We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frogmill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frogmill B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“The quintessential B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a little difficulty initially finding Frogmill B&B on arrival to Tedburn St. Mary, but it turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we ended up with a good feel for the layout of the surrounding area.

When we finally pulled up in the driveway, Sue and Ken came out to greet us with happy smiling faces and we instantly felt like we were meeting up with old friends. They invited us in out of the cold and Sue presented us with a lovely hot cuppa and homemade chocolate cake, served in the guest lounge by the fireplace. I curled up on the couch, warm and content and could have stayed there all night!

Our upstairs bedroom was simply beautiful! The bed was large and cosy with the most comfy of pillows and covers that I have ever endured; snuggle factor of 10/10. The décor was country chic with the attention to detail being quite outstanding. I'm talking everything from delicate table linens to fresh roses on the dresser to chocolates with the tea tray, to fresh fruit and bottled water, to bird watching books with binoculars.

The en-suite was a feast for the eyes in its tasteful and inviting design. I took advantage of the gorgeous claw foot bath and complimentary bath oils and soaked away the chills of winter. Our en-suite also had a toilet, bidet and separate shower. Again all the little extras added to the appeal; shampoo, soap, bubble bath and the thoughtful supply of bathrobes too.

Sue and Ken gave us a few ideas for dinner and we made our choice and set off to ‘The Old Thatched Inn’. It was only a short drive away and proved to be a great pub with a good selection of beer and a great menu.

The next morning breakfast was served downstairs and Sue and Ken spoilt us with a wide selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and a fully cooked breakfast menu too.

After breakfast we went for a stroll around the rear of the cottage and admired the peaceful garden and woodland. There were many different species of birds flying in and out and around the feeders and we called in and checked out the chickens too!

Sadly we had only booked one night at Frogmill and we had to leave (insert sad face here!) Ken provided us with instructions on a suggested drive through Dartmoor National Park and it proved to be a great tour that we thoroughly enjoyed.

Overall, this is the quintessential B&B and you are doing yourselves an injustice if you only book for one night. You must stay longer and totally enjoy the slice of Heaven that Frogmill B&B is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DormouseTidings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience here in our little piece of heaven in Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights with our two teenage children and had a lovely time with Ken and Sue who are attentive, friendly and helpful and they remember all their guests' names! The B&B is a gem, spotless and decorated with a lot of taste. Breakfast is varied and delicious. We were very well looked after and will be back!

Room Tip: The Medland room and en-suite bathroom is quite simply wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome your lovely family,come and stay again.thank you, Ken and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights at Frogmill B and B. Lovely hosts who were very helpful and friendly. Beautiful room with fabulous views over the garden. Everything was first classs, room, breakfast, lounge, and lovely cup cakes to welcome us on the first afternoon.Coming back when the bluebells are out if you have vacancies.

Room Tip: We had the Medland room, but all are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Frogmill.your kind comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just had a lovely relaxing stay at Frogmill and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was beautiful and contained everything we needed with lots of thoughtful little touches. Breakfast was delicious and Sue and Ken were lovely hosts. The setting was pretty and very quiet and peaceful. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImogenNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Ken_Frogmill, Owner at Frogmill B&B, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Frogmill over Valentines Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a lovely stay in a very welcoming house and nicely designed. We only stayed one night but they made us feel at home and helped us out with advice and directions for the local area...when we forgot some keys at the hotel they kindly returned them to us by post. Wehighly recommend the place for a romantic or a family week end....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mila187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Super B&B, ken and Sue made us extremely welcome, room was lovely. Lovely bed with super bedding,actually went home and bought the same pillows!! Huge bathroom, loads of fluffy towels. Lovely views over the garden, woke up first morning to see 2 deer in the garden. Breakfast was superb. Will we go back, definitely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent three days with friends in absolute luxury at Frogmill in September. I was in the Tillerton room which has stunning views over the gardens and has all the home comforts - beautiful bedding, fluffy towels and bathrobe and even a hot water bottle! It's been said already but the magnetic force makes getting out of the comfy bed nigh on impossible .... you have been warned!!! Oh, and did I mention the scrummy breakfasts and the home-made cake? It's a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
3.2 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
10.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
8.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogmill B&B

Property: Frogmill B&B
Address: Frogmill Frogmill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Frogmill B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning 5 Star B&B in the heart of the tranquil Devon countryside Frogmill Bed and Breakfast is a 16th Century picturesque, thatched former mill house on the fringes of Dartmoor, an idyllic location, nestling in tranquil gardens with lakes and woodland. Ideal for exploring Dartmoor, Exeter and the coast It's utterly peaceful here, just minutes from Dartmoor National Park, but easily accessible from Exeter (10 miles), the M5 and A30. Frogmill is ideally situated to explore all corners of England's stunning West Country peninsula. Escape to the country Ken and Sue Macpherson warmly welcome you into their picture-perfect cream cottage where you can choose from three charming bedrooms all with glorious views across the gardens and countryside. The cottage itself has two very comfortable double en-suite bedrooms, and a separate spacious suite can be configured as a double, twin or triple. Award winning and famous! Frogmill has AA 5 Star awards for its accommodation and breakfasts! The gorgeous gardens were featured on BBC1's One Show, with Mike Dilger investigating the curious case of the nocturnal trespasser... Mike's hidden cameras revealed a busy badger and a graceful roe deer! Book now! Click our Online Booking link to check current availability and reserve your room. Please note we have a 2-night minimum booking policy and regret that we no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Frogmill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing