We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting - Great Value”
Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting - Great Value”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here on Friday night on a special offer. £79 included 3 course dinner, with a bottle of house wine, room,and breakfast. Exceptional value. Yes the room in fir tree court was small, but it was spotlessly clean, warm, well decorated and very comfortable. The food was excellent, both at dinner and breakfast. Already booked again on the same deal in a couple of weeks, and cant wait to go again. Glad I experienced the place for myself and wasn't put off by negative reviews!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0771sweetpea73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of Highfield Park and also your comment that you are glad previous negative reviews did not put you off. Unfortunately many people only take the trouble to write a review if they did not like something which gives a view of a minority rather than the majority so we are most grateful when our very satisfied guests also take the trouble to share their views.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Highfield shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    92
    91
    61
    30
See reviews for
58
93
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Managed to get a cheap room through laterooms.com for the monthly friday night away. easy to find, lovely grounds. reception was helpful. directed us to a room that was part of another building, this was not a problem at all. Room was lovely, modern and comfy though a little on the small side.. but not a problem. for the money we paid it was excellent.
In fact,going back this friday for valentines night.. (yes, I know its the 15th, but its a lot cheaper then booking it for the 14th and also, have work..But I am a romantic at heart.. honest!!) so it must have been worthwhile.. though the price for this friday has gone up to what I would expect as normal. Would recommend hotel for a night or weekend at the most..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here twice in a week - both good rates at £29, but definitely flaws

Firstly, the rooms and I was in the building that you had to walk over to - remembering that I stayed on 2 very quiet nights I would have thought I'd get the best available....but on both occasions the rooms had problems. The first night, the bathroom was so slim that they couldn't properly fit a toilet and bath side by side. Very tight! And you could barely open the bathroom door to get into the bathroom. The second night I was in room 21 - and I know I'd booked a single, but the sloping roof took up half of the room. In the bathroom you couldn't stand at the sink, and they'd gone to the trouble of putting a mirror over the sink, but no adult above the height of 3 foot could have used it....and, in Room 21 all I could hear all night was the air con running.....all a bit disappointing given the place didn't have many guests

Then,the general way that the place is part of the De-Vere chain.....which I saw by staying at another De Vere in between stays here! Everything is "standard" - they must have had a million standard menu's printed and distributed.......I wouldn't mind, but to do that they've had to make the menu so easy to cook that a 16 year old on their first day could cook the whole menu!! Whilst its not to keep it simple, this is just too basic......if they are going to make it this easy then you might as well put Beans on Toast or Cheese on Toast on there. Plus - I might be losing touch, but £6+ for the cheapest glass of wine and £4 for the cheapest pint of lager seemed steep....

They also had an Exercise Room that I only found because I heard/felt the vibrations of the treadmill in Room 21. Again, just a sign of cost cutting - the 3 pieces of kit in there looked like home gym kit that they bought second hand from a garage sale. Small room with poor kit....why not upgrade this??

Overall - you can stay there, and for £29 its a good deal. I'd probably find a local pub to go to for dinner and a pint

Room Tip: Don't know - would stay clear of rooms around 21 with the air con....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triggeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have responded to your comments for the reference of other trip adviser readers.

We are very pleased to see you have managed to take advantage of the great £29 room offer - as it states on the internet, these bookings are for single occupancy rooms in Fir Tree Court only and main house bedrooms are available at a supplement if you wish to pay this. Main house bedrooms are not available on the £29 rate.

As stated in many previous tripadvisor review responses, every bedroom at Highfield is a different shape and size due to the blueprint of both the 17th century main house and the converted Stables that form Fir Tree Court and this does include some sloping ceilings and different shapes - this is the character of buildings of this age and nature and cannot be changed.

The exercise room to which you refer, is exactly that and is not a full 'gymnasium'. The reason you found this 'by accident' is that we do not advertise this as an official leisure facility due to the fact it is exactly what you say - some low cost gym equipment which we purchased at the request of some regular week long courses that are held at Highfield Park that asked if it was possible to have some basic exercise equipment on site as they do not have their own transport when with us in order to drive to a leisure facility. It is not 'cost cutting', we have never had and do not have space for a proper gym at our venue, this was actually an 'extra' put in specifically for our regular guests.

As you correctly state, we are part of the De Vere Group and our bar menus and wine lists are produced by our Head Office and offered throughout all venues, as is the case with most groups in the hospitality industry. We also however offer a Table D'hote menu that is written by our own on site Head Chef, offering the choice of one, two or three course at excellent value. This menu changes every night for which we always receive very favourable feedback.

Regarding the cost of wine, I can advise that , as per our 'De Vere Group' wine list , our cheapest 175ml glass of wine is £4.90 which is comparable to all public houses in our locality.

I hope this clarifies things for yourself and other readers.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heckfield hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel and my complaints are some of the rooms that are sold as doubles should be classed as single, I do expect to be able to get in a double bed from either side not having the bed pushed up against the wall, the room was so very hot that we had to turn the rad off and open the window in an attempt to cool the room down, a shelf in the bathroom would be nice, food ok but have had better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 791mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of Highfield Park. As stated in response to many previous reviews due to the bedrooms being in either the 17th century mansion house or the converted stables, every single bedroom is a different shape & size as we cannot alter this. Some beds are 4ft wide which we sell as singles on the internet or for functions as doubles at a reduced rate and ensure people know this is the case when they book & choose this option.

I can also confirm there are fans available from reception if required in the bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband & I tied the knot here in December 2012. We had the best day!
The venue was perfect and everyone enjoyed the day.
The staff are friendly and we trusted them with everything. I had nothing to worry about on the day. The food and accomodation was also superb.
Cannot recommend Highfield enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlandorocks41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a fantastic wedding day here at Highfield Park and wish you a wonderful married life. Do come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed her on two occasions and the hotel amazes me with its small but nice quaint details. the cottages are really nice and there's lots of space to walk around on the grounds. i have to admit it beat my expectations....i was pleasantly surprised. I got a really good deal for £19 per night and for that price i didn't expect much but wow was I surprised. Food was also really good, ordered room service, even ordered at the bar and it was delivered to my room. Staff friendly and helpful. would definitively recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a 5 day IT training course, run at the venue.
Whilst I know it's a "venue" and not a proper hotel, you still expect a reasonable size room, especially when paying £120 a night. I have had larger cabins on cruise ships. Having said that, it was warm, clean and comfortable.
The grounds and setting are very scenic, but if you're in the stable block, sorry lodge, it's a 3-4 minute walk from your room to the main building. And no cover if it's raining.
The food was good, apart from the last night when I was served raw chicken. To be fair, it was changed, but really, you shouldn't need to worry about that at a "venue" that prides itself on it's food.
Would I stay here again, its possible, but only for a course, and if the company are paying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Highfield Park.

I would like to refer to your title being that your stay was expensive and confirm for readers that the £120 per night you mention for your room is actually a special inclusive rate for the Company you were training with that includes full breakfast and a 3 course meal in the evening as well as your en-suite bedroom and VAT, it is not the rate for the bedroom only.

I would also like to clarify for potential guests reading this review that the walk to the adjacent Fir Tree Court building that has been stated as a 3-4 minute walk does depend on the speed you are able or wish to walk and does vary for everyone, it can be reached in less than a minute walking at a fast pace. Parking is available directly outside Fir Tree Court should this be required by those travellers with the use of a vehicle.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
74 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hook
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,303 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing