We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New beds needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Ipswich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New beds needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel itself was one of 3 in the area, and our sat nav does not use postcodes! Therefore rather difficult to find. However the hotel conference/hotel complex was pleasantly situated. The bar food was good value; Bed was rather lumpy, with only one bedside table, so my husband had to use an upturned waste bin next to the bed. But maybe we are just fussy! Thank you De Vere for making us welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main house - but may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we are glad on the whole you enjoyed it, that is great to hear.

Sorry your satnav doesn't use postcodes! We would like to assure readers that if your satnav does use postcodes it will bring you direct to us. If you do not use technology, we are just one minute from the main A33 and situated on the B3349 main Hook - Reading road from the M3 and brown 'Highfield Park' signs with a bed on them will guide you in!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    86
    86
    59
    29
See reviews for
54
91
19
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed in a single room for 4 days. There is no doubt lots of green and wildlife around the hotel so if you like countryside this is a great location. However the hotel itself doesn't live up the expectations, I knew I booked a single room but I would describe it more like a meter by meter cleaners cupboard with pitched roof, a single bed tucked in the corner, the toilet with broken tap to which staff couldn't get the repair done because plumber doesn't arrive until 9am in the morning. Even at 10am no other bother to turn up or even an update so managed to repair myself.

There was a wedding party so the restaurant was closed throughout the stay and please note since you're out in the woods, don't expect you'll be able to walk out to a nearby restaurant for a meal. The hotel also didn't had a common area or perhaps it was closed due to wedding party.

The hotel was pretty cheap however I would not recommend to stay unless you're ready to go through the trouble of staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad_Adeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, this is most upsetting to read.

As we have explained in previous responses, our single bedrooms, as stated on our website, are actually single bedrooms and are priced accordingly, at times guests do book a single bedroom but arrive expecting it to be a larger room for the price of a single room which is most unfortunate as we only have available what is shown available to book.

We are sorry you were affected by the many weddings that take place here during your stay. It is sometimes possible for us to have a replacement lounge area depending on the rooms being utilised by the wedding so we are sorry this did not meet your requirements on this occasion. We have checked our system for your booking as we would have liked to respond personally but we have been unable to recognise you as a guest that stayed with us so assume, as your location is shown as very local to us that you must have booked on behalf of a friend or colleague which is why we could not locate the booking. Should you have any future requirements for friends to stay locally we would be most happy to welcome them here but please do check with us that the room you have booked is acceptable to the guest and we will be more than happy to confirm and make their stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you very much for your comments about our beautiful setting - it is indeed stunning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heckfield hotels

Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent a night here with my husband on a special rate which included a bottle of wine, dinner and breakfast. Our room was in the small stable block a short walk from the main building and although it was fairly small it was very comfortable and spotless.

As the weather was perfect we had dinner outside on the patio, it was a buffet which we hadn't expected but was very good indeed. We could help ourselves to what we wanted and even had cheese and biscuits to finish. The waitress was helpful, friendly and we couldn't fault the evening. The view from the terrace is beautiful and it was lovely to sit out there and watch the sun go down.

Breakfast was served in the same buffet format and there was plenty of food, however we did discover that by the time we were finishing a lot of items were running out and were not replaced.

This was a lovely break for us, although we don't live far away it is nice to get away from the house every now and then and have some time together. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and we didn't have any problems, we left the window open during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyFiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are glad your enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This venue was not at all what we expected. In the hotels photos there was a very nice large room described as a "double" room. Our room was very small, and not attractive at all. Also, the photos of the restaurant made it seem like an upscale room. It was not, and it was serve yourself to a large extent. When my wife called the manager to complain he was not interested in helping and verged on rude. To be fair to the venue, it turned out that this is not a hotel or B&B, as the manager made very clear. It is a venue for meetings and conferences. It would be fine for that purpose. Either De Vere misrepresented itself to LateRooms or LateRooms misrepresented the venue to us.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at this accommodation for a night as wedding guests. The food and the service throughout the day was exceptional and could not be faulted at all, however we were very disappointed with the accommodation. We stayed in room 1 in the fir tree area adjacent to the hotel. This room was not specifically booked by us as rooms for the occasion had been reserved including ours and others staying in the same area as us. The room itself was very small and dark with a small "double bed." Also running a hotel it is basic common knowledge to provide the correct amount of provisions for the people staying in the room, however we only had one cup and one glass, when I queried this at reception, the receptionist was very happy to help and this was rectified. We also noticed that there were hairs in the bath and the toilet was squished against the wall, so anyone with a larger physique may struggle with this, light in the room was very minimal which included 2 lights against the wall and a lamp with an energy saving light bulb which may as well not have worked. I also think your tea tray needs to be altered and revised as there is no proper tea. Even it said original on the packet it didn't taste like normal breakfast tea? That's if you even provide it?? The coffee was a sandy colour and looked see through when I poured hot water in it. And lastly the cupboard next to the the bathroom has a loose door knob.
You clearly state in your responses that you mainly specialise in events and occasions not necessarily the hotel, however if you want to be a successful business you should be able to accept criticism and rectify it, because as you are aware you are charging rates from £80 per night for very basic accommodation and expecting customers to be happy with this. People have a right to complain if they aren't happy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryrose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Booked the dinner and breakfast option which appears something of a bargain on first site. Really a conference venue but takes separate bookings as well but more geared towards large groups.

Impressive gravel driveway leads up to the main building which seems to be a little private hamlet with its own quaint church. Perfect for weddings and the grounds and setting are lovely very well maintained and some views looking out across green fields. Check in late afternoon was friendly, professional and efficient.

On the lowest package I was in the stable block which is a 2/3 minute walk from the main house in separate 2 story building. Room on ground floor very secure but small with double bed. Had everything and was clean and quite large bathroom. Fine for short stay but would have been nice to know size of bed as for two people far too cosy.

Bar is in the main building and serves food as well. The restaurant is next door and more suited to the conference venue this is. There is a bar menu and spotted some of these orders going out and they looked good but on the package then it is simple three course menu with bottle of italian wine. At best OK but this food not great to be honest. Basic and no veg in site. Duck breast was quite large but not really a relaxed meal in a large brightly lit dining room and a large group arrived whilst we were seated and had the same menu.

Slept okish and room very quiet. Pillows very thin and little support and as mentioned bed too small really for 2 adults. Breakfast was in the same dining room and buffet setup. Food quite good and room felt bright and airy in the day time.

Overall the venue is definately 4/5 or 5 depending on price paid. But on the package then let down by size and comfort of bed and poor evening meal. Would go back but stick to bar menu in future or visit lovely local pub just down road. At the right price this place is definitely an option but depends what you are looking for and not really a romantic escape at bargain price more place for business people to sleep overnight or really the larger groups it is really aiming to serve.

Room Tip: Package is good value but let down by dinner and size/quality of bed. Its not a bad option for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is set in a lovely location, that is the only good thing I can say about it. Check in was very slow and the staff weren't very helpful. The room itself was on the small side which can't be helped however not stuffing it with oversized uneccassary furniture would have solved this problem straight away. 5 days after I checked out I noticed that the pre authorisation fee of £80 has still not been removed from my card. I phoned the hotel to enquire why and got a confused answer and they hung up. I still don't have my money and they haven't replied to any calls or emails. Avoid if you don't want poor service and to be charged twice !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay at Highfield Park and your bedroom did not meet your expectations. We have sent you a personal message via TripAdvisor about this as we cannot find any record of the calls and emails you refer to and cannot identify you from your online alias.

Regarding pre-authorisations on credit and debit cards, non-used transactions are automatically released from the card by the card issuer 5 working days (Monday-Friday) following the transaction; no money is ever taken by the retailer at all, it is simply held as guaranteed funds by the card issuer so in the case of a venue such as us, it guarantees the room or items will be paid for even if a guest chooses to leave without coming back to reception. We hope this clarifies it for you and reassures you that you have not paid us twice for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing