We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention To Even The Smallest Details”
Review of Frogmill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frogmill B&B
Certificate of Excellence
West Wales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Attention To Even The Smallest Details”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We found this beautiful B&B purely by chance - as they were one of only a handufl of nice looking B&B's that accepted a dog. This one is tucked away off the beaten track not far from Exeter and on the fringe of Dartmoor. We were so glad we found it as it's absolutely delightful. Both Ken and Sue came to show us to our room and tell us about the place. They are both so enthusiastic, friendly and helpful - they made us feel really at home from the minute we arrived and nothing was too much trouble for them. After we'd had a chance to unpack Sue arranged for a welcome pot of tea and a piece of delicious lemon drizzle cake in a little "snug" sitting room full of interesting family photos. We were celebrating Paul's Birthday so had Dinner there the first evening and we thought it was excellent. You can choose to have either a 2 or 3 course dinner - (my only slight disappointment was that as we were having a 2 course dinner - we both had to have to have either a starter and main course OR a main course and dessert - but I guess that's totally understandable as it's not a restaurant) Sue's cooking is excellent and we had a delightful starter of fresh asparagus with stilton and walnuts followed by Rack of Lamb with Pea and Leek Stuffing. Absolutely delicious. We were able to take our own bottle of wine too. The 5' bed was very comfortable and the room itself has been tastefully and thoughtfully furnished with an experienced, co-ordinated touch. Very restful and comfortable. There is a TV and a small sofa for cosy evenings in and they even have an alarm clock with speakers for an iPod connection. (In case you are not wanting totally tranquility be aware that in our room the WiFi connection was intermittent at best and the Mobile Signal from our room was non-existent - not that we minded particularly as we were there to escape all that!) The bathroom is modern and stylish with an overhead shower and the attention to detail is wonderful yet again with bubblebath and fluffy white towels provided. The Breakfasts are fabulous .... a choice of fruit juices, cereals and fresh fruit followed by a Full English - which Ken cooks really well. You can even watch the birds and squirrels on the bird table and feeders while breakfasting! The garden is pretty and exceptionally well cared for (I think Sue is out there gardening nearly every day) and they also have a further 10 acres of more natural grounds which was great for walking Megan (our dog) before breakfast! They have their own chickens and ducks so the breakfast eggs were really fresh! The attention to detail everywhere is exceptional ... all the tableware is matching and pristine - and the tables are always thoughtfully laid out for each meal. The furniture and furnishings are immaculate and quite frankly the house could easily be an advert for one of the upmarket Homes and Gardens magazines. On the day we had a little sunshine there was even a parasol and seat cushions provided outside on our little patio area! All in all - a great stay and I'm sure we will be going back. One small word of caution though - if you are a nervous driver it isn't an easy place to get to as the country lanes are quite narrow and twisty! But if you are looking for a bit of heaven in a place of peace and tranquility - then this is the place for you. We HIGHLY recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a small well behaved dog then you'll be in the room above the garage which is deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaffodilDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your comprehensive review of out Bed and Breakfast details all the little extras we take pleasure in providing and we are grateful to you for taking the time and effort to share your findings.
Like you, other guests have also remarked that Fingle suite is ideal if accompanied by a pet as it is adjacent to the main cottage but has its own gated entrance and is quite private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the B&B for you when visiting Dartmoor. Me and my wife of one day went here for our minimoon and were thoroughly charmed by Ken and Sue and their idyllic home. Nestled in the Devon countryside, the attention to detail was remarkable and the room spacious, the bed comfortable and the free-standing bath luxurious. We also enjoyed their home-cooking for supper - there were very flexible in meeting our requirements and we were allowed to bring our own wine to enjoy with the meal. Staggered to learn that Ken and Sue had been doing this for just over a year - they run a well-oiled machine which appears to have performing at the highest level for years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDelMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We were delighted to be part of your mini moon itinerary and appreciate you taking time to review your stay at Frogmill. We wish you every happiness in your new married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Got to the location and found Ken pressure washing the drive, as he said 'there is always something to do". Very warm and friendly welcome from Ken and was soon joined by Susan, really nice couple. Myself and my wife were shown to a lovely room in the main house, with a fantastic bathroom, not a straight wall in the place. We were offered tea and asked if we wanted it on the patio, the weather being good we accepted. What better, tea and home made lemon cake. The house is set in a quiet valley off the beaten track with its own large piece of land. After tea and cake we settled into our room and read the welcome pack, lots to do and a good list of local eating places. Our first night we ate at the house and was served with lovely home made food freshly prepared, fantastic. Breakfast was just as good with local produce and plenty of it. All-in-all the most relaxing time I have had in a long time. Very friendly cat.

Room Tip: Just book, there all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Your feedback is important and inspires us to continue to strive to provide the best possible experience for those choosing to stay at Frogmill.
We thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write this review and hope we can welcome you both again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Weary, cold and miserable after a long winter. What to do? Have a luxury break! But can't afford 5 star hotel and it's too formal! Answer: Frogmill. 5* graded by AA. Unique, sweet, pretty, sublimely comfortable beds, every amenity in bedroom, wifi, mega bath, super shower, warm, cosy guest lounge, 10 acres of garden, chickens and new Indian Runner ducks to see! Splendid full on (or not, you choose) breakfast with all you could ever want. And lovely hosts too. Under £100 for a room - it's a sublime steal. Go while it is this price, it will surely go up!

Room Tip: All good, Medland has the big claw foot bath, Tillerton has amazing bed, Fingle has a kingsize doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you at Frogmill again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Frogmill is located in a beautiful and tranquil valley. It is accessed from the A30 via relatively narrow country lanes, but the directions provided made finding it no real challenge. The house is stunning and the accommodation of an exceptionally high standard. The owners, Sue and Ken are delightful and could not do enough to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. They were particularly generous with the time that they spent talking to us about this wonderful part of England and their experiences of setting up / running the business. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this outstanding B & B to travellers seeking high quality and reasonably priced accommodation in a peaceful rural setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Frogmill. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

With cake and tea on arrival, a warm fire in a beautiful lounge, what could be better? The Medland bedroom was very chic, the bathroom stunning and we took full advantage of the claw bath and good quality bath products supplied. The bed was huge and comfortable with lovely cool cotton linen. Breakfast was delicious and had the bonus of a view over the garden and a bird feeder, which was a flurry of activity. We would recommend Frog Mill to anyone who wants a touch of luxury in a tranquil setting, we had 3 nights and would love to come back one day to do all those walks we didn't get round to first time. Thank you for a wonderful, memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Frogmill and would be delighted if you paid us a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this first class bed and breakfast for 3 nights and enjoyed everything about it,the food and accomodation was a delight a fantastic place to explore dartmoor. The owners were very friendly and made you fill very comfortable they also have a great knowledge of the area which was very handy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardjgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
5.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
218 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
9.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogmill B&B

Property: Frogmill B&B
Address: Frogmill Frogmill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Frogmill B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning 5 Star B&B in the heart of the tranquil Devon countryside Frogmill Bed and Breakfast is a 16th Century picturesque, thatched former mill house on the fringes of Dartmoor, an idyllic location, nestling in tranquil gardens with lakes and woodland. Ideal for exploring Dartmoor, Exeter and the coast It's utterly peaceful here, just minutes from Dartmoor National Park, but easily accessible from Exeter (10 miles), the M5 and A30. Frogmill is ideally situated to explore all corners of England's stunning West Country peninsula. Escape to the country Ken and Sue Macpherson warmly welcome you into their picture-perfect cream cottage where you can choose from three charming bedrooms all with glorious views across the gardens and countryside. The cottage itself has two very comfortable double en-suite bedrooms, and a separate spacious suite can be configured as a double, twin or triple. Award winning and famous! Frogmill has AA 5 Star awards for its accommodation and breakfasts! The gorgeous gardens were featured on BBC1's One Show, with Mike Dilger investigating the curious case of the nocturnal trespasser... Mike's hidden cameras revealed a busy badger and a graceful roe deer! Book now! Click our Online Booking link to check current availability and reserve your room. Please note we have a 2-night minimum booking policy and regret that we no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Frogmill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing