We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & accommodation, very clean. Friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Inn
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food & accommodation, very clean. Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had booked for one night stay whilst visiting friends in the area. Upon arrival Tom introduced himself and showed us to our room. The room was lovely and a very good size with a nice ensuite, which again was a decent size for an old Inn and our room was very clean and presented well. The bed was really comfortable. We decided to also eat there and were glad we did because our food was really lovely and we found the service to be very efficient. Our breakfast was also enjoyable.

We found the King Arms Inn to be a very cosy old pub with lovely log burners. All the staff were friendly as were the locals. The prices for the accommodation and for the meals were good value. We would stay there again and hope to do so soon (once the weather improves)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomTomCornwall, Manager at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks for you review, I am most pleased that you found The Kings Arms Inn very much to your liking and my staff we as warm and friendly as ever!!! Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    14
    4
    13
See reviews for
8
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had an evening meal each night (curry special, fish ‘n chips, steak, home-made fishcakes). The waitress admitted the fish cakes were bought in and not home made! It was respectable ‘pub grub’, although the couple on the next table described their meal (belly of pork) as ‘barely acceptable’. That’s the good news, now the bad.

As somewhere to stay this pub should be avoided at all costs. Our room was truly dreadful. We froze the first night – the radiator struggled to stay warm, as did we. The room was badly in need of renovation and the waste pipe from the room above snaked across our ceiling. The sound of rushing water, we hope from bath not loo, became a frequent background to our stay. The second night, drunken revelers continued until 2am and with very poor sound insulation it felt as if a dozen foul-mouthed drunks had joined us in our room. We got no sleep until after two in the morning.

We understand the accommodation is frequently used by construction workers as somewhere to stay during the week. The owners would do well to harness the skills of these guests to give the entire accommodation a thorough, comprehensive and long-overdue refurbishment. Until this is done our advice would be to give the King’s Arms a wide berth…unless, of course, you enjoy sleeping in a builders’ ‘doss house’ and don’t mind being kept awake by drunks until two in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomTomCornwall, Manager at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
I am most sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us; I am sorry that there was a fault with the boiler on your first night which was fixed immediately upon you informing me. I am also sorry that you found your room so unpleasant, the exact same room which previous guests have enjoyed so much. I am also sorry that you found the noise from a busy pub at the weekend to loud; ironic really as that is why people come to the pub to have fun, may I suggest you book a room next time in a plastic "travelodge." Finally I am sorry you have been misinformed on a number of facts, fishcakes, etc but in particular builders staying here - I do not discriminate against any trade staying here, 99% of my customers are happy, maybe during your house hunting you can learn to welcome the locals and NOT ostracise them as you may need a builder!!! Apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tedburn St. Mary hotels

Llanddewi Brefi, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Although we stayed on a last minute cheaper deal ,the manager and his team we found to be very
attentive and hospitable . The rooms were very cosy and clean with our own shower and basin ( although the toilet was just across the landing ,which was no bother.)
The bar and dining area was full of character and had a olde worlde sort of feel , as did all of the
building . Enjoyed the quotation dotted about on the walls , and the breakfast was very tasty
( Full English ) . The only downside for my partner was that the vegetarian options were very limited and what was available was the same old same old . For such a good menu if you were a meat eater ,the veggie menu could do with some more imagination and improvement.
That aside Tom made us very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed enjoyed our stay
I would recommend a stay here to anyone for such a convenient spot to see the sights around

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomTomCornwall, Manager at The Kings Arms Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind, honest review; I have spoken with my chefs and we are, following your feedback, introducing more varied vegetarian dishes. Looking forward to seeing you again soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped for lunch after seeing the sign on the A30 as we were returning from Cornwall. We checked that they had two high chairs and were happy to have dogs in the bar as we have 19 month old twins and a dog! The landlord could not have been more accommodating! We had the Sunday carvery which was lovely and there was plenty of choice - with a small plate for our girls which was not charged for. The locals were also very friendly and looked after our dog while we ate! Well done Kings Arms!!

Room Tip: We did not stay as we only had lunch, but if that was anything to go by then I would stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misdemeanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Booked a room last minute for an overnight stay. The Kings Arms has a lot of character but has a few facility shortfalls mainly driven by the age of the property. The food & beer was good, the welcome friendly and the landlord Tom was happy to provide an early cooked breakfast so I could get to my destination on time. If you want a bit of character this is for you, if you expect full mod cons then probably not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived at The Kings Arms Hotel we were greeted with a very warm welcome, and was made to feel special, especially by the landlord, Tom (remember BBC Saturday Live chef James Martin, Tom is his body double, prove me wrong guys...),
The bedroom was I must say rather quirky, with the age of the building, floors and all are off level, the only downside I can see is if you've had too much to drink you may not just see the room move but it will move.
Breakfast was a treat beautiful bacon, wonderful sausage and a fried egg, though I did miss the beans and tomato.
I would deffo be going again , cheers landlord.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

found this pub while on visit to moors, had a superb meal ,i was lucky to be there on monday night which happened to be two for one pizza night, im not easily impressed by pizzas in this country having spent 3 years in italy, but the pizzas here where home made fantastic flavors, i had the piccante my partner had goats cheese vege one, both where superb, great staff, good ale, great atmosphere and manager was very helpful it was a pleasure to find a genuine inn.thanks also for returning my phone which i left there by mistake,highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colUpminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
0.0 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn on the Shore
The Inn on the Shore
#1 of 1 in Downderry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chapel at The Oratory
The Chapel at The Oratory
#4 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frogmill B&B
Frogmill B&B
#1 of 4 in Tedburn St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Property: The Kings Arms Inn
Address: Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional 16th Century thatched Devon Village Inn offers today's traveller great food and comfortable accommodation. Beamed celings, open fireplaces - a traditional Country Inn with cosy and characterful rooms, including a four-poster bedroom. And, plenty of on site parking. The history of yesterday and comfort of today will ensure you enjoy your visit to the Kings Arms Inn - where fine food and drink have combined to refresh travellers for four centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing