We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here with 5 friends at the start of July on an overnight golf break.

The hotel rooms are clean and well presented. Some of our party had to share one of the log cabins and I can say they were nice and spacious as well.

The food in the hotel restaurant is very nice and was included in our golf break. The bar prices are a little on the high side but that is only to be expected when staying in a hotel.

The golf course is a good test for players of all abilities. Given the course is very up and down hill I would recommend the use of a buggy.

Overall I would recommend Fingle Glen and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScouseChris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    63
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
84
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the log cabins which was very well kitted out although we didn't like the operations of the cooker hob. This is of course a personal view.
The dishwasher broke down but was quickly fixed and the fridge/freezer door was so well fitted that it caused a vacuum each time it was closed and was difficult to open as the handles on the fridge/freezer door were awkward to grip.
Fantastic setting and a wonderfully peaceful place to stay.
The staff here were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much bother. Well done peeps.
The food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a log cabin - good points: well equipped & reasonably clean, with fabulous views across the golf course to the hills beyond. Very peaceful, the outside decking area delightful to use.
Restaurant - food very good and fairly priced, although screening from the Bar / TV area would be welcomed.
Not so good: despite prior assertions, wifi was NOT available in the log cabin unless a dongle (£5 per day) could be utilised, which for IPad / tablet users is a "no go".
The communal dustbin area, although well screened, was untidy & smelly, and in my opinion , not cleared or cleaned often enough - it should have been a daily task especially in the hot weather.
Overall though, a pleasant stay, the couple of negatives mentioned, easily sorted, would make it a top rating stay the next time.
JKW

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JKW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

i have just returned from a 3 day golf break with 3 friends and had a very enjoyable time.the chalet accommodation was in the form of a log cabin with 2 bedrooms and shower rooms one with a bath with kitchen/living room.tv channels were plenty although i did little viewing and overall the cabin was very good.the only downside was the lack of hot water(just enough for 4 showers but a bath for just one person meant cold showers for everyone else).the food was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.the drinks in the bar were of a reasonable price and the seating very comfortable but with 2 pubs within a couple of miles we also went there.the golf course itself was a fair test with the 13th and 18th although short par fours very memorable.a nice experience and certainly worth a visit for any golfer.

Room Tip: the farthest chalets were a bit of a walk for anyone with difficulties so would be worth asking befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I wanted somewhere fairly close to Dartmoor, as our son was taking part in the Ten Tors Challenge. We booked Fingle Glen online as it had onsite parking and rates included breakfast.

We arrived at about 9pm and were ‘upgraded’ from the main hotel, to a two bedroom log cabin, overlooking the golf course. Ir would have been great for a family self catering in summer - but it was very cold and wet and although there was an electric heater in the living area, I just couldn’t get warm and sat in my coat.

I think probably the most disappointing part of our stay was the breakfast. It was truly awful. My husband and I don’t eat meat and this left very little choice for us. There was no fresh fruit and coffee was instant Nescafe from a machine. Also a lot of the food seemed ‘economy’ range (tomatoes watery and tasteless and the bread was white sliced and stale). We have had some fabulous breakfasts in some much cheaper B&B’s, so perhaps we have been spoilt. If you like good quality food, fresh coffee and cosy environment then sadly, Fingle Glen isn’t for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

It was a sunny day so we were able to enjoy the decking area and views of rolling Devon countryside. The drinks were served just as we wanted them to be, the food was delicious, there was plenty of it (and people loved being able to chose from a menu), everyone working on the day was very friendly and helped make it an absolutely brilliant day! Our friends that stayed (which was most of them) loved the lodges and we were impressed by the honeymoon suite! Everything was very laid back and exactly how we wanted it to be.

We will definitely be returning for Sunday lunch!

Room Tip: Whilst the honeymoon suite is extremely spacious the other rooms in the actual hotel are much smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandA0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wedding venues and golf course do not always mix, but at fingle glen with the relaxed and flexible approach of the team and members, they have got the balance just right. We recently stayed at fingle glen in one of the lodges for two nights whilst attending a family wedding. The lodges are good value; very spacious, clean and have everything you need. As a wedding venue fingle glen is great - food and service excellent, staff friendly and accommodating and the back drop for photos is picturesque, all of which helps to make for a wonderful day. The master of ceremonies was particularly good - not sure where they hired him from. The events of the weekend didn't allow me to sneak in a quick round of golf, but several of the party did and I have played the course previously. The course is well kept and offers both a challenge and opportunities for all abilities - or a good view for anyone really struggling. There is also a driving range to fine tune those skills. All in all I would recommend fingle glen for a wedding venue, mini break or just a round of golf

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMuncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
6.7 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingle Glen Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Glen Golf Hotel

Property: Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Address: Five Mile Hill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fingle Glen Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Fingle Glen Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing