We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Kings Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms Inn
Southampton, U
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here and felt really welcome. The rooms are a little quirky, but then The Kings Arms is a very old building! The pub is very 'buzzy' and has a good range of beers - staff are friendly and the landlord very helpful. Food is also excellent. We'll be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SciDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    15
    5
    15
See reviews for
9
39
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Called in to the Kings Arms after a busy weekend away and took our two boys out to eat. The atmosphere was amazing and the pubs seemed much cleaner and fresher than on previous visits. There were some new additions to the patio area and pretty lights inside. My boys were made to feel most welcome and were given colouring pencils and some fantastic farmyard menus with puzzles and colouring to keep them entertained. The food was hot, fresh and delicious and the boys children's lasagnes with garlic bread were gorgeous and they both enjoyed their meal out enormously! The landlord is friendly and welcoming along with the bar manager, the only slight criticism would be the attire and attitude of the waitress. Would highly recommend the Kings Arms for a meal with the family. The Sunday Roasts are fantastic too!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Looe, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just magical!! Restaurant really lovely...staff fantastic...wish we could have stayed longer!!
Everything was wonderful ... Can't wait to go back again in a few weeks !!! Food in restaurant brilliant.... Especially the lamb cutlets & curry of the day!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Extremely friendly staff and a lovely pub in idyllic Devon. The rooms were comfortable and we had a great nights' sleep. The shared bathroom wasn't an issue for us although the shower wasn't working particularly well. The pub itself is superb, with lots of character and a fine selection of local ales and ciders. It's very welcoming and would suit big groups as well as couples on a romantic break. The breakfast was spot on and there is lots of parking available. Generally a good value and enjoyable nights' stay. We would go here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alextheowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times. The building has character and don't expect straight lines and even floors as this is an original old time building. The staff are friendly and keen to please and our welcome was warm. The pub seemed busy and the restaurant seemed to be very popular with many nooks and crannies to disappear into.
The rooms are rustic but have everything we needed. However, the TV was small and in our room almost too far away to see from the bed and there are no chairs in the room to allow you to be comfortably closer. The noise from the bathroom whenever water flowed was a bit off putting but they are trying to be sensitive to the environment by having some sort of purifier fitted - we supposed. The heating was on but being an old building you were never going to overheat but nor were we cold!
There is not a lot of choice in Tedburn so if you want a cheaper hotel you might have to travel a fair way. Would we come back - we have once so why not!

Room Tip: If you intend to arrive late make sure you tell them as it is a bit tricky getting in to the hotel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldagetrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
536 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We made a stop during our journey for a quick drink here. We didn't stay or eat anything, just had a couple of drinks. The place was welcoming and the staff and locals were really friendly and loved our dogs. It's a very dog friendly place and our dogs got given water and treats whilst we were there.

Wonderful little pub

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in the Kings Arms for two nights over a weekend while visiting friends in the area, the staff made us very welcome and were very friendly nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were comfortable and the food was excellent with a very a comprehensive menu to choose from, we will be returning again in September, all being well, and many more times after that, we highly recommend the Kings Arms to anyone looking for accommodation, it beats any Travel Lodge where we use to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike0160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
0.0 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn on the Shore
The Inn on the Shore
#1 of 1 in Downderry
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodleigh Coach House
Woodleigh Coach House
#1 of 2 in Cheriton Bishop
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Frogmill B&B
Frogmill B&B
#1 of 4 in Tedburn St. Mary
108 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Inn

Property: The Kings Arms Inn
Address: Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional 16th Century thatched Devon Village Inn offers today's traveller great food and comfortable accommodation. Beamed celings, open fireplaces - a traditional Country Inn with cosy and characterful rooms, including a four-poster bedroom. And, plenty of on site parking. The history of yesterday and comfort of today will ensure you enjoy your visit to the Kings Arms Inn - where fine food and drink have combined to refresh travellers for four centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing