We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at this hotel and my complaints are some of the rooms that are sold as doubles should be classed as single, I do expect to be able to get in a double bed from either side not having the bed pushed up against the wall, the room was so very hot that we had to turn the rad off and open the window in an attempt to cool the room down, a shelf in the bathroom would be nice, food ok but have had better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 791mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of Highfield Park. As stated in response to many previous reviews due to the bedrooms being in either the 17th century mansion house or the converted stables, every single bedroom is a different shape & size as we cannot alter this. Some beds are 4ft wide which we sell as singles on the internet or for functions as doubles at a reduced rate and ensure people know this is the case when they book & choose this option.

I can also confirm there are fans available from reception if required in the bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    86
    59
    29
See reviews for
52
91
19
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband & I tied the knot here in December 2012. We had the best day!
The venue was perfect and everyone enjoyed the day.
The staff are friendly and we trusted them with everything. I had nothing to worry about on the day. The food and accomodation was also superb.
Cannot recommend Highfield enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlandorocks41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a fantastic wedding day here at Highfield Park and wish you a wonderful married life. Do come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed her on two occasions and the hotel amazes me with its small but nice quaint details. the cottages are really nice and there's lots of space to walk around on the grounds. i have to admit it beat my expectations....i was pleasantly surprised. I got a really good deal for £19 per night and for that price i didn't expect much but wow was I surprised. Food was also really good, ordered room service, even ordered at the bar and it was delivered to my room. Staff friendly and helpful. would definitively recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for a 5 day IT training course, run at the venue.
Whilst I know it's a "venue" and not a proper hotel, you still expect a reasonable size room, especially when paying £120 a night. I have had larger cabins on cruise ships. Having said that, it was warm, clean and comfortable.
The grounds and setting are very scenic, but if you're in the stable block, sorry lodge, it's a 3-4 minute walk from your room to the main building. And no cover if it's raining.
The food was good, apart from the last night when I was served raw chicken. To be fair, it was changed, but really, you shouldn't need to worry about that at a "venue" that prides itself on it's food.
Would I stay here again, its possible, but only for a course, and if the company are paying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Highfield Park.

I would like to refer to your title being that your stay was expensive and confirm for readers that the £120 per night you mention for your room is actually a special inclusive rate for the Company you were training with that includes full breakfast and a 3 course meal in the evening as well as your en-suite bedroom and VAT, it is not the rate for the bedroom only.

I would also like to clarify for potential guests reading this review that the walk to the adjacent Fir Tree Court building that has been stated as a 3-4 minute walk does depend on the speed you are able or wish to walk and does vary for everyone, it can be reached in less than a minute walking at a fast pace. Parking is available directly outside Fir Tree Court should this be required by those travellers with the use of a vehicle.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely setting for a wedding. We found staff and wedding reception really lovely. Food was just great and plenty of it. Service was very good. We had our 40th anniversary here four years ago so knew it would be nice. There is a nice bar area where you can meet up before you go into the actual seating area for dinner.

We stayed the night and appreciate that the rooms are small but as pointed out the rooms have been modified and not your usual run of the mill rooms thus making it quiet and no one running around outside your room in corridors. I have read the other reviews and do add that the cleanliness could be a lot better. New toilet seats would not go amiss and the carpet and floor in bathroom were dirty and could do with a complete refurb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Highfield Park. We are very glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended here and thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and the food.

We will ensure your comments reference the housekeeping are brought to the attention of the housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and although the setting is lovely and the rooms are standard De-Vere Venues style, the service was quite poor.

As my wife was not well we decided on using room service, which was a big mistake. I tried calling reception, and then any other number, to get a response but could get none - so I had to go on line to find the hotel telephone number (we were in an isolated and different building to the main hotel - never had that before!) and had to call reception from my mobile.

They have this strange policy of serviing some meals as if they are a take-away shop?. The meal arrived about 70 minutes after ordering it, and it was luke warm. No plates just boxes for the food, the 'double or treble' (can't remember which it said) cooked chips were just like badly cooked oven chips - but the fish was fine (if tiny).

This is the first time we have had this low level of service from any De Vere before and fear it may be a sign of the times and even get worse. The have some great venues - the best one in my opinion is at Greenwich - but sadly these options may be becoming a thing of the past now, shame.

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Highfield Park.

The 'take away' style room service you mention is a recent initiative on trial throughout all De Vere Venues. All guest feedback from this will be reviewed at the end of December when a decision as to whether it will continue will be made. I have forwarded your comments regarding this to our General Manager for submission with this required feedback.

With regard to no-one answering your room call, this should never be the case so could you please contact me at the venue to let me know which room your stayed in in order that we can check out the phone line connection.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding, which was lovely, we were a little disappointed with our room though. We had opted to pay more for a better/bigger room and bed, our room was a bit bigger but our bed was small and short, im 5ft8 and my feet were hanging of the end. Our room was in the main hotel, our friends were in the building outside and they got a better and bigger room and bed and paid the same as us, however i complained via email and got a partial refund, so i am very happy with the manager for doing that. Also the breakfast was great, good quality cooked breaky, top black pudding and lots of choice from pastries to cereals etc. I would recommend this hotel but would say dont stay in room 38 in the main building espeically if you fairly tall as there are low beams in the room and my husband hit his head a few times. Finally the grounds and setting is lovely and they do a lovely wedding, if your thinknig of getting married here do it, my friends wedding was beautiful and the staff are excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your review about your friend's wedding and your lovely comments about how wonderful the day, food and our staff were, we are very glad you enjoyed it.

With reference to the bedroom sizes, I would like to again reiterate what I have written on previous reviews, Highfield Park is a converted 17th century mansion house with its' original stables also converted to bedrooms in accordance with the original blue print. This results in every single bedroom being of a different shape & size so each guest will have a different sized room.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review of Highfield Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing