We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, freshly prepared, nice atmosphere”
Review of The New Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Heckfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, freshly prepared, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Liked the service, the quality of food and the traditional pub atmosphere. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner - all to same standard. Also liked the choice of wines on offer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“High quality place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The food, service and ambiance of this pub/restaurant were all excellent. I had reserved a table for Sunday lunch and for various reasons was very late - I phoned and they were totally happy to keep the table reserved and when I went to pay the barmaid even recalled what I'd said on the phone.
We ate three courses and all was excellent with generous, but not over-large portions and good quality ingredients. The desserts were especially fabulous.
For three of us with a drink or two the bill came to just under £70. Most mains are around £10 and starters and desserts £4 to £5. Great value for the quality of food on offer.
The staff were helpful, efficient and friendly without being over-bearing and the ambiance of the pub is lovely with roaring log fires ideal for a chilly November day.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SPLEDID PURE HEAVEN”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Driving down A33 for a bite to eat, came across New Inn in Heckfield. Always drove past as looked very posh, not our cup of tea, HOWEVER to my joy, its a beautiful place in wonderful surroundings. Inside the pub is oldie worldly with little separate rooms. Very warm greeting from the Staff. the menu is great and caters for everyone and the specials board is good. Had the most amazing meal followed by best Jam roly poly I have ever tried. If that was my last night on earth I could have ended it better. Will be going back. Very beautiful surrounds at affordable prices. Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevie_rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet lunch in a building with character”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The New Inn is a lovely old coaching Inn type, with lots of room to sit and eat but also feels like it is quite private too.

The staff were brilliant and extremely helpful.

The menu is extensive and prices are extremely reasonable.

We had Steak and Kidney Pudding, Liver and bacon, Ham Egg and Chips. They were great but with one issue, the seasonable Vegetables which accompanied were tasteless, sadly, and some were overcooked.

A lovely range os puddings which were probably the frozen variety were available and we had treacle pudding, Sticky toffee pudding, and I had some ice cream.

We will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Badger1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Re visited an old acquaitance”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went for dinner with friends to the New Inn which we had not visited since we left the UK in 1990. Received a very warm welcome by the Landlord Tim who knows my friend well. Instantly we felt part of "the family" of friendly regulars and we were included in all the conversations particularly about soccer as Tim is a Liverpool supporter - does not make him a bad person! The Pub/Hotel is located in the pretty Hampshire countryside surrounded by forest and open land. They have really good choice of traditional English beers and wines and the daily specials menu was amazing. We had an excellant dinner served by the well organised and knowledgable wait staff. Tim was vigilant making sure we were happy and the food was what we wanted and that we were happy.
Great evening out at a must not miss Pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesM132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing