We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel if as long as there is no rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highfield Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Cheshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel if as long as there is no rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed one night. Pleasant location, pleasant staff but allocated a room away from the main building in what was probably stables or out buildings. These are a couple of minutes walk from the main building which you have to walk to for meals. That is OK if its dry, however a short walk for a couple on minutes in the rain would be rather frustrating and annoying.

The room was particularly small, short bed, limited space, small wardrobe, although bath room was average size. For one night the room was just about OK for one person. I would not want to use it as a double over a few nights - two people would struggle. Room also lacked the little thing, no note paper and pen or tissues.

Restaurant was smart good food - evening & breakfast, with helpful and pleasant staff.

If in the area agin would probably opt for a different note because of the room size and location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms out of main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARCCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Highfield Park, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff and catering very good. With regard to our bedrooms situated in the adjacent Fir Tree Court, in the case of rain we have numerous umbrellas available or can transport our guests the very short distance by vehicle if needed. We have many rooms available, which are all different shapes and sizes due to the fact the bedroom accommodation you refer to is indeed a converted stables which has been transformed in the best configuration possible. Please do ask for a room to suit your particular requirements should you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    86
    59
    29
See reviews for
52
91
19
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a terrible hotel – dirty, in an unhygienic way, and run down.

I was there for one night attending a conference the following day. On the positives, charming location.

The first room I was provided with was incredibly hot. Top sash – the one that’s any good for ventilation - painted closed. Went into bathroom, and an overpowering smell of urine. Floor very dirty around back of WC and very strong smell. Disgusting.

When explained to reception, no quibble about changing room, which they did courteously but disturbingly when I complained of the smell, they asked if it was a ‘sewerage’ smell as they have regular problems with this when something is done to the drains!

Changed room to one which although less smelly was still something of an oven. Fairly tatty again, and bathroom better but ALSO smelled of urine around the WC. Very strong smell around the pan – clearly they make no effort to properly sanitise these places at all.

Clearly no more changing rooms would be worthwhile, and with one night to endure only, decided to stay put.

And, in the corner, the most disgustingly stained toilet brush.

Breakfast adequate, but rather run down room with tatty stained chairs.

Water cooler in conference room didn’t work.

A complete lack of adequate ventilation in any of the bedrooms was noticed by several delegates – made the whole stay an unpleasant experience, so don’t plan on getting any sleep in warm weather.

No 3G signal – not of course their fault as the location is a little remote – but unfortunately wifi ponderously slow at 500k.

Overall a very sloppily cleaned and second-rate hotel. Avoid.

Room Tip: If you are unfortunate enough to end up having to stay, do NOT accept an upstairs room as they are u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
This review was looked into immediately and the housekeeping manager investigated all issues mentioned. None were present on investigation and we are very sorry that you had the experience you have noted, we would not wish for any of our guests to feel this way and would rectify immediately if such things were brought to our attention. With regard to a 'regular sewerage' smell, the only time this ever occurs is when our sceptic tanks are emptied approximately 3 times a year and the smell lasts only during the time it takes to empty. As you state we are in a beautiful countryside location and unfortunately mains sewerage and strong 3G signals are not possible in such lovely locations.
Fans are available for all bedrooms during the infrequent hot periods if required by guests and can be obtained by calling reception and requesting one.
We are very sorry you feel our venue should be avoided as this is not a feeling we would want any of our guests to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heckfield hotels

England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'm a regular De Vere user and like what they are doing with their hotels. The Highfield Park is a fine Country House type hotel which De Vere have utilised what i think would have been the former stable block for smaller cost effective rooms. The room that I stayed in was clean and comfortable and perfect for a one night stay whilst travelling around and i certainly couldn't question the value for money. The combination of larger country house rooms in the main house or smaller less expensive rooms in the stable block suits me fine. The location is excellent with lots of countryside around but with both the M3 and M4 in easy driving distance. I would recommend this hotel either for a romantic stay with your partner in the main house or a nice stop over in the wing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as wedding guests. The hotel's service re the wedding could not be faulted but the bedrooms ruined the occasion. We stayed in the 'wing' accommodation, which looked like a converted stable block. It's very attractive from the front but inside is poor. We stayed in room 25 - we'd booked a double room but in reality it was no more than a single room with a queen sized bed stuck in the corner against two walls. Just as bad however was the sound insulation - everybody we spoke to the next morning said the same - it was possibly to hear everything from the rooms to each side and above. Even quiet conversations. It's a shame that a company with De Vere's reputation allow this.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the wedding and the service of our staff.
Unfortunately, like a lot of hotels and venues with multiple bedrooms, when it is quiet noise can be heard from adjacent rooms and corridors in some areas and we are unable to put in place any procedures to rectify this. You correctly state the the adjacent bedroom block is indeed a converted stable which means every room is unique in size and layout and some beds are placed against a wall to give maximum space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at highfield park as we were attending a wedding, the staff were excelent and very helpful and so was the service. I can understand why people choose to have there special day here. I attended with my husband and 2 children, the hotel was very happy to help us by putting 2 camp beds in the room for no extra charge and the children also had a complementry breakfast which i thought was excelent. The rooms were modern and very clean and tidy, the bathroom was of a good size and spoitlessly clean. I would recomend highfield park to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended here at Highfield, it is indeed a special place. We hope to welcome you back to Highfield in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed in room 5 in the barn building and it was lovely. Small and very comfortable with everything I needed. Comfy bed, tv, hair dryer, tea making facilities. Bathroom was good - nice fluffy towel!
Check in staff were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast good.
Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Highfield Park soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Held my Step Daughters wedding here on the 21st April and everything went perfect. The venue personnel were fantastic and arrangements went as planned with no problems. The food at the wedding breakfast and the evening celebrations was to a very good standard.
Rooms on the previous night and the night of the wedding were clean and tidy with confortable beds in both rooms.
Don, the wedding co-ordinator worked very hard to ensure that our event went smoothly, which it did. He was supported by a friendly and efficient team with our guests enjoying the celebrations with us and no complaints being made.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprinkle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighfieldManagement, Manager at Highfield Park, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad you enjoyed the wedding celebrations here at Highfield Park and enjoyed a special day to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
3.3 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Park

Property: Highfield Park
Address: Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Highfield Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Highfield Park Hotel Heckfield
Highfield Park Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing