We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young Couple”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Heckfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the New Inn; the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was extremely clean and tidy and the food was superb, we would certainly stay again... Highly recommended!!!! :-)

Room Tip: The 4-poster suite was huge, and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davelikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your Review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we shall pass your comments on to all the staff. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hi,
I went there with my wife to have a meal and few drinks.
Food was served very quick and this lovely taste of food we will recommended to everyone..
People working there are nice and friendly,very helpfull...
Im 100% sure we will coming back to THE NEW INN shortly...
Rob Bdg...pzdr ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robdepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and the very positive feedback, we hope to see you again at The New Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped here for two nights on business. Room was a bit unwelcoming to be honest, a bit spartan and needed an extra dose of cleaning (lampshades were thick with dust). Having said that the bed was very comfy but whilst the room was well insulated from noise outside, the noise from other rooms was really noticeable, particularly the first night when I was woken at 3am by someone with their TV on full blast. The food and service was first class and very good value but very disappointed with the real ales on sale which were flat and tasteless, very disappointing given the ambiance of beamed ceilings and open fires which lend themselves to a proper beer. The young ladies who work there were lovely, very helpful, prompt and friendly so full marks to them. The venue is quite isolated by a main road with no footpath so unless you are prepared to venture out by car you will be staying in. This place has some good aspects going for it but would only recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilvermanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Senior Reviewer, thanks for your comments we take them all on board and act as we can.
Lampshades have been taken care of and we have checked them. Sorry about another resident having the TV on during the night, thankfully our guests are usually extremely quiet but I guess you alway's get the odd one.
Hall & Woodhouse are known for their ales, one of the last of the family brewers, they thrive on excellent Bitters. This is the first ever complaint we have had regarding the real ales.We serve four permanently and are kept to a very high standard. Perhaps coming from the North as we both are you are use to a Creamy Real Ale and that could well be the answer that it wasn't to your taste.
Yes we are in the country, but situated between the M3 & M4 and have easy access to a lot of places. Although the location suits a lot of people I guess not everyone-Sorry
Thank you for all your positive feedback which I shall pass on to the Chef's and the rest of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A party of eight of us welcomed in the New Year 2013 at the New Inn and had a great time !. Food, entertainment and staff were great. Would certainly recomend the New Inn to anyone.
A Happy New Year to Tim and June and all the staff from 'The Harris Party'.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your very positive Review We are so pleased you enjoyed Welcoming in The New Year with us all at The New Inn. May we take this opportunity in Wishing your party a Very Happy & Healthy 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have visited The New Inn at Heckfield countless times and will continue to do so. It is a superb Inn with a truly welcoming atmosphere and excellent food served by first class staff. The Landlord and Landlady always make their guests feel valued and special and nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your views on The New Inn.We are so glad you enjoy your stay's with us, and look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a wonderful country pub and hotel. We had a great family meal here - really good food, delightful staff and a good selection of beers. We loved the real fire and such a warm friendly atmosphere. We're so glad we found it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank n_stoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The husband and wife who run this hotel should not be in the hospitality industry. We stayed here as a large group of 10 people for a family funeral and were treated terribly. Upon arrival we received no welcome in fact had to seek out a receptionist. The management did not appear to want to respond to any reasonable requests such as turning on heating as the lounge and breakfast room were freezing. Our breakfast arrived extremely slowly with each person being served one at a time so it could not be eaten together. Drink and food very expensive for what you get especially considering location is very remote. When we tried to complain upon leaving we were treated with absolutely no respect. This 2 star hotel should be demoted to a 1 star on the basis of customer service alone. Would not recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

The family were attending the funeral of their brother and sister-in-law. The night before the funeral everything was fine, until they retired at 10pm to a hotel room to have a party. Other residents came down to complain about the noise. The noise was excessive with the music channel on the TV full on. I asked them to respect other residents by making less noise.At 10.45 they all came down to the bar my wife I and other residents were subjected to the most aggressive and abusive language I have experienced in 37 years in the catering business. Two sisters in particular used foul and racist language for two hours, other family members left the bar. We only put up with this behaviour out of respect for the family.Next morning some family members were too embarrassed to come down for breakfast, others apologised at their behaviour. We assisted the two daughters of the deceased on the day of the funeral, during the day and in the evening. The family ate with us both Friday & Saturday Lunch, the two sisters who were abusive were told in no uncertain terms of their behaviour on checking out. Later in the week we received a very complimentary e-mail from the daughters of the deceased thanking us for our service and hospitality during their difficult time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
0.3 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Odiham Rd, Heckfield RG27 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heckfield
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Heckfield
The New Inn Heckfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing