There are benches and tables in the garden where you can sit and relax at the river side. The bedrooms have been refurbished since we last visited, as has the dining room but even before the changes, we always had very nice rooms where we slept well and the dining room was lovely then too with food prepared and presented beautifully by the chef and restaurant staff. Reception have always been so helpful and accommodating. I certainly can't praise the hotel, staff and area highly enough and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Valerie H

Thank you for such a lovely and posative review of the hotel, surounding areas and our staff.
It is so nice to read that you have always enjoyed your stay here at the George Hotel and do continue to do so to.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing