We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectation”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There are only a few places I have been to, and if there is a problem, this hotel has done its up most to sort this out.

A perfect gem in a great country side, with some spectacle views.

On entrance to the hotel, was great by the staff, had food in the bar, wow what great food, this was great. Service by the staff second to none.

Room was great, was a little cold in the room, phoned the reception and within mins I was given a portable heater.

Free wifi, yes that is right, free wifi, and this was top speed as well.

Breakfast was a bit dull, but I was satisfied, just had toast and take away coffee.

An ideal retreat for any one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khuram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your views of your stay at Highfield, we are very glad you enjoyed your time here and found our staff to be so helpful; this review has been shared with the team and we hope you come back again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 398 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

From our initial enquiry through all the arrangements and the wedding day itself, the wedding team were one, two and sometimes three steps ahead of us, polite, interested and super-helpful! Once we'd set our budget there were no hidden costs - everything was listed and costed very accurately.
Top marks for this hotel and how thrilled we were to have the option of an OUTDOOR CEREMONY at the lovely FOLLY in the grounds - our dream came true!
The lunch was delicious.
A very big thank you to Michelle Beaumont for planning our wedding and a special thank you to Ash, who orchestrated the day so calmly and professionally and understood exactly what was needed to make the day relaxed and informal.
Very well done, Highfield Park - our day was everything and more than we ever expected!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are so glad that you had the day of your dreams here at Highfield Park and that we exceeded your expectations; this is always our aim and it is lovely to receive such wonderful feedback.

Wishing you both a wonderful married life and we hope you come back and visit us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. It is in a lovely location with some fantastic views across open countryside. The hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was in The Firs, which looks like being in the stables, which is separate from the main hotel, so it is nice and quiet. The room was of an adequate size and the bathroom was clean. The toiletries provided by De Vere are to say the last, sparse. From such a hotel group, would have expected a little better. The free flow tea and coffee facilities were great, however, we stayed on a Saturday night, and we were informed that they turn the machine off at the weekends! WHY? The only downside was the parking, it was quite a trek from the car park to the reception on gravel. On the whole though we were very pleased with the hotel and the room provided.

Room Tip: Stay in the Firs if there is a big function on in the hotel, as it is set away from the main hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you of your review and we are very glad you had a lovely stay with us.

The difference between De Vere Hotels and De Vere Venues does cause confusion for a lot of people and the variety of bathroom products offered at the hotels division is indeed more substantial than the essential products provided for guests attending events and conferences at our venues division rather than the 'leisure breaks' at hotels.

The unlimited tea & coffee provision is for conferences and residential guests only and we have to turn them off at weekends when weddings and parties take place here due to many instances in the past where the machines have been used inappropriately by children or party guests and caused them to spill, flood and malfunction and we have then been unable to get the contractors out in time for them to be operational again in time for Monday conference guests. I do hope that answers your question relating to this.

Thank you again for your lovely review of Highfield Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My strong advice would be to not stay in hot weather. Particularly not in the out-building where they put me... small room with paper-thin walls, no soft-close doors to any of the rooms (hence alot of the noise), tired decor and no aircon! As I was on the ground floor, I didn't feel comfortable leaving the window open so I ended up having an awful, hot, noisy night... all for £100... not good value for money at all... unfortunately this is another one of those beautiful country houses that has been turned into a shabby conference venue. The only redeeming features were the staff and the breakfast. I wouldn't stay there again in summer and would request a room in the main building due to noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, not the out buildings! And beware, the entire hotel has no airc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeCeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Highfield Park. We are sorry that you felt you did not want to open the bedroom window in the hot weather and the bedroom was too hot. We do have fans available for guests that can be requested at reception if you find one has been removed from your room.

As we are part of De Vere Venues, rather than hotels, we are predominantly a conference and event venue not a purpose built modern hotel and as such the buildings here consist of a converted 17th century mansion house and it's original stable building, therefore putting in air conditioning for the very few weeks of the year that this may or may not actually be required in England is unfortunately not an option. (A bit like all of our homes, it is not deemed a necessity in England like it would be in foreign countries who are guaranteed long hot summers).

As I have said on previous reviews, every single bedroom throughout Highfield Park is a different shape and size and in Fir Tree Court, a small number of bedrooms still have the older decor, although the majority have been updated.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and breakfast and we hope you will visit us again maybe when it is not too hot for you to enjoy the character and location we are in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were married on 5th July 2013 at Highfield Park. The wedding was just fantastic!! The hotel is a perfect location and the staff at the hotel are brilliant. The food was first class (compliments to the chef & team) and all of our guests remarked how much they enjoyed the day. From start to finish the hotel helped us organise and plan the wedding to our exact requirements. The rooms in the hotel are of a high standard especially the honeymoon suite! I would definitely recommend this hotel as it gave me the wedding of my dreams. We intend to visit and eat there a whole lot more now! With great thanks to Ash (who was our master of ceremonies) and his team who were all very professional. So go for it and book!
Lucy and James

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much Lucy and James for sharing the review of your wonderful wedding day with readers, we are very glad that you had the magical day you had dreamt of.

Wishing you a wonderful married life and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding at the beginning of July.
The hotel is set in a great location with stunning grounds and a perfect place for a wedding.
Staff on the whole were great, room was a bit small and lacked a shower which was disappointing but the decor was modern.
Breakfast was great and the bed was comfy, all in all a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RichA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay at Highfield Park, we are glad you enjoyed it.

We have just two rooms that only have a bath without a shower in which is due to ceiling height restrictions, we are sorry this was disappointing for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On a corporate fun day, evening and overnight stay. All worked well, staff were friendly and helpful, food quality was excellent. Didn't feel crowded at all and terrace to sit outside and experience was first class.

Excellent value for money in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main part of the hotel with views over the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Paul_523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your event and stay at Highfield Park.

We are very glad you had a wonderful time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,453 reviews
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hook
485 reviews
4.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
2,003 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range: $71 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing