We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at The George for one night and our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, as were the staff in the bar - full marks to them! Our welcome on arrival was none existent, the receptionist was clearly having a bad day and didn't make us feel welcome at all. This coud have spoiled our stay but we kept an open mind. The spa facilities are disappointing and the walkways and garden area look unloved. The external doors of the hotel need some maintainence badly, we were surprised by some of the damage. However it served the purpose of a warm, comfortable bed for the night and breakfast was better than dinner!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Ali B

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt unwelcome on your arrival at the hotel.
I am pleased though that you found our waiting staff and bar staff to be helpful and lovely as that is the level of Customer Care we try to achieve here.
Due to unforeseen circumstances our Gardner was off for a period of time, but he is now back and out attending to the gardens showing them some love and care once again.
There is a door down at Leisure which has suffered some damage due to the winds; this is now in the pipe line to be fixed. Whilst the pool area and Leisure do continue to have maintenance work carried out down there.

We hope to welcome you back to the George Hotel some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 701 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at The George Hotel, we found the staff very friendly and helpful,the food was very good with a good choice and always served hot.We were in room 214 it was warm comfortable with a view of the river a bit of a walk to the reception on creaking floorboards OK for us but if you are less mobile ask for a room near to reception.One fault with the room was the wash basin was badly cracked and needs replacing.The hotel location is great and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Mags250

Thank you for your review, i am pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I along with my Father have stayed in this wonderful hotel several times. We love the location as it is a short drive away from the quaint market town of Hexham where everyone is friendly and make you feel so welcome. If you feel like a drive just a little further along the road, Newcastle has a lovely shopping centre and many dining places to suit all varieties of taste. Chollerford, itself is a small village, again with very welcoming, friendly locals to pass the time of day with. It is an excellent place to stay for the many backpackers who are walking along the side of Hadrians Wall. While staying in The George, we had the use of the fitness centre and swimming pool/jaccuzzi/sauna which is very relaxing. Access can be from inside the hotel or from the lovely garden area.There are benches and tables in the garden where you can sit and relax at the river side. The bedrooms have been refurbished since we last visited, as has the dining room but even before the changes, we always had very nice rooms where we slept well and the dining room was lovely then too with food prepared and presented beautifully by the chef and restaurant staff. Reception have always been so helpful and accommodating. I certainly can't praise the hotel, staff and area highly enough and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Valerie H

Thank you for such a lovely and posative review of the hotel, surounding areas and our staff.
It is so nice to read that you have always enjoyed your stay here at the George Hotel and do continue to do so to.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the George Hotel in March 2013 for 5 days rooms were ok. We had a trek every day from our room to the dinning room for Breakfast and Dinner it seemed to take ages. so saying that, you made sure when you were going out for the day, you did not forget anything!!!!

The showers were the worst it would be either red hot, cold,or nothing, (meaning no water) I got caught out. I was in the middle of washing my hair and low and behold no water!!! My Husband had go go to Reception to get somebody to check in our room (bearing in mind it was a long way to Reception) I had to shower in our friends room, we were offered another room to shower in but that was not working either, then we were offered another room and the shower was working. I could go on about the taps falling to bits in both rooms. The food was ok nothing to write home about. and last but no means least the Fitness room was shabby cold, Jacuzzi had cold water jetting up from the little holes (Never seen that before) and sand when you got out you had sand in side your swimsuit did not like that much!!!
The bridge in the back of the Garden was the best thing about the Hotel it was fantastic.

Room Tip: If you like a good shower then you would be out of luck ...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear travller99

On arriving at the hotel and checking in to find your room to be to fare away from the public areas for you, you can always ask at reception if there are any other rooms available.
Unfortunately during your stay there was a fault with one of the boilers, although we did have contractors out to fix the problem, it did take a bit longer than first anticipated and this we do apologise for.
I am also sorry that you did not find the hotel, facilities and food to your satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My mum chose this for a family celebration and 10 of us spent 3 nights here half board. All the staff were really friendly & helpful and the food was generally pretty good, with a different set menu every night. Breakfast was a limited buffet selection of cereal & fruit juice with full English also available. The hot cross buns were a nice touch for Easter. The reception areas have been tastefully decorated although it could have done with more lounge & bar seating over Easter. The corridors are narrow and most of the standard rooms in desperate need of refurbishment. My mum was upgraded to a superior room overlooking the gardens & river & this was spacious and nicely decorated. Our standard room inthe 1970s extension was ok if a bit dark & old fashioned but the worst was the plumbing. The shower holder fell off the wall the first night & it was impossible to get a consistent flow sufficient for a shower & I was nearly scalded by it. Fortunately we had a bath & the water for the taps was easier to control. Our grown children spent an hour or so in the murky pool & got sick after. They also ended up being locked in as they didn't know you needed a key to get out & even tho someone had a key it didn't work. Thank goodness there wasnt a fire & they were able to get help to get out. The hotel is in a pleasant riverside location within walking distance of Chesters Fort & a short drive to Hexham, the nearest town, or Corbridge another pretty village with Roman remains. Despite the bad points, we enjoyed our stay and found it good value for money, mainly because of the staff.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Vicki M

Thank you for your review, although the public areas are newly refurbished and we have 1 Superior room and some Première Rooms, we are in due to have some standard rooms refurbished at the end of April.
Due to the high volume of people using the Leisure facilities during school holidays, the pool does tend to become murky which is why a back wash has to be done more frequently.
There were no sickness reports mentioned to reception at any point during your stay and there are 2 fire doors located within the gym room of Leisure, so had a fire alarm have sounded then they would have been able to evacuate into the gardens safely.
Apart from enjoying the local areas of Northumberland I am sorry to have read that you did not enjoy your stay here at the George Hotel with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After reading the reviews I was expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. Nice big reception area welcomes you which was warm. The food was good and a three menu choice which could be upgraded for a small cost. The breakfast was extremely good. The spa and gym was ok. The pool was warm and was well supported by locals too. The restaurant was cold on Friday evening but warmed up as the weekend went on . The room was better than I thought but slightly chilly but having said that it was very cold outside with snow. The heating was on full blast but the window is single glazed. The area is very beautiful and well located for Hadrians wall and the hotel is set in nice surroundings and grounds. Basically having paid slightly more than a travel lodge which includes half board we can't complain at all. Overall enjoyable three days.

Room Tip: Try and avoid 311-315 the floorboards outside creak
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheShireCaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear TheShireCarza

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the George Hotel, found the hotel to be warm and comfortable along with enjoyable meals.
The hotel is set in a beautiful setting with plenty to see and do around the area.
We hope to welcome you back one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this through Shearings' special offers, so it was very good value for money and for that reason I can't complain too much. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was mostly very good and the drinks were a reasonable price. However, if I had paid the hotel's full price I would not have been very happy: the hotel is looking tired and a bit run down and our room probably hadn't been updated since it was built (we were in the 1970's extension) although the beds were comfortable. Our view was of the back of the kitchens, but I expect that is what they give people on their special rates.
The only real complaint is that the shower was absolutely hopeless - we reported it and someone came and swapped the shower head, but it still hardly worked at all - and the towels were so thin they were no use at all.
I didn't use the pool and spa area which was in a sort of conservatory addition but it looked OK from the outside.
The location is good for visiting Hadrian's Wall, Kielder Forest and the Newcastle area and I'm sure that in better weather (it snowed all week) we would have found a lot more to do in the area.
For a cheap break in a lovely part of the country it is adequate.

Room Tip: If possible, go for one facing the river, and / or one of the superior rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Ybonne N

The public areas within the hotel are all newly re-decorated with new furnishings through out. The corridors and rooms as always are an ongoing refurbishment, as we only refurbish so many rooms per year, as do all our hotels.
Your room with a kitchen view is unfortunate as we only have 3 rooms looking out onto there; you can always ask a reception if there are any of the garden view or river view rooms vacant. You could have also asked at reception for your towels to be swapped / changed, as we could have had a look for towels that would have been better for you.
I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your taste and comfort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
4.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,139 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,533 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing